We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Helen H
2 reviews
“Peaceful”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Il Trebio is a bright, spacious villa outside Barga. It has three generous sized bedrooms and a bathroom. To get to the second bathroom it is necessary to go outside and down some stairs.The house is well equipped with tv, dvd player, washing machine, microwave etc and extra pillows and blankets if needed.
There is a terrace with table and chairs and some sun loungers.
The setting is very peaceful, up a winding road, with the most beautiful views over the countryside.
About a 15 minute walk away in Albiano is a restaurant and the communal swimming pool and about a 10 minute drive away is Barga with a Saturday market, choice of restaurants, supermarkets etc. Lucca is about a 40 minute drive. We used to train to visit Pisa and the train station is only a 10 minute drive away.
Diego and Sonia were very helpful and always available if you needed questions answered.
They kindly gave us fruit and vegetables from their garden during our stay as well as a bottle of wine when we arrived.
The house was absolutely spotless and a pleasure to stay in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and the view
Liked least: Second bathroom being access from outside
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pouncer20...
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“BEST VACATION RENTAL THAT I HAVE EXPERIENCED IN TUSCANY”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The service provided by the Owners , Diago and family exceeded all expectations....from the personal greeting upon arrival, a gift bottle of wine and having the groceries that I had requested stocked in the Kitchen. We were able to prepare a light evening meal and breakfast without leaving the house. We had arrived late on Sunday afternoon.
The property is beautifully maimed by Angelo, Didgo's father. The flowers are spectacular.
I had a total of 3 guests for several days each. A highlight was a Dinner Party prepared by Sonia , Diago's wife in the TAVERN , an area within , but separate from the Villa. We all participated in the preparation of a 6 course Tuscan meal! My guests were thrilled to participate with the chef and then have the meal served! Diago and his family all speak English, are very knowledgeable about the area. Small maintenance problems were resolved immediately. This was my 5th year to spend May in Tuscany. Villa Trivium, Diago and family
Facilitated the best month EVER for me and my guests in Tuscany. I plan to return next year.
Jerome Knoll Colorado Springs, Colorado USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa, Location and our Hosts
Liked least: No real complaints
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“il Trebbio was a special home away from home - we loved it.”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

So many special memories of il Trebbio: waking up to the breathtaking view of Barga from our windows; enjoying breakfast in the sun on the terrace and aperitifs in the late afternoon sun from the upper garden terrace.

My family of five enjoyed two weeks at il Trebbio and were incredibly happy with our choice of villa. Albiano is a short drive to Barga and perfectly located to enjoy views of the old city. For our young children the house is perfectly set up with enough lawn to play on and a lovely gardened terrace to play games on too. The house is well set up and equipped, and is very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the outdoors living where we could enjoy food and drinks while soaking up the views of Barga, Serchio Valley and the mountain. Owner Diego and his family were incredibly hospitable and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely stay at il Trebbio again when we are next in Barga!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prof-at-B...
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best vacation - tranquility and feeling of being at home with friends”
Reviewed December 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

In July 2014, we stayed at Il Trivium for a week. 3 adults and our 2-year old son. This was one of the best vacations I have ever had. I always enjoyed traveling and even our 2-year old son has already taken over 30 flights. I have traveled quite a bit and vacationed at many places. Our stay at Il Trivium ranks at the top of my best vacations ever (tied with a 10 day live-a-board diving trip in Raja Empat).

I have spent many hours on the internet trying to find the perfect place for our first Tuscan vacation. Once I got in contact with Diego, I knew I got the right place. Everything on the internet looked wonderful but Il Trivium was even more fantastic in real life. The villa is in great shape, the rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are excellent and the beds are comfortable.

The best part of the villa is the terrace with a fabulous view of Barga. There is a brick BBQ in the yard and we enjoyed many dinners with some Tuscan wine taking in the view. During our stay, it rained for few days and it was a bit cold (yes, in July). Normally, such an uncharacteristic event would ruin a vacation. It was the opposite experience. We enjoyed the fantastic fireplace in IlTrivium and sitting outside after a rain shower. The views of Barga with the fog was very dramatic.

I also enjoyed walking with my son in a backpack. We did morning expeditions into Albiano and up the hill. You would need a car to get around and go shopping, but you could enjoy a nice walk to the swimming pool in Albiano. On sunny days, we enjoyed the pool very much.

Words cannot do justice to how wonderful this place is. Yet the best part is the people. We enjoyed our hosts very much. Diego has been the only person I communicated with over e-mail. We also met Angelo and Amelia, although we had minimal ability to communicate in spoken language, we enjoyed their company very much. We felt that they are part of our extended family. And we miss them.

We are definitely going back. Perhaps a bit longer than a week in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bbq, view, hosts
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryinCan...
Canada
1 review
“Excellent Views and accommodating hosts”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We arrived late (10:30PM) and Diego was there to meet us and lead us to our villa on a rainy night.. The road to the villa, although common for this area, was steep with many blind curves. Customary to beep the horn on such roads. Once at the villa we found a clean and spacious villa. Two bathrooms, one of which was accessible from outside was not an issue, It was nice to enjoy the view and the fresh air on route to the morning shower.

The view from the deck as everyone writes is amazing. Don't forget to look for the Grotta del Vento which can be seen across the valley on the ridge line. Awesome!

Our hosts were more than accommodating and even had time to teach us some Italian. Thanks again Diego, Antonio and Angelo, we had a great time.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful views from lovely home.”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Our stay here felt like a home from home, comfortable spacious bedrooms and a fantastic view. We made the most of the terrace eating most of our meals outside. The owners were brilliant and looked after our every need, it felt like they genuinely wanted you to get the best out of your stay. I would recommend you stock up at one of the larger supermarkets, we particularly liked the one at Gallicano. However lots of restaurants to choose from in Barga if you don't want to cook and there is a reasonable one in walking distance.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Again a wonderful holiday in a nice villa in a perfect setting.”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We returned to il trebbio for the fifth time and was again really surprised at just how good it was. The owners are really friendly, helpful and cannot do enough to help. The house is clean spacious and just gives you a great big hug. The area is just beautiful and the views from the villa just emphasise this. You just cannot do anything but chill, enjoy and leave knowing you will be drawn back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of the owners, and the view.
Liked least: I cannot find fault
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing