We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
74
16
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
16
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an art gallery the owner the perfect host huge room unique experience carried our bags perfect location stunning views valley
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 93 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We know Barga well and were there for a few days to attend a family wedding. We had visited the art gallery in the Casa Cordati before but hadn't thought of it as a place to stay.. I wish we had!
The owner Giordano is very friendly and helpful and we had booked to stay in the apartment on the ground floor. The rooms were huge and spotlessly clean and the kitchen was very well equipped.
It being such an old building, the rooms were also blissfully cool.
There is a special feeling that comes from staying in this beautiful old house in the centre of Barga.
The shared areas were a real discovery and the free wi-fi access very useful.
We would definitely return!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Suzie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My sister & I stayed at Casa Cordati (very close to old town entrance) this past September; the bus from Lucca drops you just outside the gate. The train stops some distance from town but was a prettier ride than the bus which also had a very slow transfer in a town not far from Lucca. Our room was on the second floor with no lift but the stairs were comfortable to climb; it was cozy with a very large bathroom and wonderful view of surrounding mountains. Breakfast was not included, but almost across the medieval lane was a gelateria with delicious pastries & cappucinos; equally delicious dinner was at Mordimi in the tiny piazza almost next door to hotel. Giordano Martinelli is the perfect host & speaks perfect English, but alas, no Spanish! He was gracious to take our luggage upstairs to our room and showed us his "casa" housing a gallery of his grandfather's beautiful paintings of which you can also buy prints. The price is right & when we go back to Barga, we will again stay here, where we felt exactly at home.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Marta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great stay and really good service from Giordano. Room was spacious, had great views and really peaceful. Would thoroughly recommend Casa Cordati. It really is a an opportunity to stay in one if the most unique buildings in Barga and for a great price.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and loved Barga. Casa Cordati was a great experience. We had an enormous attic room to ourselves with fantastic views. The house is stately, beautiful, and filled with history. We felt privileged to be staying here and couldn't believe the small price we paid for it.

Giordano was a friendly and easy going host. He gave us a detailed map of Barga and our room also had a well-written hiking guide to the village of Sommocolonia on a hilltop nearby. We followed this hike and it was great fun. Our experience in Barga couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just up the road from the bus stop so easy to find, this is without doubt the best value for money in Italy.
You are staying in an art gallery steeped in history and the welcome you get from Giordano is so friendly you feel at home straight away. We had a room that consisted of TWO bedrooms and private bathroom. The accommodation was immaculately clean and very spacious, in the heart of Barga close to restaurants, bars, and amazing Ice cream shops.

If you want to totally relax and switch off then this is the place for you, we only stayed two nights and easily could have stayed two weeks.
This is not a 5 star corporate rip off hotel this is a unique opportunity to stay in a peaceful retreat and experience a trip through history.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FirmfriendsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews