We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and dirty apartman”
Review of Pella Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pella Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Noisy and dirty apartman”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I support the oppinion of "greecelovers".
There is air corridor above the appartment: every 10 minutes an airplane!! Terrible noisy!!!
The unfinished buildings are full of bats, so at night is not advisable to go out on the balcony or open the windows. Among the appartman builings many rats running around. The apartment for 4 person has a small wardrobe where two people can only scanty clothes fit. Cutlery, plates are only for 3 people. Not enough place of the room or the balcony to sit down for 4 people together at the same time. So little space!!!!!
The shower drain blockaged. They were unwilling to solve, so we could not take a bath. Hot water is not guaranteed ! The trash cans are emptied only ones per a week. Constant stench was in the apartment!!! A lot of catchy ran on floor. The two bed linen was replaced after 3 days, the others did not. Replace the towels completely rhapsodic .
Elena, the manager were very unfriendly with my kids. They would not let them use the pool because she were afraid of the guests retired to the poolside apartments ( why did not they gave it to us?) Elena shouted with us on the yard, because of kids (3 and 6 years old). IT IS UNACCEPTABLE!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Good room is not in GOUVES, because of airplanes noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elemis S, Manager at Pella Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I write to refute in their entirety the points made by this reviewer.Following complaints about noist, unruly behaviour from the children, and general lack of parental control, other guests had to be re-located. I had no direct contact with the children, but had to speak firmly to the parents about the children's dangerous behaviour in and around the swimming-pool.This was a hazard for them and other guests. We have always welcomed families with children, as reviews over the years will confirm. Although checkout time is 12 noon, I gave this family 4 extra hours in the appartment without them having to ask, and without levying the normal supplement.
The appartment where this family stayed is situated in the garden area, with lawn and playground. We certainly have no rodents in our buildings, which are regularly inspected by Health and Safety professionals in line with normal European guidelines.
These clients made no complaints during their stay.
We take pride in the our standards of cleanliness and hospitality, and can only express our amazement at this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    72
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
126
211
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Pella Apartments, what a fantastic place. We were on a late flight meaning we did not get to Gouves till after midnight, there to greet us was Eleni and Stavros. With smiling faces and a greeting as if we were long last relatives we new then this was the place to be. After putting our cases in the room we were invited to have a drink, nothing was too much trouble even when I cheekily asked if they had another room with a sea view and sure enough Eleni went about her business and found one. The location cannot be bettered from sitting in the Taverna itself to the front of the building you have a fantastic view of the sea. Sit in the comfy chairs watch the world go by and just look out at see whilst enjoying a snack, meal (see our restaurant review) or just a drink, always followed by the complimentary shot before bed. The rooms are basic, DON'T BE PUT OFF. you have everything you need, balcony, kitchen, bathroom, table and chairs beds. If you want anything changing, towels, bedding, just ask, don't moan. The swimming pool is quiet and clean in a secluded part of the complex, an ideal sun trap. From the Pella walk either way and you are central to shops tavernas and plenty of car, scooter, quad hire, and its not expensive. This is definitely not an 18 - 30 resort with discos, although we found one, its a place to relax soak up the sun on the handy beaches and enjoy Creton life, it is good. For a family run business including the very handy supermarket attached you must congratulate them for such friendliness. Thank you Eleni, Stavros and Mickey, you'll have to visit to find out who Mickey is and its definitely worth going. WE'LL BE BACK.

Room Tip: All room appear similar with easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEITH W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Pella. This was our 5th visit and every heat it never fails to impress. It is in a great location and handy for everything you need with a fantastic beach within a short walking distance. The family are all very friendly and can't do enough for you. I would strongly recommend staying here to anyone thinking of going to Crete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

First time at Pella Apartments which were fairly basic but not bad by Greece's standards.
Room service was very poor, no clean sheets in a whole week although towels were changed every 2 or 3 days. Apartment was dirty, floors and under beds could do with a really good clean. Shower tray overflowed and we cleared a disgusting amount of hair out of plughole to unblock. If you're thinking of going next year beware - there's another big block being built only a few metres from the rear which will considerably overlook. Pool very clean but half the day in the shade - get up early for a sunbed if you don't want to sit in the shade. Pool bar closed. Restaurant however was very good, staff friendly. Other bars close by some of which seem to charge what they like for drinks but not too far to walk to main street where lots of tavernas and better prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetravel614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elemis S, Manager at Pella Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We were surprised and disappointed to read this review, particularly since not one of the points made in it were brought to our attention by any of our clients during their stay.
Whilst our lettings contract states clearly that bed-linen is usually changed once a week, we are always happy to change it more often than this at a client's request.
We are on the premises 24/7 and on hand at all times, making every effort to provide our guests with a pleasant, comfortable holiday experience.
As a long-established family business, we take great pride in this, and would certainly have addressed these issues promptly had they been raised with us.
The "new block" referred to in the review is, purely and simply, our new family home, and will not impinge on facilities or view in any way whatsoever.
We do wish that the reviewer had raised these queries with us at the time, thus enabling us to deal with them swiftly and effectively and maintain our usual high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed at the pella for 7 nights, with my family. It was a great find on a cheap holiday website. The staff are so helpful, and could not fault the apartments. I admit the rooms are basic, but clean and do the job.

The location is great, the restaurant over looks the bay, and the resort is not too busy which made for restful nights. The town centre is only a short walk away and easy to access for older perople (my grandfather found the walk manageable.

The pool at the hotel, is a little small, but was a welcome relief from the heat of the sun. It is very clean and well maintained.

There are many Car rental shops in the area, and I would recommend hiring a car (if only for a few days) to allow you to get out to view the rest of the island. All are very reasonable rates, and the cars are in a healthy state of repair.

Overall, I would recommend the Pella, on value, customer service (which is excellent), location and making a holiday memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripaway82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

stayed at the pella for 14 nights. booked late in the year due to work and felt ok take a chance on somewhere we have never been.we always book self catering as we feel this gives us the most freedom. all i can say is already planning return trip next year and taking some of the rest of family with us this time.
we had emailed and asked for a sea view, due to the large number of bookings this was not possible, however the apartment we were given more than made up for it. clean rooms and very good standard for self catering. we hired the aircon and the safe both of which were not expensive, aircon was e84.00 for two weeks, safe was e10.00 per week.
we stayed 27th august till 10th september and would recommend having aircon at that time of year as it was very hot.
we were made to feel very welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. the whole family are great and work really hard to make everyone feel happy and relaxed.
there was always room around the pool which although small compared to some places we have stayed was perfect for our needs. some people did put towels out on sunbeds and then not use them, but they just looked stupid to the rest of us as there was no need to do it.
the supermarket is very well stocked with everything you may need, infact you do not need to load your suitcases up with shampoo and and things, just buy it when you arrive.
the restaraunt is very very good, varied menu with large portions at very good prices. we did eat out some nights as there are other good places in the main shopping area, but the food and service at the pella made it the best choice of all.Stavros really has a wicked range of raki which he experiments on you with. try the caramel flavour.
Elini, Dimitri, George in the taverna and maria in the shop are great, always friendly and helpfull. the daughters both help out in the taverna and really enjoy it which helps to create an atmosphere that is very laid back and relaxed.
If you have never been before get booking now, it is little wonder the place is always full. great place to stay and a great base to explore crete from.long may it carry on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from a 17 day holiday,although we did not stay at the Pella we would next time,we popped in some nights for dinner or other evenings for drinks, can not fault the location of the apartments or the food & service from all the family, spot on, with a warm welcome great sea view was just bliss, thank you to all the family for making it a very special place, will go back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
460 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
2.8 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magda Hotel
Magda Hotel
#4 of 36 in Kato Gouves
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pella Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pella Apartments

Property: Pella Apartments
Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pella Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pella Apartments Hotel Gouves
Pella Apartments Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing