We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to relax and enjoy Northern Tuscany...”

Review of Turello

Totally private detached house with pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Totally private detached house with pool
Garden Barga in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Totally private detached house with pool
Garden
Barga in the distance
Garden
Garden
Garden
Less than 5 mins drive to the medieval town of Barga
The Duomo of Barga is situated at the very top with stunning views
Dine out in one of the many good restaurants in Barga
Local market town of Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
Enjoy the many local festas that take place in the summer season
The medieval 'Devil's Bridge' at Borgo a Mozzano
Visit the Wind Caves - La Grotta del Vento
Take a trip to the beautiful walled city of Lucca
The famous amphitheatre of Lucca
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roam42427...
1 review
“Perfect place to relax and enjoy Northern Tuscany countryside”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wonderful views, pool, and total privacy combine to make this an idyllic spot to holiday. The owners were extremely welcoming and on hand if needed. The property was as described and nearby Barga provided many good restaurants to sample. Booking through Tuscan Retreats was very efficient and easy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot, peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Our third time at this wonderful house. it is in a beautiful spot, surrounded by lovely grounds, nature and wildlife. the house is very comfortable and the owners charming and helpful. It is in a wonderful position for exploring the local area including the lovely town of Barga, walled city of Lucca and many lovely villages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maz1822
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing location”
Reviewed August 25, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent a fantastic week here in this stunning location. The pool and grounds are lovely with truly breathtaking views. The house was lovely - the pictures don't do it justice to be honest as it is more modern than they suggest. All the facilities were excellent - we wanted for nothing. Yes the drive to the house is daunting the first time but you definitely do get used to it and it is so worth the drive. We truly didn't want to leave - I doubt we will ever stay anywhere so spectacular again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichZ123
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our own Tuscan paradise in the mountains”
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

For those seeking rural privacy and seclusion surrounded by hills and mountains yet within reasonable reach of amenities this was the perfect location.

The setting of Il Turello on its own wooded mountainside was just magical. The drive up to the property was long and very steep in parts but well worth it for what you get to in the end.

The swimming pool and patio area was perfect for relaxing and cooling down - daytime or evening. The BBQ and Pizza Oven helped make eating in a preference rather than a neccessity.

Internally the property was perfect for our needs as a couple. Everything inside was spotlessly clean, up to date and comfortable.

The owners of the property lived two to three hundred metres further down the lane. Il Turello is literally at the end of the road. Amadeo was very friendly and helpful but totally respectful of our privacy.

This was our first visit to Garfagnana and we were very keen to see as much of the area as we could. With hindsight, I am very happy that Il Turello provided a perfect central location for our explorations. If we had chosen to stay on the property just to chill, again it was perfect.

Barga is the nearest town - sitting below in the valley and about a fifteen minute drive away. A medieval gem with bars, restaurants and a reasonable sized supermarket. For a big shop, the Conad supermarket in Gallicano is about twenty minutes away. Lucca is a must for a visit.

Il Turello and Garfagnana has a timeless charm that will stay with us for ever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Otley, Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

What a Gem!! Il Turello was a perfect location for our first family holiday abroad. The villa and facilities were perfect for us with stunning views across to Barga.
The pool and huge outside space with fruits growing was great for us, perfect wifi (for when it was too hot to sit out!) with fast speeds the pizza oven and barbeque facilities perfect.
Amadeo and Paola were the perfect hosts, being close by for anything needed very welcoming to enjoy “a drop” with them, but also leaving us to enjoy and relax in their beautiful villa.
They also providing recommendations for dinner and even booked us a table at one of the local restaurants., along with recommendations for where to buy local wines at La Cantina del vino and getting my glasses fixed!
Barga itself is beautiful with welcoming restaurants serving amazing local produce. The location is perfect for a day in Pisa, and Lucca which is a fabulous place. Overall an absolutely perfect holiday, we drove ourselves taking in some lovely places along the way. You do need a car, and yes the final approach is steep but perfectly passable in any normal family car, stock-up on groceries at the supermarket 20 minutes away drive up the hill and relax!
We will be back to sample more wonderful Tuscan hospitality!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tony h
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely mountainside retreat”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely villa in stunning location with good sized .pool and quality outdoor furniture . The bbq and pizza oven were an unexpected bonus and plentiful fresh fruit on the trees . Amadeo the owner was charmingly helpful but not overbearing . You will Need a car which can climb steep hills and essential to stock up at supermarket en route . Nearby Barga is wonderful !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anja F
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Il Turello for a week in July 2016. We had a great time!
The house was just perfect for a family of four. Our two boys at age 9 and 10 loved the big pool and the wifi was super and worked everywhere around the property – both inside and outside. The kitchen was very well equipped and had everything we needed. The house has an original pizza oven, which was so much fun. We made pizza almost every night. The scenery around the house was just beautiful and very romantic.
The house is indeed far away from everything, placed way up in the mountains, with a very steep drive up the mountain. However, certainly worth the while and Barga is close by with a short drive.
Amadeo was a super friendly host and very helpful. I would definitely recommend this house!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing