We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“good accommodation in a great location.”
other travelers have booked this property
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room Dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Vicolo del Duomo: white house at center, under the Duomo.
Living room
Dining room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Kitchen
View at dawn from west bedroom
Master bath
West bedroom (double)
Single bedroom
Patio
Terrace in summer
Ready for dinner
Grape arbor
View from terrace
Walled garden
View of Duomo from garden
16th century staircase
12th century convent in Vicolo compound
View of Barga from countryside
Main entrance to compound
Second (garden) entrance from piazza
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christoph...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“good accommodation in a great location.”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The apartment is spacious and generally well- equipped. The kitchen is small but functional. The large balcony enjoys the best views in Barga, a wonderful place to sit and watch the sun set, with a glass or two of local wine. Barga is an authentically friendly town, enjoying the benefits of being away from the main tourist itinerary. Local produce is superb, and the restaurants are very good, with L'Altana being exceptional.
Frank, the proprietor of the Vicolo, is most welcoming and a fund of local information and advice, and he added greatly to a memorable holiday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat K
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly village, friendly knowledgable host”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I spent a very enjoyable week in Barga with my husband and some friends in late September at Vicolo del Duomo. For a bit of quiet time in a Tuscan town, away from the hordes of tourists, with some great food and a great view of the Apuane Alps, this is the spot. The accommodations are very comfortable, and Frank is a wealth of information about the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallicano
Ellon Aberdeenshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vicolo del Duomo, location, location location!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This wonderful house will capture your heart. Situated centrally in the old town just below the Cities Duomo or "Cathedral" Vicolo del Duomo looks across the terracotta rooftops of Barga to the marble mountains of Carrara, a wonderful view.Hang up your car keys (the old town is almost a pedestrian precinct) and be prepared to meet the locals. Stop off at Andreas Alimentari to stock up on local fare but don't venture home before sampling a delicious ice cream from the Gelateria. Eating out is a pleasure with 5 restaurants 2 cafes and 2 take away outlets within the city walls. The theme here is quality local produce traditionally cooked. Prices are very reasonable and the ambiance is relaxed.
The house proper has three very spacious rooms and a toilet and bathroom upstairs. Down stairs you have a further toilet and shower room a fully fitted kitchen dining room and lounge which opens on to a wonderful balcony. The balcony with its eight seater dining table is the jewel in the crown of this property it spans the house finishing by the walled garden giving panoramas of the Garfangna. The views are simply to die for. If you need satellite TV and a strong internet connection this is not the house for you. The house is several hundred years old and can be quirky but nothing you cant live with.
Barga is my favourite destination in Europe, Vicolo del Duomo is my favourite destination in Barga, enjoy.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“A view from the terrace that you'll never tire of.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have spent the last ten summers staying at the Vicolo del Duomo. Great location in Barga Vecchia, fantastic views from the vine covered terrace, garden is a relaxing place to sit among the apricot, fig and olive trees. Frank is a wonderful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora D
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous village hilltop retreat in the lush mountains of Tuscany.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a week in this lovely house with a group of 5 friends. There was plenty of room for all, with gorgeous views over the town and across the valley to impressive mountain peaks. The grapevine-covered terrace wraps around two sides of the house, with a table for dining. There is a shaded yard for hanging out in the warm sunshine. The house is near the top of the hill just below the town duomo. Barga is a non-touristy village with everything we wanted and needed: great restaurants, friendly bars, wonderful pastry shops and a fascinating history. We especially enjoyed hiking from village to village on old Roman and mill roads as well as smaller trails. We were there during mushroom season and enjoyed fresh porcini from the woods picked by locals. The host has extensive knowledge of the area's history and local amenities which he is happy to share with visitors. He met us at the bus to take us to the property and provided extensive information about how to arrive in the town. Since returning home, we have recommended this rental to everyone we meet and hope to visit again ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views and location.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rae434
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
“Gracious Host! Beautiful Home! Amazing View!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Staying in Barga and in Frank's home was the highlight of my
trip to Italy. He was a very knowledgeable and gracious host, and our accomodations were beautiful, clean and well-tended. His recommendations for places to eat, things to see
and traveling in Italy were spot on and so helpful. I left with many memories and a desire
to return again and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches that the owner offered to make us comfortable
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Paris, France
1 review
“Vicolo del Duomo is a splendid setting for a fun filled reunion with old friends.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2012

The Vicolo del Duomo's existence came by word of mouth. My friends and I had been talking about getting together for a reunion in Italy for years. Although we went back and forth about our location, we all agreed on one criteria, it had to be breathtakingly beautiful. Then I heard quite serendipitously about the beauty of Barga, the Vicolo del Duomo, and the kindness of it's owner, Frank Viviano. We were sold, and off we went. On the first day of our arrival, Frank took us on a little tour of the town, filling us in on it's history and introducing us to local merchants. The village is lovely, but the view from the terrace of Frank's place was magnificent--far better than photos could show. We were so content to stay close to our temporary home and loved having our coffee out there in the morning, and sipping our proseccos at sunset. We were four very happy women, and sometimes we were quite silly, and everything was perfect--culminating into very fond vivd memories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up in the morning and sitting on the terrace with coffee in hand and gazing at the view.
Liked least: That I couldn't stay and live there.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing