We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay in an amazing town”
Review of Casa Cordati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Cordati
Ranked #4 of 10 Barga B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I together with our adult son have just returned from the most amazing stay at Casa Cordati. The rooms in this working museum/art gallery are stunning with incredible views and first class amenities. We had two rooms on the top floor which were both large and bright. The bed in our room was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Rooms include a coffee maker and ours had several chairs and a sofa too.
Casa Cordati is run by Giordano Martinelli, a really friendly guy who is the grandson of Bruno Cordati, the famous Italian painter to whom this gorgeous establishment is dedicated. Bruno's paintings even adorn the walls of the bedrooms.
Casa Cordati has a covered roof terrace with stunning views across the Barga rooftops to the duomo and beyond. It was great relaxing with a good book on the roof terrace and also in Giordano's lovely garden.
Barga is a quiet Tuscan hilltop town. Evenings are spent at one of the excellent Trattoria's in the Old Town - our favourites being L'Osteria, L'Altana and Trattoria de Ricardo (will review those on TA asap!). Its the perfect place to escape the rat race and chill out till your heart's content. None more so than at Casa Cordati which is stunning and we can't wait to return.
Thanks Giordano. Kind regards from Dave, Marisa and Brett :)

Room Tip: Simply email Giordano direct and he is very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Casa Cordati is in the middle of the old town in Barga. It is run by Giordano Martinelli who is the Grandson of Bruno Cordati. (famous Italian painter. There is a permanent exhibition of Cordatis work in the building. Cordati also painted murals on some of the interior walls. There are 2 rooms for rental both of which are huge. We had the double room with a large adjoining bathroom. The other room sleeps 5. Both rooms are equipped with kettle coffee make and fridge and some crockery and utensils. There is a small shop 100m away. The rooms for rental are on the 2nd floor and it must be said that if you are not able to climb 2 flights of stone steps then this is not the place for you. Views from the 2nd floor are wonderful. All of Barga and the surrounding mountains are viewed from this roof top vantage point. We loved it - intended to stay for one night and stayed for two. Could easily have stayed a week or more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giomart, Proprietario at Casa Cordati, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for your beautiful words. Just to be precise, in Casa Cordati there is also an apartment on the ground floor and another room on the first floor.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My wife and I recently returned from two outstanding weeks in Italy. One of the major highlights of our trip was the time we spent at Casa Cordati in Barga. Barga is a beautiful little town in northern Tuscany. After landing in Pisa and making easy train connections to Barga, we were met at the station by Giordano, Casa Cordati's friendly and helpful proprietor. Casa Cordati is a wonderful old palazzo, lovingly preserved by Giordano, that houses a fascinating museum featuring the artwork of Bruno Cordati, Giordano's grandfather, as well as the guesthouse. Giordano showed us to our room - the "Big Room" - near the top of the palazzo with wonderful views from the windows. The room is a family room with one queen and two twin beds in it, a small kitchen area, a sitting area, a fairly large bathroom and great heating (important for nights in October). We spent three nights there and were very comfortable. Regardless of how long you stay at Casa Cordati, make sure you take the time to tour the museum, it is well worth it, also visit the "Altana" - Bruno Cordati's studio at the top of the palazzo. The walls are covered in murals by the artist and the views are incredible. My wife, also an artist, was even able to spend some time painting in the old studio. Remember that Casa Cordati is a guesthouse and can not offer the same amenities as a five star hotel; but, if you love encountering the genuine Italy, Casa Cordati is a clean, comfortable, friendly place to stay and a great value for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiedemjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We (late middle-aged couple and daughter) rented the bedroom on the top floor of this large and historic house in the walled town of Barga at the end of October. The owner is the grandson of the famous artist, Bruno Cordati, who lived and worked in this large, imposing house in the narrow Via di Mezzo. We were made very welcome and had a very large room which had 3 beds in it at the top of the house. Access to the room was via another large room (empty except for two hammocks) which had the original massive beam and truss almost at floor level, which entailed stepping over them to gain access to the room. There was a bathroom off the bedroom which was adequate. While a coffee-making machine was available in the room, it made only tiny amounts (espresso quantity) each time. We thought that an electric kettle and plunger would have been more suitable for making coffee for a group of three people. The bedroom was adequately heated but the rest of the house was cold at the end of October/beginning of November. Minor inconveniences as listed above were more than offset by the location, the view from the top of the house and the friendliness of the owner. An added bonus was the permanent exhibition of the works of Bruno Cordati, which were most appealing. Also the nearby presence of excellent wine bars and restaurants made it a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padraicdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Don't want to say much but would go back in the blink of an eye.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Casa Cordati is an incredibly beautiful old artist's studio with rooms and an apartment to rent. The rooms are very reasonably priced and the house is right in the historic centre of Barga. It's run by the friendly and helpful Giordani.
I stayed in the New Room and it was just beautiful - very quiet & clean, with incredible views (see photos). Best of all, you are given a key to a private walled garden, so you can relax in the heat of the day and read a book in the shade.
It's a safe and stunning town to travel to on your own. Very quiet, with little to do if you don't have a car, so bring a book and enjoy the amazing mountain air, the walks and the good food!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

a highlight of travelling in Italy was Casa Cordati in Barga, near Lucca. The apartments are within the palace housing the original artworks of Cordati and friends - staying here is to walk through a gallery of fine art each day - a wonderful experience! Giordani is Cordati's grandson and is warm, friendly and full of great information on the town, it's history and the art. Casa Cordati is right in the middle of Barga, a gorgeous medieval walled town. the apartment we stayed in had two huge bedrooms, bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities. Even when it was extremely hot outside the rooms were cool, light and airy - we escaped there for siesta every day. plenty of great places to eat nearby and lots of town character and characters...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank jennyrBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barga hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#3 of 10 in Barga
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo I Cerretelli
Agriturismo I Cerretelli
#1 of 1 in Tiglio Basso
77 reviews
0 mi away
Acchiappasogni Art Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Moorings Hotel
Villa Moorings Hotel
#2 of 10 in Barga
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Gherardi
Villa Gherardi
#2 of 15 in Barga
32 reviews
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Tiglio
Agriturismo Il Tiglio
#6 of 10 in Barga
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cordati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cordati

Address: Via di Mezzo 17 | Barga (LUCCA), 55051, Barga, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Barga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Barga
Price Range: $58 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cordati is a 17th-century palazzo in the historical centre of Barga, that hosts the permanent exhibition of Bruno Cordati’s paintings and occasional exhibitions of contemporary artists. Since 2003, Casa Cordati has made available an apartment and four of its many rooms to visitors to Barga. The apartment is on the ground floor, the Foresteria is on the first floor, and the New Room and the Big Room are on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cordati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cordati Tuscany/Barga, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing