We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect holiday at Il Trivium”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ian G
Blackwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect holiday at Il Trivium”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family and I had a wonderful holiday, staying at Il Trivium (sister property, next door to Il Trebbio). It is absolutely the perfect location to experience the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The views from this property are second to none and there is plenty to do for the actively minded around the local area.

Diego and his family are delightful. During the booking process, Diego was hugely accommodating with a wealth of information about the property and what to do in the local area. During our stay, Diego's mother and father were beyond helpful...such lovely, friendly people.

I have no hesitation in recommending this as the perfect holiday getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauniainen, Finland
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery, location, host family
Liked least: A car is a must
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjparkins...
2 reviews
“Perfect place for relaxing”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Il trebbio is just perfect for a relaxing holiday. The house had plenty of space and everything we needed. The pool is a short walk away in Albiano. The restaurant there was great. Everyone is really friendly. Diego's mum and dad are absolutely fab! We would go again and have no hesitation in recommending the house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_tomse...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great family holiday spot”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My family and i had a fantastic stay at Il Trebbio. Diego very nicely met us in Barga and drove with us to the house, and he and his family were attentive and helpful thoughout our visit.

The house has 3 large bedrooms with good storage space, with the master bedroom having views out over the valley. We travelled with a toddler and were very impressed that a proper cot was provided, much better than the travel cots in other similar properties. The kitchen-dining room is well appointed and it is very easy to make your own meals if you don't want to eat out. The highlight of the property is the outside space, the house has a large terrace with fantastic views over the valley and across to Barga, all of the photos up don't do it justice, it is very easy to sit and just watch it (with a glass of wine of course). The terrace has a BBQ and a stone oven (we didn't try the latter), and the house also has small terraced gardens which are nice for getting the last few rays of the sun before it drops over the hills. The upper terrace is also gated so we could relax on the terrace keeping our daughter in view at all times knowing she wouldn't hurt herself.

The nearby village of Albiano has a bar and restaurant and a small shop. A swimming pool is also attached to the bar to which villa Trebbio guests have access. The nearest large supermarket is at Galicano (10-15 min drive).

The house is well situated to explore northern Tuscany with Florence and Pisa within an hour and a half's drive and Lucca, the closest town, 30 minutes away and well worth a visit or two. You also have the opportunity to get into the mountains for walks and there are a number of nice towns in the area to visit. Coming back to the Garfagnana valley was always a peaceful escape from the tourist hordes that can decend on the Tuscan towns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmb090
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This is a gorgeous place to stay!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed at Il Trebbio with a group of women late April til mid May. It was perfect for our needs. The spring weather was cool at times but the villa was comfortable with wood stove and pellet stove. The owners were kind and very helpful with so many things to do with our trip. The view of Barga is awesome. I slept like a baby in the mountain air. The outdoor patio was great with spectacular views of beautiful valleys and countryside. Everything was clean, well maintained and care has been taken with the renovation of this villa. This area is just gorgeous! I didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the beauty of the authentic villa.
Liked least: The narrowness and steepness of the mountain roads which I got used to after a few days.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiftly20...
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
“This is an ideal villa for those wishing to experience the authentic life in the mountains of Tuscany.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Villa Trivium is about 2.4 miles up the mountain from Barga. The accommodations were very comfortable, and the views of the Serchio Valley, Barga, and the mountains were breath taking. The villa can accommodate 5-6 people. The two large bedrooms have ample space for possessions. There are beautifully crafted bathrooms in each bedroom, plus an additional half bathroom in the wash room downstairs. The kitchen is fully equipped for cooking: coffee machine, toaster, microwave, etc. There is also a BBQ on one of two patios. Patios and lawn space are furnished with chairs, a table and sun-loungers.The gardens are beautifully adorned with all types of flowers, trees, and shrubs. The villa has been renovated, but the integrity of the former structure has not been lost. A washing machine, iron, and all cleaning tools are present. Clothes are hung on outside lines. On Saturdays, sheets, towels, and other linen can be left for washing by the owners. Wi-fi and a television are included. Heat is provided by a wood burning fireplace. There is ample wood to use at a fee. The common living area is furnished comfortably, sofa, soft chairs, etc. The owners were friendly and helpful. They were readily available if the need arose. There are ample footpaths in the area for the avid hiker. Lucca, Florence, and other smaller villages are in driving distance. Train and bus service are also in the area. The thing I liked the least was having to carry out all the garbage to the street and having to sort it into four bins there, rather than having separate cans in the kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, location, and maintenance and cleanliness of villa.
Liked least: Getting to and fro on narrow roads with many curves and recycle situation.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Col F
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We keep coming back!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We have been to Italy 4 times in 5 years and each time spend at least some of our holiday at Il Trebbio. The accommodation, the view, the Barga community and the helpful assistance of Diego and his family are an integral part of what we love about Italy. Absolutely recommended!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing