We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great holiday october 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gouves Park Holiday Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Gouves
west midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great holiday october 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have just arrived back from Gouves Park hotel what a great holiday
All the staff in the hotel are so helpful,cheerful, and friendly they cannot do enough for you,WeT spent the last week of the season here and by the end of the week there was only about 50 people in the hotel but the entertainment team still tried to do activities in the day on on a night we all had great fun.The reataurant manager was around everyday to help with any requests orquestions and always had a smile on his face,The food was great with freshly made pancakes and omelettes every breakfast and kebebs pork chops stir frys etc cooked fresh at lunch and dinnertimes,The dessrerts were to die for,they opened the restaurant early on our last day so that all guests could heve a meal before their journey home.
The receptionists were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you they were very helpful
The entertainment team was down from 14staff to 3 staff the week we were there but did a fantastic job of keeping us entertained day and night,they work so hard.
The slides at the hotel were great fun and were manned by 2 life guards until 6pm,the weather was great for the time of year.
The hotel was very clean and looked like new.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucylockett_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    377
    169
    77
    54
See reviews for
641
184
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for one week from October 22nd 2013.The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is cold and not very nice, although the pizzas from the poolside bar are very tasty. The family room we stayed in was very basic dark and small. We had dinner about 19.00 hours, after that there was nothing to do, we had to sit and wait for the kids play area to be opened at 20.30 hours, the mini disco consisted of one young lady dancing to 6 songs in other languages, after that the entertainment started at 22.00 hours. The fire show was good, but the rest was so bad, that you had to laugh and we did especially to the Michael Jackson tribute.
The area outside the hotel is very run down, we saw everything from homeless people to poor people taking food from skips, very sad to see that. Walking to the town at night the area is very dark due to very poor street lights.
Also there are a large quantity of cats and dogs in the hotel and town area.
This is NOT a 4 STAR HOTEL, we made the most of our stay, enjoyed the pizzas made some new friends, did have a laugh, but would not go back again if it was free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MICKMEL97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed for one week with a cruise in the middle. This is not a 4 STAR hotel. Having said that the rooms are quite spacious and clean,the staff are friendly and helpful .
However it is set up for families with young children -would have loved it when mine were young- but is far too noisy (even at night) for the kind of people who go on cruises. entertainment too is targeted at the young. Pizzas are v.good

Room Tip: Rooms at bottom end are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisdom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay from 22nd to 29th oct with my 2 children 8yrs and 5yrs we had a fantastic time water slides were great and the 2 life guards were great with the kids day time entertainment Zumba darts acqua aerobics volleyball ect were all great food in restaurant was nice but poolside pizza was fantastic drinks all day night time entertainment not the best but ok but all the staff are great especially Anita and Kate mini club was great with my 5yr old play area and face painting Emi was great with the kids area around hotel vey poor but a short walk to beach shops and bus stop to go into other towns all very close all in all a great holiday for the price

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nlwhelan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shildon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

lovely people but defo not 4 star , food was cold , ai drinks were pathetic, if you like cats and dogs roaming about all over this is for you . staff were really nice and polite especially george , rooms kept clean everyday . nothing at all to do around the area , it was like someone had dropped a bomb on the place and left it as it stood , we stayed here on the 22nd to the 29th october 2013 and couldnt wait to get back home .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just returned home from a weeks stay all inclusive with my wife our 7 year old son and the in-laws.
Me and my wife are ex holiday reps so we have seen the best and the very worse of european hotels
Rooms - They are pretty dated but really clean and are cleaned every day by housekeeping beds are made new towels so we were really impressed with our room
Food - not a bad selection but is the same most nights , breakfasts were good and the pizza from the poolside bar was great
Drink- Free Drink is lager red white and rose wine , and soft drinks were free also i would keep away from the rola cola, you also get free raki which is good for the mosquito bites.also free is ouzo and brandy
Pools and water slides - Now these are fantastic and for what we paid i would have been quite happy with just the waterslides and no food and drink. My 7 yr old and wife spent all day in the pools and on the slides, they also have 2 lifeguards at the waterslides and it was very safe
Entertainment - In the day it is great with aqua aerobics, darts , zumba etc and the girls Anita and Kate seem to do most of this the two girls are also great with kids. entertainment at nights is poor and does not start till 10pm and resembles a he-de-hi show of the 70'S and is run by a guy (think his name is Dari) he loves the sound of his own voice and somehow thinks he is michael jackson, the other thing is they start the show so late by the time it finishes the all inclusive has finished so you have to buy the night cap
Gouves itself is about 10 minutes away by slow walk but be prepared it is a pretty poor area around the resort and i do not think just because it was the end of season that a lot was closed i think it is down to the poor economic climate in greece at the moment.
the only moan i would have is the stray dogs and cats on site that follow you everywhere and they are always mouching for food PLEASE PEOPLE STOP FEEDING THEM!!

So all in all for the money you pay it is very good this is not a £3000 all inclusive holiday its a great budget holiday for familys that want to chill drink lager and wine and sunbathe round the pool and have a good laugh on the waterslides. and i would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel

Room Tip: ask to be near the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andypack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here from 8th to 22nd October. I travelled with my husband and 13 yr old son. Also in our party was my sister, her husband and 2 sons aged 6 and 9.

The location of the hotel is ideal. Just a 5 min stroll to a beautiful sandy beach with crystal clear water. The main shopping street was a 10 minute walk away with plenty of your typical supermarkets and gift shops to browse through.

When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a family room. This was a lovely and unexpected surprise! Our room overlooked the quiet pool and was adequate for our needs. Plenty of storage space too and spotless.

We spent most days by the pool at the water park area. The kids (and adults) had great fun on all the flumes and the lifeguards do a fantastic job. They were always pleasant and were great at interacting with the kids.

The food at this hotel was lovely although did feel a little repetitive after 2 weeks. Didn't put us off eating it though! The bacon in the morning was delicious, the cheese bread very tasty and the sponge cake every night was amazing! The all day pizza bar was too good - tried to resist but failed miserable every day. Haha! A few points I would make about the restaurant in general though - there is very little for young children to eat, maybe a 'kids corner' would help with the usual kid stuff? Also there is only coffee and tea on offer in the restaurant at breakfast, some in our party would have preferred this option at dinner too. Finally, although it can get busy at mealtimes our party of 7 always had a table together. The restaurant Manager (Georgos) was always around to ensure everything was ok.

The entertainment team work very hard throughout the day and night. Anita and Kate are lovely and mingled with us in the bar in the evenings too. The shows in the amphitheatre weren't always to our taste but the kids seemed to enjoy them. Dirty Dancing with Anita and Dali was great though!

We didn't venture to the upstairs bar until we had been there almost a week and wish we had gone there sooner. Manthos is lovely and gave us many laughs! Special thanks to him for making sure we had plenty of brandy. He looks a little moody but the secret was taking your empty glass with you to the bar for your refills :-)

I have read many of the reviews since we booked this holiday back in April. I can't believe what some people find to complain about! Yes there are lots of foreign guests, including Russian, but that is hardly the fault of the hotel. Also complaints about the area around the hotel is 'barren'. That is Greece I'm afraid! I definitely did not put us off. We loved all the kittens, cats and dogs that were around too, and again that is just Greece.

We really did have a fabulous time at the hotel. Made some new friends, had many fun days and nights and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to our friends and family. We do hope to return at the same time next year!

Thanks to everyone who made our holiday a memorable one!

Amanda, John and David x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouves
2.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
80.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
20.2 mi away
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort
24.2 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gouves Park Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gouves Park Holiday Resort

Property: Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Address: Kato Gouves Pediados, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gouves
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#10 Family Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gouves Park Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gouves Park Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouves Park Holiday Hotel Gouves
Gouves Park Holiday Resort Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing