We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambience and Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Agora Regency Sakai
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Sakai
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great ambience and Excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here for a day in May '14.

The location of the hotel is excellent, just next to Sakai station which is just 10 minutes train ride from Namba. The lobby had lovely ambience and the rooms were quite spacious compared to Japan's standards. The bathroom was well designed as well. The only problem I had with the room was that it was quite hot and I wasn't able to adjust the temperature.

The hotel has some good restaurants. I tried the Italian restaurant for lunch and the the All day dining for buffet breakfast. Both were of good standards.

Found the all day dining restaurant closed at 10 pm. When asked at reception, was informed that it was closed for that day as it was Golden Week. Was never informed about it while checking in. Anyway, the receptionist apologised for it. The host at the all day dining restaurant spoke excellent English but the receptionists had to struggle.

The complimentary wi-fi was of good speed. Overall, an excellent hotel to stay when in Osaka.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky_NewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊予約課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us.

On behalf of the property, we apologize for your inconvenience due to our room’s air conditioner and staff’s poor English skills. We will try to train our staff as soon as possible to improve the service level.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    83
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
37
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The easiest thing is to write a good review, at here is the one. Clean, neat room, nice view from 24th floor, several restaurants, Italian, Chinese, Japanese. Cocktail bars and tea room. Indoor swimming pool. Wi-Fi excellent all around. Staff trained up to the highest standard. You'll get value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngeloB971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
We appreciate for your patronage to hotel AGORA Regency Sakai. On behalf of the property, we are so delighted to see your nice impression about our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Enjoyed and excellent stay at this hotel for 5 days in March 2014. Very easy to get to from the airport via the train system. Train stop was right next to the hotel. This was my first trip to Osaka. I was greeted by the friendly and helpful staff. All of the people in Osaka were extremely friendly and helpful. I upgraded to the executive level for approx $30 US per night and boy was it worth it. The room was the same, but having access to the lounge for great snacks and drinks was fantastic. If the lounge was not enough, with executive level upgrade you also have full access to an amazing spa, pool and gym. The spa, sauna and pool were fantastic ! TOP QUALITY ! and fully stocked shaving, hair tonics, aftershave etc... to really finish off the spa experience with class. Also a fantastic resting room with reclining chairs and your own TV. Just amazing experience. Plenty of shops and stores connected to the hotel. A small grocery store also, McDonald, KFC, and a variety of Japanese restaurants....... all within 1 minute of the hotel next to the train station. Great location to walk around the small streets and also the harbor. Just behind the hotel is a nice walk to the lighthouse. Enjoy your stay, I am looking forward to my next visit. The only complaint I had was the room was a little warm....... was told nothing could be done to help that. Other wise, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosco125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We appreciate for your patronage to hotel AGORA Regency Sakai. On behalf of the property, we are so delighted to see your nice impression about our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

great location midway between Kansai Airport and Osaka with direct train to station right next door to hotel.
Was not offered Executive Lounge access even though in same standard room as other business colleagues. When invited for breakfast with them they tried to throw me out and their knowledge of English was so poor it was fortunate my colleagues arrived. I got th emanger up and explined i was having a business meeting and they graciously allowed me to stay up there and have breakfast at no charge. They should train their staff better and immediately introduce English classes

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianinwinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 営業ディレクター at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us.

On behalf of the property, we appologize for your inconvenience due to our staffs' poor English skills. We will try our best to train our staffs as soon as possible to improve the service level.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is not only close to where I needed to do business, but it's also close to PlatPlat, a nice, multi-story shopping complex.

*Great free wifi in the hotel. It's better than my internet in the US!
*Friendly, helpful staff. Incredibly polite and accommodating.
*There is a gym with pool and sauna, but you have to pay anywhere from 2625-4200 JPY for a day pass. I chose to walk around Osaka aimlessly instead.
*The Loop: restaurant on the first floor. Great, varied breakfast from American to Japanese food. Great salads.
*At the shopping mall, I had fun looking at everything from cute kittens in the pet store to buying clothes. You should go! The shops opened at 10AM.
*Rooms: a little old-fashioned, but well-kept and clean. Yes, as the other reviews say, the beds ARE hard. However, I haven't had a bad night's sleep on them yet, and this is my second go-round at this hotel.
*DO get a room on a higher floor for a view of the city. This year I'm on the 18th floor and really enjoying it. Also, the floors are very quiet.
*Bar on first floor: I had drinks there tonight and the bartenders are very conscientious of their customers. It's a nice, low-key place with top-shelf liquor (thank God). However, like all bars I've frequented in Japan, there IS smoking in the bar, so prepare yourself if you're not accustomed to that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, マネージャー at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us.

On behalf of the property, we are delighted to read your review about our hotel.

We would like to recommend you to stay in our executive floor, in order to have an free access to our health club and also to the executive lounge on the top floor on your next visit.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Location- good
Reception- good
restaurant - expensive(food is just ok)
Service-good
Rooms-- think motel 6. Hard tiny beds terrible sheets and comforters. HOT in the rooms and you cant crack the windows.
Didnt sleep for 2 straight nights.
Bathroom was good.
Wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogiekitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊予約課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay with us. We apologize for making you feel uncomfortable about our beddings. We would like to recommend you to use our Executive rooms for your next stay, and we will try our best to provide best services to comfort all the guests our future. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Wise decision to book Agora because they are close to the Nankai Sakai station. A similar hotel in Osaka would be more expensive. We were going to visit Namba and Koyasan as day trips so Agora would be a great base. We bought a Kansai thru pass to cover our train rides. Our room was spacious for Japanese standards as well as the bathroom. Great view of the city from the 18th flr room. Amazed to notice the bathroom mirror did not fog up after taking a shower! First time I experienced this, Only in Japan! Most of the staff speak very little English so its a little hard to communicate requests. But overall we had a great stay.
Also close to Platplat mall. Lots of reasonably priced japanese restaurants, stores to shop. The shinsenkan grocery store was our favorite stop to buy Japanese fruits and bento lunches.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Correen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊予約課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate for your previous stay with us. Our hotel has a very convenient access to both KIX and Osaka City, located 10 minutes away from Namba Station which is well known as a hottest shopping and tourists spot in Osaka, and is directly connected to Sakai Station. We hope you will choose us for your next visit to Osaka, and looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.
hotel AGORA Regency Sakai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sakai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sakai Station
Comfort Hotel Sakai
Comfort Hotel Sakai
#3 of 19 in Sakai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora Regency Sakai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora Regency Sakai

Property: Hotel Agora Regency Sakai
Address: 4-45-1 Ebisujimacho, Sakai-ku, Sakai 590-0985, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Sakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Sakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Agora Regency Sakai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly next to the Sakai train station, Hotel Agora Regency Sakai offers maximum convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is only 24 minutes by train or 35 minutes by Airport Limousine from the Kansai International Airport. The neighborhood has an array of coffee shops, restaurants as well as boutiques and recreation venues, all to be enjoyed without the hassle of travel. The hotel is only 10 minutes’ train ride to Nanba and Tsutenkaku, 24 minutes’ to the Shiosaka Station and 30 minutes’ to USJ. The INTEX OSAKA could also be reached within 15 minutes by taxi. With great convenience and guest rooms bigger than the average size in Japan, Hotel Agora Regency Sakai has now become a popular choice with long stay travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Agora Regency Sakai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Sakai
Hotel Agora Regency Sakai Osaka Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing