We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced room, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Agora Regency Sakai
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Sakai
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Wise decision to book Agora because they are close to the Nankai Sakai station. A similar hotel in Osaka would be more expensive. We were going to visit Namba and Koyasan as day trips so Agora would be a great base. We bought a Kansai thru pass to cover our train rides. Our room was spacious for Japanese standards as well as the bathroom. Great view of the city from the 18th flr room. Amazed to notice the bathroom mirror did not fog up after taking a shower! First time I experienced this, Only in Japan! Most of the staff speak very little English so its a little hard to communicate requests. But overall we had a great stay.
Also close to Platplat mall. Lots of reasonably priced japanese restaurants, stores to shop. The shinsenkan grocery store was our favorite stop to buy Japanese fruits and bento lunches.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Correen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊予約課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We appreciate for your previous stay with us. Our hotel has a very convenient access to both KIX and Osaka City, located 10 minutes away from Namba Station which is well known as a hottest shopping and tourists spot in Osaka, and is directly connected to Sakai Station. We hope you will choose us for your next visit to Osaka, and looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.
hotel AGORA Regency Sakai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Agora Regency Saki is refurbished mid-range hotel. We paid approx $100 AUD per night by booking through woif. The hotel makes a good first impression. The lobby is beautiful however the service was poor and we were left waiting at reception upon arrival. The rooms are large for Japan, clean (although there was some staining on the furniture and carpet) and they have a fantastic view of the city. Unfortunately the linen was old and poor quality although the Pola bathroom products were pleasing. We had to call reception to get the wifi password as it was not provided in the room and we were disappointed that there were addition charges to use the gym and pool (approx 4200 yen per person).

At the end of the day I am happy with the hotel for what we paid however I would be disappointed if I had paid more or if I had wanted a top-end hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_ALB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, マネージャー at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with hotel AGORA Regency Sakai.
On behalf of the property, we are afraid to inform you that our health club asks the hotel guest for extra charges due to that it is a membership health club.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found the rooms are very comfortable,Rooms are clean , the bar was full. Every guest stayed in the Agora Regency Sakai hotel get lovely buffet breakfast each morning rooms are specious in all this is a best location one more thing i want to mention here that the hotel situated in the centre of the city as well as it is also near railway station hence most convenience for business as well as family tour .the food was mixer of western and japanese food mixed to get varity experience .

Room Tip: please book rooms very well in advance so as to enable us to get appropriate rooms especially corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHAVALCHANDRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊予約課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

We appreciate for your patronage to hotel AGORA Regency Sakai. On behalf of the property, we are so delighted to see your nice impression about our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very happy with this hotel. We had a lovely buffet breakfast each morning, staff were lovely and polite.
Room was spacious to Japanese standards with comfy beds and pillows, we slept well but our days were full so that could have helped!
It is well placed to Sakai Station and within the station there is the Plat Plat shopping complex which has some great shops. There is a lovely supermarket with a vast array of fresh sushi, sashimi etc at great prices. There is a Mister Donut shop that sells really yummy donuts - try the choc filled mmm! On an Upper level of Plat Plat is Daiso which is a 105yen store - very cheap with good stuff - even Japanese made crockery and many cheap souvenir items, Japanese food and condiments ( I bought kewpie mayo and Japanese wasabi to bring home) the very top floor has a pet store - kids loved checking out the puppies and watching the dog grooming section.
McDonald's and a good bank/teller machine - just needed to press the English button and all was good!
After busy days sightseeing it was nice the hotel was right at the station!
As a tip, Do get a photocopy of the hotel location/map in Japanese from hotel staff as we did find that some rail staff didn't understand where Sakai Station was, even the written address. Once we showed in Japanese they were able to assist.
One downside for the hotel is the price to use the swimming pool - very expensive and should be free for hotel guests or children at least, as it is generally a free inclusion elsewhere around the world. We were there when it was. Very hot and would have liked a swim to cool off but not at the prices offered!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cracker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊課 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

We appreciate for your patronage to hotel AGORA Regency Sakai. On behalf of the property, we are so delighted to see your nice impression about our hotel. The good location is one of the recommended points of our hotel. On the other hand, our health club is a membership club and we only accept the health club member or hotel guests exclusively; consequently, we have to charge you more than you have expected. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We found the rooms to be large for Japanesse standards, with good clean modern rooms, comfortable beds. The hotel is close to the railway station and the city centre. our breakfast which was included was very good with a mixture of Japanesse and western food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbourneRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, 宿泊課 宿泊予約 at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We appreciate for your patronage to hotel AGORA Regency Sakai. On behalf of the property, we are so delighted to see your nice impression about our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Last time I stayed at the Kansai airport Hotel which is not a very exciting place to stay. I can t say the Agora is much better, however it gives you an idea that you are in Japan. The bar was full, breakfast was efficient and I was 45 minutes closer to my appointment than if I should have been, if stayed at Kansai. The hotel is attached to the Sakai train station which is about 45 minutes journey from Kansai. Room is okay, service up to standard.

Room Tip: smile when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeroen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, マネージャー at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We appreciate for your previous stay with us. Our hotel has a very convenient access to both KIX and Osaka City, located 10 minutes away from Namba Station which is well known as a hottest shopping and tourists spot in Osaka, and is directly connected to Sakai Station. We hope you will choose us for your next visit to Osaka, and looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.
hotel AGORA Regency Sakai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Agora Regency provides a refreshing change from the typically compact (read cramped) Japanese hotel room. The accommodations would be considered luxurious and spacious even by jaded American standards. However, the luxury comes at a price. The hotel is very conveniently located adjacent to the Sakai Nankai railway station and just across the street from the picturesque old port and Ohama Park. The panoramic views from the upper floors are impressive. Definitely worth a one or two night splurge!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank APM_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARSakai, マネージャー at Hotel Agora Regency Sakai, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We appreciate for your patronage to hotel AGORA Regency Sakai. On behalf of the property, we are so delighted to see your nice impression about our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in near future.

hotel AGORA Regency Sakai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sakai
Sakai Station
Comfort Hotel Sakai
Comfort Hotel Sakai
#3 of 21 in Sakai
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Osaka Joytel Hotel
#235 of 354 in Osaka
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agora Regency Sakai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agora Regency Sakai

Address: 4-45-1 Ebisujimacho, Sakai-ku, Sakai 590-0985, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Sakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels / Ryokan in Sakai
Price Range: $97 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Agora Regency Sakai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly next to the Sakai train station, Hotel Agora Regency Sakai offers maximum convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is only 24 minutes by train or 35 minutes by Airport Limousine from the Kansai International Airport. The neighborhood has an array of coffee shops, restaurants as well as boutiques and recreation venues, all to be enjoyed without the hassle of travel. The hotel is only 10 minutes’ train ride to Nanba and Tsutenkaku, 24 minutes’ to the Shiosaka Station and 30 minutes’ to USJ. The INTEX OSAKA could also be reached within 15 minutes by taxi. With great convenience and guest rooms bigger than the average size in Japan, Hotel Agora Regency Sakai has now become a popular choice with long stay travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Agora Regency Sakai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Sakai
Hotel Agora Regency Sakai Osaka Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing