We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)(Great Value!)
$69
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
$81
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$80
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
$80
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
$64
$58
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,160)
Filter reviews
2,160 results
Traveler rating
770
697
402
188
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
770
697
402
188
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest hillsgarden restaurantleisure facilitiessteam roombeautiful locationrafters bistromain restaurantafternoon teaevening mealexecutive roomboth nightsself cateringwaiting staffbottle of wineloch viewrelaxing stayamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,478 - 1,483 of 2,160 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Lovely setting , big comfy bed, spa ,dinner , bed and breakfast, good food, champagne and chocolates. All for £99 for the two of us . What's not to like? £25 to take the dog!!!!!! Nothing provided for dog what so ever . No bowl, food or even a blanket for her to lie on. I pointed this out to the Hotel receptionist and was told that they only recently started taking dogs. (Last year) She agreed that in proportion to the cost of two people the dog charge was a bit high!!!!!! A BIT!!! We would not go back asI feel that they are giving the impression that they do not want the dog there. It is in a beautiful part of the country and we walked for miles why would anyone go and not take their dog with them. We went on to Oban and stayed in the Regent Hotel where they also provided nothing for her but they charged us nothing for her stay.

Room Tip: Loch View is stunning at any level.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for psoting such a postive review following your visit to Forest Hills to celbrate your Ruby Wedding, congratulations from us all.
I am sorry if you felt the charge to bring your dog was disproportionate to the price you apid to stay, this was a very special offer for a limited time.
The charge is in place purely to cover any additional cleaning that the bedrooms may require following occupancy by a dog as sadly not all owners are considerate to our furnishings! Please be assured that dogs are very welcome at the hotel and we will consider the practicalities of providing bowls and bedding as these would require laundering and washing after each use.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at this hotel. We arrived at 3pm and our room was ready and clean and comfortable. TheWe loved the feature room with balcony and beautiful Loch Ard and Ben Lomond views. Dressing gown and slippers for wearing over to the leisure centre was a nice touch. We booked DB&B so didn't notice garden restaurant prices. As we were given a £10 voucher to spend on drinks we paid only a pound extra for 2 glasses of wine with dinner. The food was delicious, everything cooked perfectly. The serving staff were very polite and attentive too. We checked out the Bistro bar & restaurant but weren't so taken with that. The leisure centre was lovely and clean and very quiet and my husband enjoyed his spa treatment very much. We especially loved the location, it's a very comfortable hotel and we will most definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Elliec98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your wonderful comments.We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
If you are planning on visiting us again , please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be more than happy to assist you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent one night on a groupon deal and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was large and comfortable and clean. The Bistro was closed so we ate in the lounge area having decided that the dinner cost was a bit prohibitive and £29 for two courses BUT £3.50 for sides which we thought excessive.Food was perfectly OK in lounge.
Staff were extremely personable and welcoming and we rate the break highly

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rals2nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a positive review follwing your recent stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa.
I am delighted that you found the faciltiies to be clean and welcoming and you enjoyed the food in the lounge.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I just returned from this hotel after a couple of days cycling in the Trossachs. We booked a deal for two nights with breakfast included but decided to upgrade to a executive king size with loch side view (well worth it). We checked out reviews before coming and the room we were allocated had some bad reviews "Too Noisy" was the main complaint. Thankfully it was peaceful & clean with a beautiful view of the Grounds and Loch ard and to the right of our window a view of Ben Lomond still with a little snow on top.

We also booked the meal packages for both nights and ate in the garden restaurant both nights. The staff were pleasant and attentive and the food was delicious although after a second day of cycling up the dukes pass i could have eaten six courses. My only complaint would be the drink prices, quite steep.

The spa facilities nice and the staff helpful and friendly, we left our bikes in their care for the couple of days we stayed.

Overall, nothing much to complain about i'll reserve the moaning until i go back to work ;) Would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive comments . We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Forest hills Hotel and Spa. Also well done on the Dukes Pass cycle, its a steep climb!
I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
I hope the return to work did not cuase too much stress but you know where to come when you need another break.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed with another two couples. We arrived after 4pm and were given our room keys, when we went up to the room we found dirty, wet towels on the bathroom floor and the bed unmade...I contacted reception straight away and we were asked to "give them half an hour to sort it". We went back downstairs and made ourselves known to reception but were not even offered so much as a cup of tea while we waited for our room to be ready.

Went to the Bistro for a pre-booked meal with our friends, there were 6 of us in total and a table was booked for 6 people. We were shown to a table with five seats and place settings - I pointed out there were six of us and the waitress was really cheeky and unhelpful. Food was okay, nothing spectacular. Service was slow, and we were then rushed by the staff who said they needed our table for another party (despite the restaurant being half empty).

Hotel staff were not much better, drinks service was slow, we had to chase the waiting staff several times to get our drinks.

Breakfast was okay but to be honest we were just wanting to leave, we wouldn't go back at all and it spoiled a much-looked-forward to weekend with friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annabanana2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments following your recnet stay with us and I am very sorry to learn of your poor experiences. Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case.
If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly by emailing me at gm.foresthills@macdonald-hotels.co.uk , I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve the outstanding issue for you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews