We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pella Apartments - A great place to stay”
Review of Pella Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pella Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pella Apartments - A great place to stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

These family run apartments are ideally located on the sea front in Gouves, 200 metres from the main sandy beach. The rooms are basic but clean and are tended well. The family are fantastic and will do anything for you. There is a restauraunt on site which serves excellent meals served up by Stavros and his sister Elani, and their children if they are busy. Most of the fruit and veg used for the meals is grown by George in his garden an the back of the apartments - very good, very fresh. The pool area is good but the pool bar was not open when we were there in July. There is also a mini-rmarket which is fairly pricey but compares to the others in Gouves, you have to pay the going rate! We will certainly return to the Pella in 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older block are at the front and some have sea views. The rooms in the rear blocks are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaftoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    68
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
118
199
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Pella is largely a family run business and the staff were the friendliest and most attentive of any holiday that I have been on. The apartment was clean and the beds/furniture functional/comfortable. The location was good - while the sea directly outside is not accessible a lovely sandy beach with a nice shallow slope into the sea is less than 5 minutes away in one direction and the larger main street only about 10 minutes in the other - near enough to be accessible but no noise in the evenings. The food at the Pella restaurant was fantastic - very fresh and probably the best restaurant we ate in - and also good value - around €4-€6 for starters and around €6-€10 for most main courses (a little more if ordering steaks, large fish dishes etc). The small on-site supermarket catered for all the needs we had - bottled water, milk, cereal, juice, bread, wine etc - and seemed to always be open when required.

Although booked under self catering the facilities in the apartment were very basic. The fridge and crockery/cutlery etc were fine for water, juice, milk, sandwiches etc but for actual cooking there was just a plug in electric hob and a handful of cooking implements. No oven/grill/other hobs or much of the kitchenware you would need to actually cook or serve a hot meal. As the food in the restaurant was such good value this didn't bother us much but would have if we had intended on eating in a lot for lunch/dinner. In the bathroom, the shower is just in the corner of the room with no screen or curtain so the whole room gets wet when you wash - having stayed on Greek islands before I think this is pretty typical of basic accommodation and again it didn't cause any problems but you shouldn't visit expecting UK standard facilities!

Crete is a lovely island and the resort of Gouves was very friendly, clean and with good value and quality tavernas. The sandy beach along one part of the front is excellent and at the time we went (beginning Sept) had plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas (€6 for the day). It was also easy to transfer to from the airport.

At the time we went to Gouves (beginning September) there was no nightlife to speak of other than the tavernas to eat in and a few bars in the main street that were largely empty. This didn't bother us but I wouldn't recommend Gouves for those wanting late bars/nightclubs etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Pella apartments is run by a very friendly and warm Greek family who met my girlfriend and I on the evening we arrived. We got there around midnight and were shown to our apartment. The apartments although very basic offer a comfortable base to have your holiday from (after all your don't go on holiday to stay indoors). The only negative things I would say about the rooms are that despite us wanting a double bed we were given two singles so had to push them together. This didn't give the ideal bed as had a drop between the mattresses. It should also be noted that you need to pay for the air con (5 Euros a night) and pay a deposit for the room safe (10 Euros), just remember to collect it when you leave as I forgot. The shower / wet room isn't ideal either as the shower head doesn't have a holder so you need to hold it yourself! On the plus side there is a fridge / freezer, table and chairs and a nice balcony with table and chairs. The bins got emptied most days and floor mopped (although I brushed it myself every day). We did however have to ask for clean bedding and towels after a week as these had not been changed. The actual location is lovely, its a stones throw away from the sea and the Pella Restaurant looks out onto the sea and a romantic sunset can be seen to. The restaurant itself was always busy and carried a good atmosphere, we ate there once and weren't overly thrilled with the meal. The Greek family also run a small but well stocked shop which is next to the restaurant which came in very handy. The family are always around and provide a nice and friendly service. The onsite swimming pool is a very chilled out place to be, always clean and tidy. The sea breeze can be felt which in the heat is very welcome. It never got overly busy but we always nipped down early to claim the best spots.

Gouves main shopping street is based about 10 minutes walk away and is where we went if we weren't by the pool. It never seems to busy and gives a pleasant atmosphere. You don't get pestered like you might in busier towns. There are lots of shops that you'd expect and some very nice restaurants and bars. We met a very lovely owner of a cocktail bar called 'Desmaria'. The Greek lady couldn't do enough for us, gave us advice on where to get buses from, which beaches to walk along etc. There is also a fabulous restaurant called 'Atlantis' which I have to say made a good holiday even better. The food was spot on, the service was friendly and they made you feel like the number one customer. Hence why we ate there four times!

All in all the holiday was good and Pella offered a comfortable and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

only been home 2 days and already want to go back, staff at pella apps where very welcoming and freindly missing them all already, eleni and stavros where exceptional could not ask for more pleasent people in fact all staff and where lovely big hello to maria elenis daughter she was very polite.def going back next near maybe before really enjoyed it, rooms where basic but very clean and cleaned every other day, food was really nice,beach just 2 min walk if tht and was lovely.hope to see you soon pella and all the staff and thanyou for such a wonderful stay xxxx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12bamboo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I having never been on a package holiday didn't know what to expect, but after a week at the Pella Apartments in Gouves, we are now travelling converts!
Arriving at 4am, a detailed, hand-drawn map showed us to our spacious, clean apartment consisting of; a twin-bedded room, a light dining area, a basic, yet functional kitchen area and a wet-room bathroom. All was very clean and thankfully not a tv in sight! The towels and sheets were changed every 2 or so days and to be honest, we only used the room for sleep at night, having a light breakfast and an afternoon siesta.

The restaurant/taverna on site was a fabulous place to eat and drink where Eleni and Stavros made sure you were extremely welcomed and well looked after, We ate there most evenings and even some lunchtimes and found the food to be very authentic and of a very high standard, despite beiong a very fussy eater, I loved everything!! (Especially the souvlaki!!)

The on-site supermarket run by Pella and her mother Maria, sold everything you would need for a self-catering holiday but the highlight had to be the sumptious peaches and water-melons! They didnt sell newspapers but at 2euros elsewhere in the resort, that was never a problem.

Gouves itself is very pleasent place with two beaches within a minute walk from the Pella Apartments, enough tavernas, bars and shops to keep most people satisfied and after a uphill walk, you can catch a bus to Heraklion and most other destinations throughout the island.

Overall, we would thoroughly recommend the Pella Apartments where you will find an extremely warm welcome, a service second to none in all aspects of the Pella and a relaxing, carefree holiday where the people , the food and most importantly the weather truly make up a wonderful experience....

As a personal footnote, much thanks goes to Stavros and Dimitri for their help with a transfer problem we had on our last night , despite it being 2am in the morning, they made sure we were able to catch our plane home and waylay the fears of two new travellers!!

We are looking into going back next year, to celebrate our 20 year anniversary with two weeks at the Pella, where the welcome from all the family on site made us feel like it was a home from home!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinKathyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have been to Pella twice now and on each occasion had a fantastic time.

The family who run it are very friendly and the food in the restaurant is superb as well as being really good value for money. A must try is one of Eleni's homemade pizzas as well as the traditional Greek cuisine. Children can also have half portions of most of the adult meals which is great for children who want something different from the children's menu but would not eat a full adult meal.

The rooms in the new block are more modern but those on the upper floor at the front of the complex have some brilliant sea views.

The on site supermarket is well stocked with everything you could need for a self catering holiday with fresh bread daily.

Bed linen and towels were changed regularly and the maid cleaned the apartment every other day.

Bathrooms are wet rooms which is typically Greek and have a good supply of on demand hot water.

Apartments are just over the road from the beach and a 5 minute walk from the centre of the resort which strikes a happy medium of not being either too busy nor too quiet. The resort is safe and very family friendly.

All in all two very relaxing holidays and thank you Eleni, Stavros, Dimitri, George, & Pella for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Apartments at the front of the building have stunning sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveS010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Just got back from our 2nd visit to Pella, Eleni, Stavros, George and the rest of the family are so welcoming and can't do enough for you, accommodation is nice and the setting is fantastic, the food in the taverna is lovely, we can't fault Pella at all, we'll certainly be going back again for a 3rd time xxx Julie, Dave, Lily, Kiera, John and Rita

Room Tip: some lovely sea views from some apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwilliams0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.9 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#4 of 37 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.2 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa
Insula Alba Resort & Spa
#17 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pella Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pella Apartments

Property: Pella Apartments
Address: Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pella Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pella Apartments Hotel Gouves
Pella Apartments Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing