We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A taste of Italy”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
975Billin...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A taste of Italy”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you are after the trappings of a commercial package holiday, then this location will not be for you, but what it will give you is stunning views and a quiet relaxing setting in which to unwind.
When we arrived, the property was spotless. It is not just looked after by the owners, it's loved, and if this was mine, so would I. It is equipped with everything that you need, including pizza oven.
We travelled with two children, 14 and 8, and they were not bored! Yes, you heard right!
The local pool is clean and above all safe, the local residents are friendly and helpful. But again, don't expect hoards of English tourists.
The local restaurant served traditional local food, rabbit and nettle not your average burger and chips.
If you do decide to visit, please leave this place exactly as you found it, it is really a treasure.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
168Graham
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice holiday , friendly hosts , lovely House.”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We loved our stay at Il Trivium, the view from the terrace and bedrooms is wonderful
And we were able to enjoy having breakfast and dinner outside . Diego and his family were extremely friendly and helpful , recommending the best places to visit as well as walks to do
In the area . We liked the nearby swimming pool very much.
The accommodation is very comfortable and clean with a traditional style .
During our two weeks we were able to visit Florence , Lucca and the coastal area around La Spezia however there is a lot to see locally. All in all all we had a very enjoyable holiday.
Thank you also for the wine, fruit and vegetables, much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the kindness of the hosts
Liked least: We had a little rainy weather
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G
Blackwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday at Il Trivium”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family and I had a wonderful holiday, staying at Il Trivium (sister property, next door to Il Trebbio). It is absolutely the perfect location to experience the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The views from this property are second to none and there is plenty to do for the actively minded around the local area.

Diego and his family are delightful. During the booking process, Diego was hugely accommodating with a wealth of information about the property and what to do in the local area. During our stay, Diego's mother and father were beyond helpful...such lovely, friendly people.

I have no hesitation in recommending this as the perfect holiday getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauniainen, Finland
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery, location, host family
Liked least: A car is a must
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjparkins...
2 reviews
“Perfect place for relaxing”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Il trebbio is just perfect for a relaxing holiday. The house had plenty of space and everything we needed. The pool is a short walk away in Albiano. The restaurant there was great. Everyone is really friendly. Diego's mum and dad are absolutely fab! We would go again and have no hesitation in recommending the house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_tomse...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great family holiday spot”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My family and i had a fantastic stay at Il Trebbio. Diego very nicely met us in Barga and drove with us to the house, and he and his family were attentive and helpful thoughout our visit.

The house has 3 large bedrooms with good storage space, with the master bedroom having views out over the valley. We travelled with a toddler and were very impressed that a proper cot was provided, much better than the travel cots in other similar properties. The kitchen-dining room is well appointed and it is very easy to make your own meals if you don't want to eat out. The highlight of the property is the outside space, the house has a large terrace with fantastic views over the valley and across to Barga, all of the photos up don't do it justice, it is very easy to sit and just watch it (with a glass of wine of course). The terrace has a BBQ and a stone oven (we didn't try the latter), and the house also has small terraced gardens which are nice for getting the last few rays of the sun before it drops over the hills. The upper terrace is also gated so we could relax on the terrace keeping our daughter in view at all times knowing she wouldn't hurt herself.

The nearby village of Albiano has a bar and restaurant and a small shop. A swimming pool is also attached to the bar to which villa Trebbio guests have access. The nearest large supermarket is at Galicano (10-15 min drive).

The house is well situated to explore northern Tuscany with Florence and Pisa within an hour and a half's drive and Lucca, the closest town, 30 minutes away and well worth a visit or two. You also have the opportunity to get into the mountains for walks and there are a number of nice towns in the area to visit. Coming back to the Garfagnana valley was always a peaceful escape from the tourist hordes that can decend on the Tuscan towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmb090
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This is a gorgeous place to stay!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed at Il Trebbio with a group of women late April til mid May. It was perfect for our needs. The spring weather was cool at times but the villa was comfortable with wood stove and pellet stove. The owners were kind and very helpful with so many things to do with our trip. The view of Barga is awesome. I slept like a baby in the mountain air. The outdoor patio was great with spectacular views of beautiful valleys and countryside. Everything was clean, well maintained and care has been taken with the renovation of this villa. This area is just gorgeous! I didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the beauty of the authentic villa.
Liked least: The narrowness and steepness of the mountain roads which I got used to after a few days.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing