We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Fontana Tuscany B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 Barga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The location of this B&B is fabulous, as is the truly excellent accommodation.
Ron and Susi have created an oasis of comfort and relaxation in beautiful Barga, where the scenery is stunning from every viewpoint. The attractive house is clean and comfortable whilst retaining an authentic Italian character. Ron and Susi are the ultimate hosts combining a wealth of local knowledge with a genuine wish to create a wonderful experience for each and every guest. Continental breakfast is served in a beautiful cantina with a delicious selection of fresh fruit, bread, ham, cheese, homemade preserves and chutney, served with as much tea or coffee as you can drink.
We love it, plan to return as soon as possible and highly recommend that you experience this haven for yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 274 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

From the time we booked online, thru to checking in , and three days later on departure we were treated like long-lost friends. The B&B is authentic, charming, and has Suzi and Ron's touch throughout. Our rooms were clean, airy, and restful. Our children were welcomed and enjoyed the history and stories of Casa and Barga as much as we did.
Breakfast was made to order, and we enjoyed the company of other travellers. Ron correctly recommended a long day trip to Cinque Terre and helped us buy tickets etc. A long day but worthwhile side trip. Local restaurants were fairly priced, and authentic. If you like B&B's, then this is recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_siger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked for four nights but checked out after the first night. Although Ron and Susi are very nice we found the place to be lacking. From no lock on our room door to the tiny bathroom/shower, everything seems to have seen better days. The lighting in the room was terrible and with only three light bulbs you could hardly light the room. The windows are old and the window treatments non existent.The bath towels were ragged and the place wasn't very clean, cobwebs and dust most everywhere. Also, if you do stay there watch out for the Scorpions, I killed one while I was in the sitting room (which also could use a thorough cleaning and update). The website made it look better than the reality.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MRMRSVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rongauld, Owner at Casa Fontana Tuscany B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We are sorry that MRMRSVacationer felt the need to write such an unpleasant and factually inaccurate review (we DO have locks on the doors and adequate lighting: we DON'T have ragged towels! Yes, in Italy there are some spiders and scorpions (small and harmless), we try to remove them but cannot exterminate them all). In fact none of the points mentioned in his review were discussed with us at the time, and he assured us when he left that there were no problems! We pride ourselves in looking after our guests and ensuring that they have everything they need, as can be seen from the many positive reviews which we have received.
Casa Fontana is a B&B, not a large international chain hotel (MRMRSVacationer moved on to a Renaissance Resort hotel): if that is what you look for you won't find it here. If you look for a relaxing stay in a historic house in a beautiful mediaeval town we will do our best to make you feel at home and to welcome you back when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've a long-held theory that one of the reasons the world is such an interesting place is because we all like and value different things (what a dull place it would be if we all had the same interests, preferences, beliefs etc). I was beginning to question my theory when I saw that every review for Casa Fontana rated it as five stars. Surely someone out there must have a different view? At long last, a review appeared with a rating of three stars. I eagerly scanned it, and the review was completely reassuring.

A rustic, basic room? For me, bliss! Absolutely no chance of waking to think you're in yet another business hotel which could be in any city anywhere in the world. No television taking prime position (I never switch them on anyway). No hint of that infernal air conditioning; frequently impossible to set and noisy enough to keep you awake at night. No endless corridors echoing the noise made by late revellers. Instead, a beautifully restored room in a beautifully restored house with shutters to keep the heat out during the day, windows and doors which actually open to allow in fresh air, a wonderfully comfortable bed, and imaginatively designed wardrobe, the perfect size for two.

A small bathroom? Again, beautifully styled and absolutely functional with everything that's needed. There's no sign of a shower compartment scarcely big enough to turn around in and requiring gymnastics to dry yourself, or that dreaded shower curtain which insists on draping itself around you. Just a practical wet-room with an endless supply of hot water and constant pressure unaffected by the neighbour showering at the same time.

A help-yourself breakfast? Perfect! First of all, this is no hotel buffet where food has been simmering or standing for hours: everything is freshly prepared each morning and replaced long before it has a chance to run out. Bread, ham and cheese sliced too thin? For me, just the way it should be as it allows you to sample all the wonderful (frequently home-made) jams, meat, and cheese without feeling too full. Prefer thicker slices? Nothing is too much trouble for Ron and Susi - just ask! Prefer other fruits? They change almost every day as the seasons change in the garden. And no need to think about attracting the waiter's attention: your preference for tea or coffee will be remembered and delivered before you have a chance to ask.

Three to four days only in Barga and need a car? We've just been back for our fourth stay, each one over a week long, and the days on which the car is used are rare (and if you don't have a car, the rail and bus services are excellent). Fancy just chilling? Nowhere better than Casa Fontana's garden to sit with a book or Cafe Lucchesi to people-watch. Fancy exercise? Try one of the stunning walks: Ron will suggest one as relaxing or as strenuous as you wish, or visit the swimming pool maintained by an Olympic medal winner. Fancy culture? Museum, Duomo, art gallery, churches, and chapel with Della Robbia carvings are all just a stroll away. Fancy more culture? Jump on the bus to Lucca or Pisa, or walk to another village such as Sommocolonia (read about the story of the Buffalo Soldiers) or Coreglia (another duomo and excellent plaster-figures museum. Fancy shopping? Now, for me, here's the best thing about Barga: I can't think of a single chain! (well, OK, at a push, the gelateria is associated with the one in nearby Gallicano). However, If you holiday to shop, you'll be disappointed.

So, you see what I mean? Clearly, there are people out there who love staying in large cities; in big, commercial hotels with spa, gym, and restaurant; and who love to spend the day shopping or rushing from place to place. Maybe that's just as well: imagine how much busier Casa Fontana and Barga would be if that's what everyone wanted.

So my confidence in that long-held theory is restored. I can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique! Two with balcony and view over mountains and one with beautiful up picturesque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Casa Fontana for a week in August 2012. Having never been on a holiday of this type before I was a little apprehensive - you see I love my beach holidays. But I need not have worried as everything about our stay was wonderful. Susi and Ron are such wonderful people and have made a fantastic job of Casa Fontana.

They had arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport and he was there waiting for us, the trip up to Barga is breathtaking. Ron and Susi are so knowledgeable about Barga and the surrounding towns, we did a few walks, but will take proper walking boots next time. Our room had a balcony which was a lovely place to sit and take in the scenery and just relax. There is plenty of variety for breakfast and you do not feel rushed to get up early.

There are plenty of places to visit outside of Barga and if you do not have a car the bus is very cheap and a very pleasant journey down to Lucca. Pisa is also worth a visit for those who have never been. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and was nice to stop off for a glass of wine in the square each evening, watching the people passing by or listening to the various musicians.

I would recommend a visit to Casa Fontana, we will both be making a return visit, hopefully next year. We will take some insect repellent this time though, the only thing we did not take.

Room Tip: I loved our room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine_shep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our third trip to Barga but our first stay at Casa Fontana.
Barga is an amazing place, lost in time with little invasion of the tourist industry. Great base to visit the local towns & Lucca.
Casa Fontana was a rare treat, an opportunity to enjoy sharing Susi & Ron's home, the great dining room, Tuscan breakfast, thankfully without the cakes!,the wonderful garden.
We always enjoy the Barga restaurants, this time was no exception.
However the weather was not kind! Torrential rain, cold & wind!!
Will need to return in better weather, any excuse!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillsimpson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Ron and Susi have created a lovely house in the attractive old town, where there are a surprising number of excellent restaurants, exhibitions, music and other cultural enterprises. It is set in the most beautiful countryside which offers all manner of walks, (energetic or otherwise), and is the perfect spot for drawing or painting. The old town itself is very attractive, and the countryside full of wild flowers, olive groves and vineyards. Our hosts could not have been kinder, and are also extremely knowledgeable about the local history, customs, businesses and people. They serve locally produced ham, cheese and home made jams and chutneys with breakfast, and are wonderfully relaxed while being attentive to one's slightest need.
We could not recommend it more highly.

Robin and Pauline Webster

Room Tip: The best rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barga
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
1,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Vignola
La Vignola
#1 of 1 in Barga
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#3 of 10 in Barga
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Moorings Hotel
Villa Moorings Hotel
#2 of 10 in Barga
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acchiappasogni Art Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Tiglio
Agriturismo Il Tiglio
#6 of 10 in Barga
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Fontana Tuscany B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Fontana Tuscany B&B

Address: Via di Mezzo 77, 55051, Barga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Barga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Barga
Price Range: $122 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast in an historic house in the Tuscan hilltown of Barga. The house is within the mediaeval city walls and within walking distance of all the historic sites and a wide range of places to eat. Adjoining the house is a well established garden with pergola. 4 Double or twin rooms en suite (2 with balcony) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Fontana Tuscany Hotel Barga
Casa Fontana Tuscany Bed And Breakfast
Casa Fontana Tuscany B&B Barga, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing