We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
73
16
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
16
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan art gallerythe ownerthe perfect hosthuge roomunique experiencecarried our bagsperfect locationstunning viewsvalley
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 92 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is a gem!!
Giordano the owner is a lovely man and is always happy to help you when planning things to see and do in the area.
We had a very spacious room with a really comfortable bed, the room also had a fantastic view over the town rooftops and on to the hills and fields beyond.
When you are here please take time to look around the gallery at the fantastic pictures painted by Bruno Cordati the owners Grandfather, truly wonderful.
If you like the formulated hotel rooms this might not be for you, but if you like truly original homely surroundings then this will be perfect for you!!!
Barga itself is a lovely place with 4 or 5 good restaurants which are all a matter of a minutes walk from the accommodation.
The new part of Barga is also very nice with a few bars and when we were there something going on every night in the plazas.
We would definitely stay here again, loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alikitrypiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

By an accident we found this fantastic hotel in the middel of the accient town in Barga. The hotel is an art museum, a hotel and a home for the owner and his family and in the moment you step in you are not Quite knowing in which part of the hotel you are standing in - but you are in the three places in the same time - and you just feel home. The host is very varm, helpfull and welcoming and the relaxed atsmosphere makes you feel just all right - like: why haven't I ben here before? Remember to go to the top room and also to have a good look at the owners granddads paintings in the museum. You make your own breakfast in your room, and Don't forget to enjoy your coffee looking over the mountains. Don't miss it! Mette Andersen, Denmark

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We recently stayed here while at a wedding in Barga. The place itself seemed a bit quirky and different, I wasn't really sure what to expect. When we arrived the place was shut up for the afternoon, but the owner soon came to greet us at the door, and was really helpful. We had to walk through an art gallery to get to our room, but this really wasn't a problem, it was different to anywhere we have ever stayed before, but we really did enjoy it. The owner was so helpful, his English was excellent so was able to help us out a lot with parking etc. The stay itself was very relaxing, we were never bothered by anyone. The room was huge, we booked a double and ended up with a double a twin and bathroom all to ourselves, so we were really happy with that. The location was brilliant, it was right in the heart of the old town, it took us some time to find it, as you cant drive down the narrow streets, unless your happy to scratch your car but as ours was hired, we weren't taking any chances. We got parking at the entrance to the old town anyway, which was a short 5 minute walk. Would recommend this place to stay, it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiestrackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I spent one night in this very unique establishment. The en-suite room was located within a large villa which is a museum dedicated to the artist Bruno Cordati and is run by his grandson. The room was charming with a stunning view into a valley, and was also extremely peaceful. The room has a lot of rustic charm which adds to the experience. It was also very reasonably priced at only €30/night and is right in the centre of Old Barga. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My stay was at the end of June 2013. Barga and Casa Cordati exceeded my expectations. Our host Giordano was so welcoming, considerate and informative. I loved the building and the rooms. Full of character. I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews