We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Holiday - One of the best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday - One of the best.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I shall break the review into catorgories -

Hotel/rooms - Very clean complex, cleaners arrived each day and kept everything spotless.

Food - Great choice and quality was excellent which I did not expect for an All Inclusive.
Breakfast - You can have cereals, toast, pancakes or a fry up.
Lunch - Salad buffet, soup, choice of meals and puddings.
Dinner - There are 2 seperate cooking stations in the evening along with the Buffet style which had around 3 main dishes a day, along with a good selection of Veg and potatoes/chips.
One of the stations would cook Kebabs, pork steaks e.t.c and the other was Pasta dishes.
On top of this you had Soup and a Salad Buffet along with fresh bed. Then if you still could manage it, there was the puddings and ice cream.
You also have the pizza from 12:00 - 18:00 if you wanted a snack, the kids loved that.

Drinks - Ok, this was not great - it is a choice of fizzy/squash for the kids and Beer, Wine or Brandy, everything else you have to pay for. The fizzy is not the best, although the kids were happy. However it is help yourself around one of the pools (except wine) and also in the restaurant. The bar open after 18:00 you have to queue for the Beer and wine which can get busy, but hey it is all free!

Entertainment - The guys who run this are excellent and very friendly, they do various things throughout the day which you will not be harrassed into doing, which I liked. The evening entertainment is not great but the kids all went off playing anyway, so didn't particularly bother me.

Pools - Great pools, 3 main pools and 2 Kids pools plus you have the slides, which are brilliant and the guys are very relaxed unlike waterparks.

Gouves itself - The beach is around 5 minutes walk and again very clean. 6 Euros to hire 2 sunbeds and an umbrellla for the day, so very reasonable. The shops and bars are about a 10 minute walk away, if you find the shortcut, otherwise 15 mins but why use the bars and restaurants when it is all free in the Park. There is a bus stop (Approx 10 mins walk with a shortcut) which you can take to Heraklion and will cost 9 euros for a family of 4 each way, from there you can get buses to most places. Also if you can cross the road you can jump on a bus the other way to the likes of Malia.
It is very cheap to rent a car and there is a brilliant guy just outside of Gouves park who is cheap for car rentla and booking trips, don't use the club rep.

I hope this has been useful

To sum up - we had an excellent time and already looking on returning next year to Crete and may very well be Gouves Park.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask to be away from the Artemis Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Waldestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    383
    174
    78
    54
See reviews for
675
196
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

this hotel lived upto our expectations and we all had a great time, our rooms were right at the bottom of the complex, next to astir beach, and although it was a little walk to the pools and restaurant it didn't bother us, our rooms were massive and very clean, we had to report our fridge did not work and by the time we had walked back to our room the maintenance man was there fixing it, the food was fab, we had a 10 year old and a 5 year old with us and neither had a problem with any of the food, both ate varied dishes and loved the desserts, mainly ice cream but loved the jelly too, we as adults were never stuck for something delicious and George the restaurant manager was always on hand for a chat, he has some great tie pins, especially the knife and fork!! the waiting staff work tirelessly to make sure the tables were clean and ready to be used and Marcello made a lovely flower out of a napkin for our granddaughter, which she has still got,the only down side i would comment on was that the entertainment was not up and running till we left on 29 May, the usual daytime activities were in place but not the evening, and although it didn't bother us, there were people who were a bit dissappointed,the pools as everyone else has said are great and i have the bruises to show for it, but a good time was had by all of us and would definitely go back with or without the grandchildren, overall a great value all inclusive hotel with very friendly staff, keep doing what you do :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Travelled to Crete on 24/05/13 for one week taking our 6yr old grandson. Initially we were met by George who had kept the restaurant open due to every thing being closed. After a couple days it became clear this was nowhere near close to a 4 star establishment, more like a two star.
We were given a list of bars and restaurants and the times of opening which was out of date within two days.
If you get accommodated at the animation pool be prepared for loud music especially between 10am to 5pm & disco times even with the door closed volume unpleasant. An older lady had to remove her hearing aid!!
All inclusive drinks at the bar unacceptable, served in plastic cups, if you chose beer a third was froth with a queue 20 plus deep & only one beer pump.
Food acceptable but not recommended with the exception the Pizza counter between 12-6pm. Bar was frequently closed early before 11pm.
Complex was spotless, no rep to meet us on arrival or departure, departure time changed without alerting us the of change which cost us 3O Euro for a taxi to the airport. On arrival at the airport the place was in absolute mayhem with no jet 2 staff to point us in the right direction.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We went for one week with Jet2 holidays. The highlights were the friendly staff especially the ladies who cleaned the rppms and left our sons toys and teddies in funny positions every morning. The food was amazing especially the pizzas 12 till but all food had something for everyone. There were loads of types of pools and the waterslides were great. We always managed to get a sunlounger. The hotel was only five minutes from the beach. The resort itself wasn't up to much but if your happy with the pools hotel and beach you will be fine. I'm glad we went all inclusive as prices outside the hotel were expensive. Soft drinks all day, wine at meals and in the bars were free all day and which included wines, beer, ouzo and raki. Night time had the usual entertsonment, kids disco bingo quizzes etc and tje same staff did various poolside activities all day. We would definately come again. There is a road train and aquarium and dino park within 15 minutes walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels i have stayed at abroad, it was very big, had 3 big pools, one of them had 4 water slides for kids and adults, when they say all inclusive it really is all inclusive, from early hours right up to the night there is always food and drinks available, it really is less than 5mins walk to the beach shops etc, staff was amazing, very polite and very helpful, dont normally visit the same place twice but will deffently be returning here again next year, thankyou to all the staff,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C-K-F2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POOLE UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is an excellent value for money Hotel, Excellent for families, There was good choice of food for breakfast, lunch & dinner every day a mixture of Greek & International dishes. As said by others the Pizza's by the Pool were great for a change from the buffet lunch. The rooms were cleaned daily & towels changed daily, the staff were very friendly & helpful everywhere from reception, to Restaurant attendants & George the restaurant Manager who seemed to have eyes in the back of his head, to room cleaners. There are plenty of sunbeds around the different pool areas. We arrived at midnight & was offered a light bite to eat if we wanted. We were in room 5024 which is at the far end of the complex nearer the beach (2 mins stroll).
If I have a negative it would be that the Bar for the evening was a large bland room That was too hot (Just a small balconied area) & Kids running wild Yes there were Large Windows that opened but you were on the first Floor & children started hanging out which was not good. . They should have an Evening open air bar somewhere on the complex, this bar was not relaxing for couples. We went out & found a taverna (Zorbas) on the sea front it was lovely & they had a guy playing a Bouzouki live every night he was brilliant! we went back a couple of times. Worth a visit. I have visited Greece more than 15 times & have never seen someone play live.

Room Tip: 5000 room no's are away from the Restaurant, Pools and Bar. If you like a hot Drink before brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grocklePooleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Been here may 19 to may 23, from first impression the hotel looks simple, the rooms are 3 star but everything else is GREAT! The staff is amazing, very helpful, very polite and kind, the rooms were always clean... The food is very tasty and there is a nice choice, you have fresh pizza by the pool, the water slides is the best for kids! The hotel located 5 minutes walk from the sea.

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms 4109 and 4110, close to one of the pools but not as loud as the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nika_Silinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
2.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
80.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
24.3 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mitsis Rinela Beach Resort & Spa
20.2 mi away
Fodele Beach & Water Park Holiday Resort
24.1 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gouves Park Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gouves Park Holiday Resort

Property: Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Address: Kato Gouves Pediados, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#11 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gouves Park Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gouves Park Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouves Park Holiday Hotel Gouves
Gouves Park Holiday Resort Kato Gouves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing