We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artemis Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just back after 2 weeks stay at the Artemis Apts. As usual when booking 2* we were unsure what to expect on arrival. However any fears we may have had were instantly allayed when we recieved a warm welcome from Sotiris. As previous reviews have indicated the apts are family run and what a family......friendly, great with kids ( i have 3 girls aged 6 to 12) but also great ''craic'' with the adults.
The apts were clean and tidy on arrival and the maid service (thanks to Helen) was excellent. The apts had a modern feel to them and we has 2 balconies in our apt.The pool area was lovely, with the pool being easily big enough for complex of this size with a kids section for toddlers etc.
The food at the pool bar was good value and great for breakfast or lunch (well done Poppy).
There is a BBQ night around the pool on a Sunday and with some greek dancing and a bit of karaoke thrown in it was a great night.
The apts are pretty quiet and there were quite a few repeat visitors. There was a good mix of families and couples staying during our 2 weeks from all over the U.K.
The beach is no more than 5 mins walk away and watersports etc can be found there.
Gouves is a quiet resort with some large all inclusive hotels along the beach front.This may have had a effect on the traditional tavernas in the resort which is a great pity because we found at least 3 exellent places for traditional Greek cuisine. These places were Divina,Filoxena and Zorbas,each were wonderful but Divina had to top the others! The man running the restaurant was very friendly and helpful! He even taught us some new Greek phrases.
Overall we had a first class holiday in first class apartments so thanks to Sotiris and his family and Poppy and Helen for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank KenKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been to Crete before but have not stayed in Gouves,having read the reviews before we went we can confirm this is a great place to stay,so much so my daughter and her boyfriend have booked ,within 2 days of our return,and they are going in July, we knoe they will have a great time and will be well looked after,thanks to Poppy and team for making us so welcome

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side get VERY hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JVWDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I can only concur with everyone else on here that the place is great. I was staying at the Klio next door but used the pool and bar everyday. The property is fairly quiet but more in a relaxed way that an empty way (if you know what I mean). Everyone is really friendly and I found a lot of the guests had stayed there before so can give pointers to guests new to Gouves. Pool is excellent for kids of all ages and my 22 month old loved it as she could play safely and reaach easily to put all her toys on the side. Food and drink are good quality and it is the only snack bar in the local area. Only 5 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: If you want peace ask for a room in the back block as the two other blocks are close to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nikfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We recently had an excellent holiday staying at Artemis Apartments. The complex is owned and run by a very friendly family who go out their way to make you welcome. The staff are also very friendly and the standard of the accommodation is very good in our opinion. The rooms are well maintained with daily maid service and are sufficiently kitted out for your stay. The poolside bar and the pool itself are well maintained and very clean. The complex is only a 5 minute walk from the beach and restaurant area etc.

Room Tip: The balconies to all apartments get the sun at some point of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TontoKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Been here 7 times and never been disappointed. Returned with my family this year and they loved it too. A bit out of the way from main strip of bars but thats never been an issue (it's a lovely sea front stroll to get there). Pool lovely and clean and never an issue with sunbeds. The whole family are so welcoming and you leave there feeling U have made true friends (there was an airport taxi strike when we arrived this year and the owner Stavros came to pick us up.....he refused to take any money from me because in his words 'we are friends'). The barbecue night is the highlight (Sunday) with marvellous food and a great laugh.....if U don't mind making a slight fool of Urself !!! Cheers to all the family and we'll def be back !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RickBatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

What a lovely hotel run by fabulous people – well worth a visit to this gem of a place

Room Tip: Just email and they are happy to meet your needs if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

There's two listings for Artemis, so I'll post twice if that's allowed:

We booked a package with Thomas Cook, but if you have access to direct flights to Heraklion it's probably better to book direct.

Because of the low price and 2* rating, we weren't expecting much, but this turned out to be one of the best we've stayed at in a long time. We stayed in a 4 bed apartment which was very spacious for just two people, and had a huge balcony overlooking the neighbouring field and tantalising glimpses of sea (5 minutes walk).

Everything is kept very clean and tidy (room cleaned every day), and the bar is always staffed by a friendly English-speaking person. Prices were very reasonable for drinks and snacks, and frozen beer glasses were a nice touch (even in early May it was pretty warm by the pool).

If you are thinking of travelling under your own steam, be aware that Google have located the complex in the wrong place. You'll find it here - http://g.co/maps/83veq

Room Tip: Some apartments overlook the pool, ours was a little further away and probably quieter as a result.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dion-Valmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
456 reviews
0 mi away
Klio Apart Hotel
Klio Apart Hotel
#16 of 36 in Kato Gouves
214 reviews
1 mi away
Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Ourania Apartments & Hotel
#2 of 31 in Kato Gouves
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Frida Village Apartments
Frida Village Apartments
#3 of 14 in Piskopiano
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
0.2 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#11 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Apartments

Address: Athanasiou Diakou 1 | Hersonissos, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range: $26 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artemis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artemis Apartments is a family-run complex located just 50 meters from the beach and the picturesque Port of Chersonissos. A big convention center is at 200 meters. All apartments at Artemis have free WI-Fi, a living room with TV, 2 balconies and a fully equipped kitchen. Artemis Apartments are only 100 meters from the main pedestrian road and a supermarket. A small port with yacht facilities is available, whereas in summer excursion boats can get you to the islet of Dia every day. Chersonissos is a cosmopolitan resort of the Heraklion prefecture. It is ideally located to further explore Crete. Nearby sightseeing includes the famous Minoan palace of Malia at 5km away. N. Kazantzakis International Airport is 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Artemis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Apartments Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing