We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Beach retreat!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Captiva Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robyn F
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
“Fabulous Beach retreat!”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Incredible home .. quick golf cart ride to the beach! Incredible sunrises and sunsets from master bedroom and Birdseye view balcony on top of house! Home is beautifully decorated and has so many great touches! Many lovely screened in porches! Pool is wonderful and refreshing! Home is immaculately clean and so inviting. Beds are luxuriously comfortable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howe728
Crested Butte, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home in Paradise”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this home! It was the perfect house for our family of six. Because this house has two master bedrooms with adjoining bathrooms, and a third bedroom with twin beds, and an adorable nautical bathroom across the hall; it was perfect for my husband and I, my parents, and our two children. It was beautifully decorated with newer furnishings, comfy beds and linens, and a well-equipped kitchen with brand new high-end appliances. The house was very clean and true to pictures. The tile in the kitchen and bathrooms are a bit dated, but we got a kick out of the charming pelican and shell tile. We ate most of our meals on one of the many screened in porches, surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. My husband and I watched sunrises from the upstairs master bed with a cup of coffee, and viewed the amazing sunsets from the crow’s nest deck with 360-degree views. Our days were spent at the nearly deserted gorgeous beaches on the south part of the island, or in the private pool; and our evenings were spent having ping-pong and corn hole tournaments. We had one rainy day, and were grateful for all of the board games and movies that the owners provided. We also enjoyed the Island Club membership with the two large pools and complimentary kayaks. Pick up one of their bikes early, as the bikes in better condition get checked out quickly. This was one of the best family vacations that we have ever had. We will definitely be back to North Captiva and Toes In The Sand!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol S
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed for a week on North Captiva (with two other couples). The home "Toes in the sand" was beautiful and perfect for our group! Very nicely decorated, super clean, kitchen had everything we need - just bring your groceries! We also enjoyed a couple of restaurants on the island. Top deck was great for watching the sunset and we had fun just roaming the island! Very relaxing vacation. Can't wait to make reservation for next year - maybe two weeks this time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peggysD48...
1 review
“Toes in the sand”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house was great loved the porches the pool was dirty house keeping did not do a good job candy wrappers on the floor and it felt gritty when I found the vacuum that was new the container was never emptied and the master shower would not turn off ran all night no hot water for the master bath beautiful tubs but don't work and dirty should inform renters the shower turns on where the water comes out had no idea but over all the house was great

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Thank you for bringing these things to our attention Barbara. We are the new homeowners of #043 Toes In The Sand, and our guest’s comfort is extremely important to us! We are pleased that you enjoyed North Captiva, and the NCIC membership privileges and amenities that we provide. However, we are so very sorry that the property was not properly cleaned when you arrived. This is unacceptable to us. Our property management company now has a new housekeeping supervisor who is doing a wonderful job of overseeing the cleanliness of homes, and a thorough deep cleaning of our home has been done. Including the carpets, tile grout, deck floors, sofa slipcovers, etc. We are also proud to say that we have added many things such as new stainless steel appliances, new kitchen items, new beds/mattresses, new linens, new furniture and decor, new deck and pool furnishings, a fresh coat of paint, a water softener system, a reverse osmosis drinking water system, a new hot water tank, and a new spiral staircase leading to the top floor deck with it’s incredible views. We are very excited to be the new owners of this charming island home, and give it the TLC it deserves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tochdown
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Island, Island Club needs some work”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Property was overall fine. The refrigerator and the golf cart were not working upon our arrival. Both of which were around 10 years old and important parts to stays on North Captiva Island. Our food had to be kept in coolers until the employee refrigerator was put in place of the broken unit. It was cleaned out in our house and we had to put our food into this equally dated unit. Pretty gross all around.
The golf cart did not charge and so we were on foot day 1 until another cart was brought to us day 2. No money or perks were offered as compensation for our issues. In fact the management completely ignored my notifications of the issues.

The issues with the rental management company kept going however. This is a unique rustic island that honestly might be better the way it is, but a few upgrades could greatly enhance the experience. If possible rent a home privately and not with the island club due to amenities. The bikes are mostly broken and unkept with 4 hour limits, golf carts are mostly broken and unkept, kayaks have a 4:30pm due in time, when evenings are some of the best time to enjoy the water. It is kinda like a all poorly run all inclusive resort or a socialist economy. All is free but not very nice.
Our friends with private rental homes via VRBO for example had very nice amenities with nice golf carts, bikes, and kayaks.
The best part of the Rental club is the dates for availability are much better than VRBO sites that are not updated as often. If the island club can figure out how to upgrade their product then it could be worth it, but that is not anytime soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing