We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
$81
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
$80
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,160)
Filter reviews
2,160 results
Traveler rating
770
697
402
188
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
770
697
402
188
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest hillsgarden restaurantleisure facilitiessteam roombeautiful locationrafters bistromain restaurantafternoon teaevening mealexecutive roomboth nightsself cateringwaiting staffbottle of wineloch viewrelaxing stayamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,992 - 1,997 of 2,160 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This was our second visit. On this visit our room was in the older part of the hotel. The room was clean and lovely decorated. We had evening meals in both the bistro and restaurant. Other than the decor and ambiance the food was excellent and staff brilliant in both locations. The bistro was very well organised and run by the supervisor, nothing was a problem for him, he made sure everyone was being looked after. The main resturant was also organized to run like clockwork. I wish I could say all the staff were welcoming, however I witnessed one girl on reception on saturday afternoon let the team down. When asked by a guest about booking the resturant she was short with them and when another guest asked about the spa she was short with him also, as if he should have known the answer to the quetionc Once the guest left she then mocked him with the other receptionist. This was the only time I witnessed the staff being unprofessional.
I would highly recommend this hotel to those who are looking for a good location with lovely surrondings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happylad3046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Recently decided to go here with my wife for our wedding anniversary. As previous comments the hotel is a bit dated, but a good paint job would be a good fix. Service, Accommodation where 1st class. Well here comes the good bit, the food, absolutely brilliant, credit to the chef and all staff within the restaurant. To top the trip off the scenery was breathtaking. Highly recommended and will be back. Thanks MacDonald Hotels fo a truly wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevisitor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This was the second week of a back-to-back timeshare fortnight staying in the self-catering flats; the first week was spent 30 miles away at Cameron House on Loch Lomond.

Forest Hills rises above the north shore of Loch Ard: a quiet Trossachs loch 4 miles to the west of Aberfoyle. Forest Hills is relatively remote: there is no mobile phone reception at the resort and the road leads to a dead end on the north-east shore of Loch Lomond. To drive to anywhere else you have to go back to Aberfoyle, where there is a small Co-op that will probably cover most shopping needs.

The resort, run by the Macdonald hotel group, comprises a 1930s hotel on the west side, the bar/bistro/gym/pool complex to the north, and the timeshare flats to the east: about 600 yards from west to east. The flats are in 2 or 3 storey blocks with trees and gardens between blocks; the south side of the lounge of each flat has a full-length french window that leads out onto a balcony. In other words, each flat has an excellent uninterrupted all-weather view of the gardens and the far side of Loch Ard.

Our flat was comfortable and clean with a sauna and well-stocked kitchen (no washing machine), but some of the furnishings were looking a little tired. The electricity meter was read the day before departure with a cost of £12.

After a busy time the previous week at Cameron House, we enjoyed a quiet local week at Forest Hills. We took up the Macdonald advance purchase offer of paying £75 for £100 in restaurant vouchers. The publicity encourages you to reserve restaurant tables even before you arrive, but on arrival we were told to charge all meals to the flat and use the vouchers in part-payment at the end of the week. This gave us flexibility on both timing and what we ate: we did not have to try to match the £25 vouchers to each meal. We preferred the main restaurant to the bistro - far better views for not much of a price difference. The 3 course set menu with coffee at £33 per head was good value for the quality of food and service. The restaurant allowed a couple at the next table to drink, with their meal, the complimentary bottle of wine waiting in the flat at the start of the week.

The activity programme is comprehensive and varied - from guided walks to whisky tasting; we enjoyed the 3 hr farm tour and Scottish history talk that takes place at the adjacent farm: 15 mins walk or 2 mins drive.

Comparison with the first week (identical good weather for both weeks):
- Cameron House: bigger, busier and dearer. Luxurious lodge but sparse on china/cutlery and heavy electricity cost. No midges.
- Forest Hills: quiet, compact and cheaper. Comfortable flat with splendid view, plenty of china/cutlery and fair electricity cost. Biting midges galore!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We visited here in late june for a friend's wedding. We picked it purely for its proximity to the wedding venue at Altskeith House. However, we were not disappointed.

Very comfortable kingsize feature room with balacony.

A welcoming and very relaxing place, perhaps a little old fashioned or some may say dated and definitely not trendy or boutique but the place has a lovely quietly efficient, friendly and welcoming air about it that makes it a great base to enjoy the stunning scenery around you. Almost like stepping back in time.

Loch Lomond is only a stone's throw away and Aberfoyle is a charming little village. And you're in the Trossach's National Park so plenty of walking and outdoor activities to be found locally.

In the summer months (june to August) - beware the dreaded Scottish Midgey! Out in force with their sharp little nashers!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteadyNeddy1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We just loved Forest Hills. The location is truly wonderful and the facilities are great. The staff are very welcoming and the food and drink second to none.

The only downside if there is one is the long drive from Stirling which, if you are wanting to sightsee seems to have to be driven each time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews