We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Artemis Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artemis Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Hospitable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Artemis, although basic rooms, they are spotlessly clean. Family run with a very friendly and relaxed environment. We met people who go back time and time again; surely that says it all. Good location, great people. We all loved it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank MandyD150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portstewart, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was at Artemis the same time as this couple,firstly the comment about bar flies,those are people with social skills who enjoy their holiday,on people with a drink problem,unlike the author of that review,maybe he found it hard to mix with people due too his appearance ,,next he complained about air con and temperture in room,if he had spent the money on getting air con his room would have been cool,but he did tell he thought 35 euro too expensive,that says what type of guy he was..as for the room being painted white,that would be the same as 90 per cent of Greece,so please people disregard this false review,I have been here many times,and most of the custom is 50 per cent repeat biz,we cannot all be wrong,,the family who run these apartments are fantastic and very friendly,I will be back again next year

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Where do you start, rustic, traditional, no just a tired worn out place that is trying to stick with the old lets put some white emulsion on every winter and they will all fall for that, well reading the reviews you did. This type of archaic accommodation had it's day 20 years ago let alone now. Right justification for comments: Lets take quiet for instance, if you are in rooms 13 to 16 etc you can expect on the back dogs barking all night and I mean all night from the farm scrub you look at off the excuse for a balcony, if you sleep in the kitchen area bed you can expect to listen to the bar flies till 2-3 am, as long as they keep the till ringing he'll keep serving which of course your on holiday why not but think this is where your child/children will be trying to sleep should you have any, not so good in rooms that reach 95 degrees in June and only one worn out air con in the back bedroom area. One issue that was just ludicrous is to solder the key ring to the master power cut key thus making it impossible to charge any but one item as of course the fridge runs on a separate relay, so once you power down to go out that's it power gone and no second key was in any way forthcoming. I will leave it at that as I could bang on all night about the negatives of this place but if you want a island holiday straight out of 1980 then this is the place to stay, me I did that 30 years ago, if you want to see how things should be done check out the Ziakis on Rhodes as a benchmark to how things should be done now or look in envy at the places you will pass on the way out of this place. This is Gouves Crete, a resort 20 minutes out of Heraklion town, the largest of the islands, Artemis your a Greek sham.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms 13-16 if you want any kind of rest up for the next day or be asleep around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANDYSHERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Last year, we spent a week at the Artemis Apartments, and it was a holiday that will stay with us forever.
We were dropped off outside another hotel when we first arrived in the evening, and were told to walk down a little path to find ours. Along with another couple we made our way there (Only a 2 minute walk) and were greeted by an open bar full of happy people, and of course Sotiris who, with a warm welcome, showed us to our room!
The room was clean and very spacious. It had everything we needed.
We went straight up to the bar after dropping our suitcases off, and had a drink and a chat to everyone. Already by this first night we had made plenty of friends, and it became obvious that many of them were re-visiting.
The bar is right next to the pool, and it has a big TV, a pool table and even excellent home made food is served throughout the day! On Sundays a big BBQ is arranged, with lots of food, drinks, games and dancing! It is a great way to socialise with all the people you have met during your stay, and as it was my partners birthday, he was given a surprise as well!
Gouves itself is a great little town, and it has so many restaurants and little bars, a lovely beach and the sea breeze seems to reach all the way up to the hotel. There are even little boat trips from the docks, which is something we might want to try this year! - Apart from that there are little tourist shops offering trips to some of the famous sights of Crete like Knossos, Spinalonga etc.
Spending a week there was not enough, and we have missed this place so much that we are going back in two weeks time! - We are expecting to see some of the friends we made there last year, and are looking forward to it a lot!

Craig and Maria.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We've just returned from a great holiday at the Artemis Apartments. The apartments are very well located for the beach and just a little further from bars & restaurants. We were in an apartment at the back of the apartments on the first floor with our own balcony and it was ideal for us. The kitchen area consisted of the usual 2 rings, kettle and fridge which is fine, I don't go on holiday to cook my own meals! The pool area was never too busy and the pool itself was lovely and clean.
The owners of the apartments were very friendly and helpful, also many of our fellow guests were returning having stayed before, which I take to be a pretty good recommendation.
I would definitely recommend the Sunday night BBQ, great food, dancing, karaoke (oh no!) a really good chance to get to know people.
My only complaint was that our time at the Artemis Apartments went too fast

Room Tip: Request a private balcony if you can, some are shared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkYorkieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Have just spent two wonderful weeks at Artemis apts staff were friendly and helpful, met people there who return year after year, would certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a carefree holiday, and thanks to Poppy for all our nice breakfasts, hope to return

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murielrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

My friend and I spent a week at the apartments 30th May and can honestly say it was one of the cleanest, friendliest places we have stayed. We had apartment 24 on the first floor, block 2. Perfect. Very spacious as we didn't use third bed in lounge, and we had the luxury of two balconies. Could look across fields to the sea! Sotiris, his staff (especially Bobbi) and family make everyone feel very welcome. Plenty of sunloungers and spotlessly clean pool and surroundings. Food from bar great (loved the greek salad) and the Sunday BBQ night must not be missed, excellent home cooked food, wine included and followed by greek dancing round the pool. Great night. The apartments are located close to restaurants, bars, excursion shops and the main shops and more bars and restaurants a pleasant 20min stroll along beach front.

Can recommend day trip to Lassithi Plateau followed by Knossos and the jeep safari to the other side of the island. Both of which we booked locally. The Cretan bus service is brilliant, timetables at every stop, and the nearest stop is literally 5 minutes up the road. We made a day trip to Spinalonga via Agios Nikolaos. Bobbi recommended calling at the Spinalonga Taverna in Plaka, which we did and found the food and welcome there brilliant , although unfortunately due to the rough sea Aris couldn't take us to the island in his little boat!

We are both retiring in the next couple of years and will definitely return when we are ladies of leisure!!

One down side - our tour operator dropped us (two women) in an unlit car park at 01:30 am in the morning. Make sure you are dropped outside Klios Apartments and walk through to Artemis, easier and safer!

Room Tip: We had a one bedroomed apartment on the first floor. Room 24. Light airy and spacious. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellyk-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
1.0 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#4 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astir Beach
Hotel Astir Beach
#15 of 39 in Kato Gouves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Klio Apart Hotel
Klio Apart Hotel
#19 of 39 in Kato Gouves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.3 mi away
Artemis Hotel & Apartments
Artemis Hotel & Apartments
#89 of 174 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Apartments

Property: Artemis Apartments
Address: Athanasiou Diakou 1 | Hersonissos, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artemis Apartments is a family-run complex located just 50 meters from the beach and the picturesque Port of Chersonissos. A big convention center is at 200 meters. All apartments at Artemis have free WI-Fi, a living room with TV, 2 balconies and a fully equipped kitchen. Artemis Apartments are only 100 meters from the main pedestrian road and a supermarket. A small port with yacht facilities is available, whereas in summer excursion boats can get you to the islet of Dia every day. Chersonissos is a cosmopolitan resort of the Heraklion prefecture. It is ideally located to further explore Crete. Nearby sightseeing includes the famous Minoan palace of Malia at 5km away. N. Kazantzakis International Airport is 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Artemis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Apartments Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing