We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa with superb staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Moorings Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Barga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Firstly the staff at Villa Moorings are exceptional and make you feel very welcome. As well as always having a smile and being good humoured, they went out of their way to be helpful and take time to talk to their guests. The villa is a beautiful example of a property built in the 1920s and has an interesting history to it, partly mentioned on their own website and partly continued by members of the original family owners. Inside are very high ceiliings some of which are beautifully painted, lots of original furnishings and lovely outdoor swimming pool area. Our bedroom did not have air conditioning and it was unseasonally hot when we we there. Perhaps AC shouldn't be expected in a building of this era but more efficient fans would be welcomed. Although the immediate outlook is somewhat out of context with the original surroundings of the villa, we had wonderful mountain views from our well appointed, clean and tidy second floor bedroom. Breakfasts were very enjoyable and constantly checked &replenished. It could be takern indoors or out on the terrace. It is a 10 minute walk to the beautiful town of Barga. However there are quite steep steps to get to the highest point of the town. If you only manage to do so once, you musttry to do so, as it has a lovely feel to it and many good restaurants. There are at least a couple of restaurants, if not more, easily accessible without having to go upwards! We hired a car and visited some lovely Cities, towns & villages, some of which were off the beaten track although nowhere was spoiled by tourism. We would certainly recommend this accommodation and exploration of the lovely small town of Barga and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Check which rooms get the least sunshine and will thus remain cooler! The higher up you go the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

We were very well received and could park our two classic cars in the garage, which was prepared by Beatrice's (the hotel manager) father. The rooms and whole house have a very interesting and classic atmosphere. The pool is large and of the right temperature. The terrace is fine and the staff very helpfull and good humored. We most enjoyed our two day stay in Villa Moorings, which is at walking distance from the old town.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Lodewijk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for five days in May at Villa Moorings while exploring Barga, Lucca, and surrounding towns. Villa Moorings is a classy old hotel (built in the 1920s) run by an exceptionally friendly and accomodating staff who helped us practice our Italian and French (because not everyone spoke such good English). Our rooms on the 2nd floor had high ceilings, nice decor and balconies. There is a big outdoor pool and a tower above the 3rd floor that is a pleasant place to take in the view of the surrounding hills. The town itself is small, beautiful, and not overrun by tourists. You can walk easily to the top of the medieval old town to see a beautiful 12th-16th century church that is lit inside only by the light of the stained glass windows. Halfway up we found what is in our humble opinion the very best restaurant in Tuscany (L'Altana) and dined there twice. It's very small so be sure to make reservations!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank americain_a_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in Villa Moorings. We thought it was a wonderful hotel with beautiful views of the mountains and surrounding countryside. We found the hospitality offered was exceptional. We felt very much at home there and could happily have stayed on for another few days but we had booked our flights back from Pisa to London the following day. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a visit to the lovely town of Barga.

Room Tip: We stayed in Gelsi and had lovely views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very Nice and affordable Hotel central in Barga. Old mansion converted to Hotel. The children loved The pool :) and The karaoke (us adults not so keen on karaoke).

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vissvass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The bad:
- The price is WAY to expensive for what you get. (should be +-70 euro for a double room if you compare the quality to other hotels instead of +-150)
- We got dirty towels (brown stains)
-The bathroom shower pipe was fixed to the wall with tape!
-The alarm string in the shower was cheaply fixed to the wall with tape, I can understand that some people cause a false alarm but this way it is useless as people who fall down can't reach it.
-The trashcan had a foot pedal which didn't work
-cheap interior, also a very old small tube TV and standalone fridge.
-Everyone could enter the terras and enter our room that way, the terras door couldn't be locked!
-They have a paper on the desk which basically asks you to write a review on tripadvisor only if you had a nice stay. (so I guess that explains why there are so many positive reviews)
- Not able to eat breakfast outside
- You have to give them your system's MAC address if you want to get online and they can only enter about 16 adresses... This system is really not up-to-date.

The neutral:
-Breakfast was not good but also not terrible.

The good:
- It has a pool
- Overall clean
- Nice location in Barga if you want to stay there. However, very far from the highway so a bad location as a basis to discover the wider area.

Basically, I had the same feeling as Goessag's review. It is OK as a hotel to stay for a short while, but way overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rendm r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This amazing hotel is set in an early 20th century villa. The hotel is operated by the great-granddaughter who is amazing - so is her staff. The breakfasts are personalized. The pool and grounds are gorgeous. It is in walking distance of the ancient main squares of Barga. The staff helped launder the clothes of our baby for our long trip. They have THE MOST AMAZING view of all of Barga from the tower. The balconies are romantic and inviting and are connected to nearly all the rooms. They helped us with genealogy when we ran into a wall. (They should charge for this service!). They really made us feel at home. We will definitely go back with more of our family. Thank you Villa Moorings staff!

Room Tip: All rooms seem perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgbiedron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barga
1.2 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
1,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Vignola
La Vignola
#1 of 1 in Barga
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#3 of 10 in Barga
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Cordati
Casa Cordati
#4 of 10 in Barga
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpino Hotel Ristorante
0.3 mi away
Acchiappasogni Art Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Moorings Hotel

Address: Via Roma 18, 55051, Barga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Barga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Barga
Price Range: $90 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing early 1900 villa in the gorgeous ancient town of Barga. The staff is amazing as are the grounds, pool, breakfast, rooms, and balconies are stunning. The staff washed our baby clothes every day to help us with our long trip. The villa's tower is the best lookout point in that stunning region of Lucca. The owner offered to help with geneology as well. Just superb. We are going back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Moorings Hotel Tuscany/Barga, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing