We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great potential...”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at the Forest Hills at the end of October 2012, for a couple of nights after our wedding. booked a four poster bed room with a view. The Hotel is in a fantastic setting and the countryside was in its Autumn colours, stunning! When we arrived we wondered into reception,it had a plush feel to it, wooden panels, big comfy arm chairs, open fires etc. this is a similar standard to the sitting and dinning rooms we entered during our stay.

We were shown to our room located on the wing directly behind the reception, once through the door off reception the place had a very different feel, worn and outdated decor, gloomy lighting and it has seen its best days a long time ago. I did start to worry about the standard of our room.

The room was big and comfortable, clean, a little dated perhaps, but not in the same league as the corridors and stair wells we walked up to get to it. I was a little disappointed that we had not been informed about scaffolding on the building, we still had the stunning view but there was half a dozen scaffold poles sticking up which did take the edge off it a bit.

At the price we paid, indeed even for considerably less, I would expect free wifi access as standard, not so at the Forrest Hills. No mobile reception is available in the area so I couldn't get away with 3G, not that this is the Hotels fault.

The gym and spa facilities are good, fresh and clean, with snooker and ping pong tables also available. There are lovely grounds with duck ponds,streams, lawns etc. There was obviously considerable external works programmed, looked like cladding, roof titles and windows are being replaced on the central portion of the Hotel. There was no one working while we were there so thankfully no noise issues.

I did have to drive around in circles a few times trying to get a car parking place during busy times.

Friends had booked us in and paid for meal in the Lomond suite as a Wedding gift, it was very enjoyable, fantastic service, I think they charge about £35 a head for 3 courses. My wife asked for a cup of green tea after dinner, they charged me £4 for that, which seemed a little steep after a £35 a head meal.
Mcdonalds did phone me prior to our stay to offer a meal discount if we pre booked, I think it was £25 for the 3 courses, but I didn't take them up on the offer. But this probably a fair deal for the main restaurant.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area for the outdoor enthusiast, mountain biking, walking, go ape adventure and I think you can book clay pigeon shooting.

We enjoyed our stayed but I think the Hotel needs to get a team of decorators to set about some sections of the Hotel to bring it up to a standard more in keeping with the prices they charge. I would also expect a slightly higher level of attention to detail in the rooms - wobbly taps, missing drawer handles, lose curtains, but it was otherwise a clean and comfortable stay. I hope they up there game when renovation works are complete.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baahumbug26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    659
    370
    174
    91
See reviews for
561
1,072
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kincardine by alloa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

been a owner for years ,and watched this lovely complex go down hill .Started off making me feel I had hit the jackpot now I am stuck with something a holiday camp would not get away with ,the matteress are stained and the french bed is a joke ,my dog has a thicker layer to lye on ,they up graded ?? the swimimg pool and hot water tub if you have any trouble with your legs you have no chance getting in or out

Room Tip: ben lomond views lovely but you have to have muscles to heave your luggage up to, porters are very t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tulliallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is situated in the most perfect of location overlooking Loch Ard it has beautiful grounds and even more breathtaking views if you go out and about for a walk in Queen Elizabeth Forrest. The hotel is a little tired our room was spotlessly clean with fanastic views of the loch but the carpet and curtains were definately in need of a refurb we paid extra for a executive king room in the appartently newly refurbished part of the hotel but the only part of the room that had been refurbed in the last few years was the bathroom! Also paid a dinner bed and breakfast rate which includes £25 a head (please note this rate does not include any drinks just food), we ate in the rafters bar & bistro food was nice enough but a bit of like eating in a cafe attached to the leisure facilities. If your looking for a great lunch or coffee & cake just pop out of the hotel and take a right and visit the Wee Blether Tearooms an utter gem hidden away and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous33103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I went to this hotel for one of their Spa Sleepovers.

The Spa was fantastic and I'd highly recommend a visit as the staff were extremely friendly and the treatments were excellent. The leisure facilities were also excellent.

The hotel however was disappointing. I found the service at afternoon tea quite terrible as the waitress had a really bad attitude and was very unwelcoming. Service at dinner was much better and the food was enjoyable. The room was perfectly adequate but nothing special - a little dusty and some of the facilities were not working, e.g. telephone, bathroom lock, and the towels looked as though they had been in use for years. At breakfast, a long queue had formed for tables - as though the hotel had taken in more guests than it could manage.

Overall - well worth a day visit to the spa but probably wouldn't want to stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fantastic Day Spa and beauty therapists, so relaxing, great pool, sauna and steam room and jacuzzi, staff so friendly and eager to help, they do fantastic lunches and cream teas surrounding views breathtaking the hotel overlooks Loch Ard any time of the year is beautiful lovely walks around the grounds and local area definately a hotel to visit time and time again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 784didi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A lovely hotel overlooking Loch Ard in the middle of the Perthshire Hills, what else would anyone want, even in a Scottish October. The situation of the hotel is so well placed that you could do anything you liked. Swimming Pool, gym, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and beautiful grounds. I came out of the spa facility feeling amazingly at ease with myself and immediately came to the conclusion that when ( not if) we came back, this was something not to be missed. Across the road you can get your hands on any kind of outdoor activity from archery to quad biking, from canoeing to orienteering and the hills around the hotel - just what the doctor ordered after a week in the office - fresh air in abundance.

Room Tip: Expect the unexpected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romandalkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed with my Wife and Son for two nights at this hotel. The room was very comfortable -bed and bathroom facilities were great and the room was quite large.
We ate both nights in the hotel but the first was in the bistro and the second in the restaurant. The bistro was terrible - the service was probably up there with the worst I've ever experienced. The food was pretty ordinary also.
I was dreading the second night in the restaurant but I soon found out that this was to be a totally different experience. Five adults and 3 children dined together and the service and meals were absoulutely fantastic.
The hotel is set in a beautiful location and the facilities were good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brolga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
11.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
407 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing