We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Why Barga? Why Vicolo del Duomo?”
other travelers have booked this property
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen
View at dawn from west bedroom
Master bath
West bedroom (double)
Single bedroom
Patio
Terrace in summer
Ready for dinner
Grape arbor
View from terrace
Walled garden
View of Duomo from garden
16th century staircase
12th century convent in Vicolo compound
View of Barga from countryside
Main entrance to compound
Second (garden) entrance from piazza
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LoopyM69
Williamston, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Why Barga? Why Vicolo del Duomo?”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

First, why Barga? Barga is a charming and wonderful city tucked away in the mountains of northwestern Tuscany. It is a place to get away, relax, sightsee, soak in beautiful vistas, dine, enjoy the warmth and hospitality of the locals, and take in the rich history of the city and the region. The older part of the city rests on a hill, surrounded by walls. Barga's history spans from the Celts, to the Romans, to World War II. From Barga, one can take easy day trips to Lucca and the Carrara marble quarries.

Why Vicolo del Duomo? Postcards of Barga focus on the Duomo, perched at the top of the hill, overlooking the old city. Vicolo del Duomo is conveniently situated just below the Duomo. While the property is several hundred years old, the quarters are up to date, very well appointed, comfortable, clean and safe. The views from the patio are spectacular. The owner is a retired journalist, fluent in several languages, including but not limited to Italian, English, French and Mandarin. He provides a wealth of knowledge on Barga and the surrounding region. He also proved to be invaluably helpful to us in retrieving the last piece of our luggage lost by the team of Delta and Alitalia Airlines.

From Vicolo del Duomo, you can easily walk to many fine small restaurants and cafes. If you choose to dine in, the property is also an easy walk to the local shops where you can pick up fruits, vegetables, meats, cheeses and pastries - all fresh.

Plan on parking outside the walls of the old city. There is some free parking just outside the main gate. More free parking is a few blocks away. From the main gate, there is a modest uphill walk, on a narrow cobblestone street, to Vicolo del Duomo.

We have highly recommended Vicolo del Duom to our friends and relatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property and how well equipped it was.
Liked least: Not applicable.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRP100
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Second time, and again I'm charmed by Barga”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

This was my second stay at Vicolo del Duomo and it was as enjoyable and entertaining as my first visit four years ago. Frank is a gracious host and knowledgeable about the local area and activities. Barga is a town where you can kick back and relax if that is what you are into or hike and enjoy the local piazzas. I'm looking into going back as soon as I can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is best in Barga, view of town and country side is breathtaking.
Liked least: No faults...really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lifetrave...
fairway, ks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect In Every Way”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2011

Vicolo Del Duomo fulfilled our every dream. When we arrived for our month-long stay in Italy we felt that we had landed in heaven. It was all there: the deck, shaded by an arbor covered with grape vines, looked out over a drop-dead gorgeous view of Barga with mountains in the distance. It was a setting unmatched in all of Tuscany. We spent many happy hours there reading, eating or just relaxing. A backyard garden complete with an olive tree, roses, and herbs for cooking completed the outdoor part of the house.

When we stepped inside we immediately felt like we were home. The house was roomy and comfortable. Antique Italian furniture complimented the décor. Cooking there was always fun with the gas stove and dishes and serving pieces that flattered our efforts.

Barga is a typical hill town, and we appreciated the fact that automobiles were not allowed on its narrow, cobblestone streets. One must park outside of town and walk up towing baggage, groceries, or whatever else is needed at the house. The people of the town are warm and welcoming, and always interesting. We returned to Vicolo Del Duomo the following year. Already, we are hopping to go back again and spend time in this place that we hold close to our hearts.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christoph...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good accommodation in a great location.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The apartment is spacious and generally well- equipped. The kitchen is small but functional. The large balcony enjoys the best views in Barga, a wonderful place to sit and watch the sun set, with a glass or two of local wine. Barga is an authentically friendly town, enjoying the benefits of being away from the main tourist itinerary. Local produce is superb, and the restaurants are very good, with L'Altana being exceptional.
Frank, the proprietor of the Vicolo, is most welcoming and a fund of local information and advice, and he added greatly to a memorable holiday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat K
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly village, friendly knowledgable host”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I spent a very enjoyable week in Barga with my husband and some friends in late September at Vicolo del Duomo. For a bit of quiet time in a Tuscan town, away from the hordes of tourists, with some great food and a great view of the Apuane Alps, this is the spot. The accommodations are very comfortable, and Frank is a wealth of information about the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallicano
Ellon Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vicolo del Duomo, location, location location!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This wonderful house will capture your heart. Situated centrally in the old town just below the Cities Duomo or "Cathedral" Vicolo del Duomo looks across the terracotta rooftops of Barga to the marble mountains of Carrara, a wonderful view.Hang up your car keys (the old town is almost a pedestrian precinct) and be prepared to meet the locals. Stop off at Andreas Alimentari to stock up on local fare but don't venture home before sampling a delicious ice cream from the Gelateria. Eating out is a pleasure with 5 restaurants 2 cafes and 2 take away outlets within the city walls. The theme here is quality local produce traditionally cooked. Prices are very reasonable and the ambiance is relaxed.
The house proper has three very spacious rooms and a toilet and bathroom upstairs. Down stairs you have a further toilet and shower room a fully fitted kitchen dining room and lounge which opens on to a wonderful balcony. The balcony with its eight seater dining table is the jewel in the crown of this property it spans the house finishing by the walled garden giving panoramas of the Garfangna. The views are simply to die for. If you need satellite TV and a strong internet connection this is not the house for you. The house is several hundred years old and can be quirky but nothing you cant live with.
Barga is my favourite destination in Europe, Vicolo del Duomo is my favourite destination in Barga, enjoy.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A view from the terrace that you'll never tire of.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have spent the last ten summers staying at the Vicolo del Duomo. Great location in Barga Vecchia, fantastic views from the vine covered terrace, garden is a relaxing place to sit among the apricot, fig and olive trees. Frank is a wonderful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$213
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing