We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Fine Dining With Unusually Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Fine Dining With Unusually Good Service”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We've eaten in the restaurant at The Forest Hills three times recently, and each time it has not failed to delight everyone in our party. As self-confessed foodies we're generally slighly hard to please, but on our first visit the quality of the food and service hugely exceeded our expectations. It really was a contender for a Michelin grading in my view, if not a star then at least a Bib Gourmand. We went twice more, for some reason thinking maybe we'd just been lucky the first time, but the staff and management have got it right. They can deliver a fine dining experience on a consistent basis. And the setting is wonderful too, in a west-facing conservatory looking at the sunset over Loch and Ben Lomond. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HabitatCafeAberfeldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    650
    362
    169
    86
See reviews for
549
1,049
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We had a marvelous three day stay just before easter, where we found the food the staff and the hotel with all the facilities and of-course the beautiful scenery, just wonderful. One of the most uplifting facets of our holiday was the General Managers hands on approach. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackt0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Had a beautiful 2 days at this hotel - travelled with my husband, young daughter and parents. The weather was fabulous, which enhanced the already stunning views over the loch and hills. The grounds are beautiful, and are great for children to explore. The food in the restaraunt is fabulous, dinner and breakfast. The service is great, and accommodate children very well. There was a colouring set in the room for my daughter.
The pool & spa facilities are excellent. Times for adults only, plus times for the kids to play.
I agree that rafters bar could do with an overhaul, but the main hotel is peaceful and very relaxing.
Will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view. A few balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2011

After a very disappointing stay in a castle near Edinburgh the two nights before this, we were really pleased with our stay here.

Elements of this hotel are a bit tired and faceless (in a 'big chain hotel in a recession' kind of way), but the small things here make the difference:
- a 6ft bed, plus a sofa bed and travel cot, and still enough room to move about (plenty of room for the kids in the bed with us too which came in handy most nights)
- colouring pads and shaped bubble bath packs for the kids on arrival
- a REALLY positive, friendly, helpful attitude from all of the staff we met (without exception)
- use of the pool and sports facilities in the resort complex, including a family changing room
- a small playpark onsite
- a delicious, varied breakfast included in the room price, taken in the dining room with BREATHTAKING views over the loch (and with a clean high chair as well)

We will definitely go back - the main draw other than the views is definitely the pool as it's great to wear the kids out before the car trips to visit the surrounding areas.

My one request to the resort would be to allow kids into the pool before 9am as there's not enough time to give them breakfast and have it settle before that, and it's a bit of a rush to get to breakfast for 10am otherwise.

Thanks for your excellent hospitality. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SettledWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We booked rooms number 10 on ground floor and 111 on first floor. No view of gardens or loch in front of hotel, this was promised on booking from the main booking centre. We instead viewed the car park. The room above room 10 on first floor, re bounds every possible noise to room 10, and although staff at reception acknowledge this, did nothing. Do not book or accept room 10. I also agree with the very unhappy customer whom has written a report, from 9am until around 3pm every day on the ground floor, the cleaners rather large trolley sits in the corridor, the 2 cleaners rooms wide open, letting out not the nicest of smells, this is not what I would expect of a 4 start hotel. This again was acknowledged by reception but nothing done about it.

We paid £178 per room per night, dinner for adults only, our party was 2 adults and 3 children. For this large sum of money I do not believe the hotel offered good value. The rooms were large and clean and food of a high standard, but because of the other issues it spoiled our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cameron240197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

For location, service & staff this hotel can not be faulted - the hills and loch are on a par with New Zealand, plus Stirling, Glasgow, Loch Lomond etc are not far away.

One small problem - it is in dire need of refurbishment, we stayed in one of the SC lodges and it looked and smelt like my grand parents old home. The carpets, windows and paint work need replacing / re-doing. Why oh why have they got the bistro overlooking the pool instead of the loch !!!

With a bit of work and money this could be one of the best hotels in the whole of the UK.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mercerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHillsmanager, Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate the feedback and thank you for the compliments to our service and staff.
We fully appreciate the points that you made regarding the lodge accomodation and can assure you that we are continually upgrading all 65 of our Lodges in order to maintain our current ratings. I will pass your comments on to our Property Manager for review and consideration when planning future phases of re-development.
I was interested to hear your point regarding our Bistro and fully understand that a Loch view would be far superior, I am sure that you are aware that we have a wonderful longe and dining room at the front of the hotel which enjoy views of Loch Ard and Ben Lomond.
In addition to this we have a superb terrace which overlooks our gardens and the mountains as an outside option.
Once again thank you for taking the time and trouble to post the feedback, hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Yours sincerely,


Andrew Seal
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2011

After spending two days here, I honestly can't wait to go back!
It's beautiful setting, surroundings and views just woes you to start with.
I think it could do with a little updating in areas but it gives it character too!
The spa, pool, sauna etc are great (modern facilities).
Meal prices were fair enough, drinks were extortionate!!
Not sure which way you see it, but no mobile phone signal at all in the hotel or within about a 10 min drive from hotel!
The staff were amazing, friendly, helpful and we thourougly enjoyed our stay - I will certainly go back very soon!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazzysOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing