We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best ever Italy experience!”
other travelers have booked this property
view from Panoramica terrace (spring)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from Panoramica terrace (spring)
Barga's Cathedral (Duomo) view through olive grove to Capanno
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
view from Panoramica terrace (spring)
Barga's Cathedral (Duomo)
view through olive grove to Capanno
bellavista entrance
bellavista room
Bellavista table and chairs
bellavista room
bellavista kitchenette
Bellavista terrace
stairs to Panoramica
Panoramica room
panoramica room
panoramica room
Panoramica room entrance and view
entrance Tavernetta room
Tavernetta room
Tavernetta room kitchenette
Tavernetta room
tavernetta terrace & Pania
Main house terrace: breakfast served here
La Serra di Barga seen from the Cathedral
view from Bellavista terrace (spring)
view from Bellavista terrace (winter)
view towards Fornacetta and Pania
vinyards below our B&B and Duomo
shepherd passing in front of our B&B
Abetaia thisle
Calomini's hermitage
hiking near Capanne di Careggine
carsic chasm near Capanne di Careggine
hiking on Mount Sumbra
hiking near Mt Sumbra
hiking above lago di Vagli
view from Mount Palodina towards Trassilico
Monte Procinto (the Panettone)
blueberry meadows near San Pellegrino(September)
sunset Mt Sumbra
main Gate to historic Barga (Porta Reale)
laundry in historic center of Barga
Barga's municipal swimming pool
cooking course at La Serra
snow at La Serra
La Serra B&B  sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Barga, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Stephen R
1 review
“The best ever Italy experience!”
Reviewed September 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This was our first trip to Italy. Barga was not familiar to us, but it and the surrounding region looked very appealing. We booked a full week at La Serra. Everything about our stay there was just perfect. Pietro and his wife Marike were wonderful and friendly hosts, our rooms in the Bellavista were clean, comfortable and with modern conveniences, the view from our terrace overlooking Barga was magical, the food was wonderful (especially the local cheeses), and the rural setting gave us quiet nights and a convenient twenty-minute walk into the heart of the old city. Pietro is an excellent Italian language teacher, and he knows the local walking and hiking trails very well. We stayed at several other B&B's and monasteries in Tuscany, but Pietro and Marike provided us with our very best experience in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
You've been wonderful guests, Steve, and I am so glad you could benefit from the BELCANTO festival in Barga, it was the first year it took place and it looks like it will become a tradition for early September from now on!
And you've been a wonderful pupil, Galina!
pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sajohnsto...
Bury st edmunds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Breath taking views, warm and friendly hosts, great breakfast”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Spent a week here in the Tavernetta room, it was a little glimpse of heaven, ! Stunning views from our private terrace, could of stayed there all day in the sun just watching the changing weather patterns, lovely room, and the breakfast healthy and imaginative.
Barga was lovely old and quaint with some good restaurants, and icecream shops! Lucca only 40 minutes away, worth a visit too, Florence only a couple of hours on the train. Pietro was very well informed and was able to help us with planning our trips out and about. We walked into Barga in the evening using a path off the road, only 20 minutes, you need a torch on the way back! This is a great place to get away from the busyness of life and unwind and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and the view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2014
Thank you Sarah for this incredible review! I am not sure we deserve such a marvelous comment! Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
May W
1 review
“Wish we were there right now!”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our stay was delightful, beginning with a warm welcome from Pietro and an impeccable view of Barga. Barga in itself is a quintessential Italian town, with lots of charm and character. The location of La Serra allowed us to 'getaway' from the busier neighbouring towns and relax in sun. A perfect stay if you're looking for tranquillity and good food.

The property has been well renovated and includes all the essentials to live comfortably during your stay. What was most impressive was the atmosphere and sense of 'home' that both Pietro and Marijkey created for us and their other guests. Unique.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2014
Thank you May for these lovely words! you've been wonderful guests! pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilaryT21...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of paradise!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our first trip to Barga and and though we would like to keep La Serra di Barga a secret we feel we should sing its praises from the rooftops!
Our week in Bellavista was over all too quickly and we never tired of soaking up its spectacular panoramic views or its cosy ambience.
Barga town is only a delightful walk away where delicious food and very drinkable wine is to be had!
However, as many other reviewers have said, the holiday was made complete by the loveliest hosts we have had anywhere :-)
Suffice to say we can't wait to return!
Hilary & David T.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
I am really touched by such wonderful words, Hillary! And we were touched by such wonderful guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LynKansas
Topeka, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views, Warm Hospitality, Charming Hill Town, Quiet and Peaceful Location = Perfect Stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our hosts, Pietro and Marijke, could not have been more kind and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay immensely -- most definitely the highlight of our first trip to Italy. The location is perfect for those who prefer a quiet, out-of-the-way, off the beaten track getaway.

Our hosts have beautifully renovated their Tuscan hillside home and the stone cappano a few steps away. Pietro and Marijkey were helpful and personable throughout our week-long stay. Our Panoramica room was the top floor of the charming stone cappano, which included a spacious room, three double-wide windows with spectacular views of the ancient walled town of Barga, two wicker chairs and a small table, a small refrigerator, and an electric kettle for hot beverages. The two other rooms had small kitchens, but they were already booked by the time we made our reservations. As it turned out, our room was just perfect for us! Barga has reasonably priced wonderful restaurants, and Pietro prepared a wonderful breakfast for us upon request. One of the rooms with a kitchen would be ideal for families with small children.

The area in Northern Tuscany is perfect for day trips if you have a car. Lovely Lucca and its medieval walls are an easy 40-minute drive away; Pisa is an hour and 15 minutes by car. Surrounding hill towns offer other options. Don't miss the ancient Devil's Bridge on the way to Lucca, built sometime before 1300 and well worth a stop. We found a smaller but similar stone footbridge in Loppia, near the ancient duomo (church), crossing the Loppora stream. Sommocolonia is a tiny walled village high above Barga, the site of a tragic World War II battle valiantly fought by the U.S. Buffalo Soldiers.

The regional train is an alternative for day trips, although we discovered it was not always reliable. We recommend taking a car so you can enjoy the beautiful mountain scenery and the adventure of narrow, winding Italian roads -- not for the faint-hearted!

The town of Barga is charming and friendly, with many storefront shops, pastry and gelato cafes, and superb restaurants (we learned to always order any homemade pasta dish!).

Our stay at La Serra di Barga was perfect in every way. The location and views were lovely and relaxing, but our wonderful hosts made our visit to Italy truly unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, spectacular views from our window, and warm hospitality of our hosts Pietro and Marijke
Liked least: Challenging to locate when arriving by car, if not familiar with the area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2014
Thank you Lyn for these fine words.
It was a pleasure having you here.
Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS, Canada
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2013
thank you Thomas and Leslie, you've been wonderful guests! Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stonehaven
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2013
Thank you Chris, we enjoyed your company! Pietro
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing