We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lucky find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Sakai
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Sakai
Paddington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lucky find”
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I came into Kansai Airport late evening with little idea and no Japanese except for a booking at the Comfort Hotel in Sakai and with the bare knowledge that Sakai was somewhere in the vicinity of Kansai. Indeed it was on the railway track to Osaka which was the destination of all the trains. Within an hour I was setling into a comfortable room with all the amenities a single traveller could want with the promise of breakfast in the morning.
I was here for 5 days and it set me up for a terrific tour around Japan.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    31
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
12
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SLC Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My brother and I stayed here in April 08 for 4 nights. We totally enjoyed our stay! The beds were comfortable and the hotel was located about 5 minutes from the Sakai train station. The free breakfast is great and the coffee was good. The bathrooms are very small, but it worked out okay...we are both over 6 ft tall :o)

The front desk was a BIG help to us. They spoke pretty good english and helped us out a lot. In the mornings we would tell them where we were headed and they would write down the train stations names we would need to transfer to and from. Getting around for us was the hardest thing to figure out. By the time we left we were pretty comfortable with the trains and subways!!

I would suggest having lot's of YEN - while the hotels take credit cards, most of the small cafes and stores do NOT. We visited Koyoto, Nara and Kobe - Nara was our favorite place!! I think this hotel is great!!

  • Liked — Location to the train station was an easy 5 minute walk.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cghendricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Stayed at the Sakai Comfort Hotel during a trip from Seoul to the Kansai region. The staff was great, they spoke English quite well. Always helped me, even with annoying questions about what is this in Japanese etc. The front desk girls were always willing to find something out for me such as when the Nankai train last stopped or how much yen would it cost to ride the train here and there etc. The room was small but I was in a single, the room was very clean and had a small fridge. The bed and pillow were excellent.
Now the bathtub was smaller but very deep so after pounding the pavement all day in Osaka and Kyoto I was able to take a much needed relaxing bath. There is wireless internet access in every room and a computer in the lobby for guests as well. The complimentary breakfast was very good as well. Crossaints, eggs, espresso, black coffee, yogurt, fruit etc.
I didn't go to it but I noticed that there was a sushi restaurant next door, also there is a washer and dryer in the vending room on the 3rd floor.

To get there I was a little confused being my first time in Japan. But now when exiting the Sakai Station walk up to the front of the main street in front and walk right. You will walk past a bridge and a small stream. You keep walking about 2 blocks or so until you hit a main street with a bunch of palm trees in the middle. Walk down (or go right) You will see it easy as pie. There is also a McDonalds at the Sakai Station, however the menu is in japanese but you can point and the wait staff is very friendly and accomadating.

This is a good hotel for your stay in Kansai, if you arrive from the Kansai airport you can take the Rapid Beta Train which is very comfortable and stops at Sakai and is in English and has a luggage storage place. Unlike the Nankai train which is only in japanese etc. I would definately go back again, I stayed for 3 nights and paid 16,500 yen. $(165.00)

Also it was quiet at night and housekeeping did an excellent job. The alarm clock was easy to use and there is CNN for free on the TV. You can buy a TV pass on any floor to watch movies etc. I never did since I was out and about in Kyoto. I would definately recommend getting the Kansai Thru Pass at the airport for 3 days for 5,000 yen. Cheers!

  • Liked — Breakfast, location, staff
  • Disliked — No pool but thats OK, don't hardly use hotel pools or want to anyway
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cornicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

I stayed here for 4 nights in September 2005.

The hotel is located in Sakai. There is nothing of interest (for a tourist) in the vicinity of the hotel, but the location is still convenient given the low price. You can get to the hotel by taking the private Nankai line from the Namba station. The ride takes about 10 minutes, the hotel is visible from the Sakai station and is a 3 min. walk away. Trains are running every 15-20 minutes.

This is a typical business hotel that offers clean, although small, rooms, free breakfast, a free Internet PC in the lobby and a free WiFi access throughout the hotel. The WiFi connection in my room was unreliable though, so I often had to go with my notebook to the lobby to get stuff done.

The reception is helpful, with English-speaking staff.

I would certainly stay here again when going to Osaka on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FromFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sakai hotels
1.0 mi away
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Sakai Higashi
0.1 mi away
Hotle Sun Plaza Sakai Honkan
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agora Regency Sakai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
APA Hotel Sakai Ekimae
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sun Plaza Sakai Annex
0.1 mi away
Super Hotel Sakai Marittima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Sakai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Sakai

Property: Comfort Hotel Sakai
Address: 1-5-1 Ryujimbashi-cho, Sakai-ku, Sakai 590-0972, Osaka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Sakai > Sakai Station
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Sakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Sakai 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Hotel Sakai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Sakai
Comfort Hotel Sakai Osaka Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing