We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$138
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel(Luss)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
$132
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Long Hotel(Arrochar)(Great Value!)
$99
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arrochar Hotel(Arrochar)
$63
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,180)
Filter reviews
2,180 results
Traveler rating
775
702
409
190
104
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
702
409
190
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest hillsgarden restaurantleisure facilitiessteam roombeautiful locationrafters bistromain restaurantafternoon teaevening mealexecutive roomboth nightsself cateringwaiting staffbottle of wineloch viewrelaxing stayamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
1,964 - 1,969 of 2,180 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2011

First impressions of a rather tired old hotel were dismissed at the attentiveness of all the staff. Travelling with an elderly relative is never easy, but we were given a ground floor room near all the facilities. No one rushed us and the spa staff, particularly, were very understanding! The room was in first class condition, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It proved too warm overnight, but that was soon sorted out. The views were great; very peaceful. The two nicely-upholstered chairs by the window were well used!

The food in the restaurant was very nice; small portions, but beautifully cooked - and a nice choice; extremely good service by the waiters. As is usual in a Macdonalds hotel, the wine and spirits bump up the price horrendously, so bear that in mind as you relax!

I look forward to returning in the future and using the hotel as a base for walking; this was not possible for my first visit. There is much to explore in the vicinity as there is such wonderful scenery.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Married at the hotel, the staff, food, amenities, beautifully kept grounds and view all ensured my daughter's wedding day was everything she hoped it would be. The guests and wedding party stayed for the weekend and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and superb hospitality provided by the Manager and his friendly and professional team.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megnkirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My wife and I had two great days here even though the weather was poor.The pool was not huge, but large enough for a dip, sauna and steam room were as you would expect at any of these leasure centres.Food was great and very tastey We also had afternoon tea which was top class, the scones being made to order. All staff were very courteous especialy the on duty manager who I kidded the life out of.If you want to try a whisky go for the Higland Park eighteen year old, it was top class and a great introduction to this Scottish drink. Thanks for a great time.Some people will complain about the most trival things.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie_gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I read a number of reviews on this Hotel before I booked it.
We decided at the last minute to book for an overnight stay on Saturday 2nd April.
From the minute we arrived we were made very welcome and special.
I agree that there are a few areas that need attention. The room we had was very spacious and clean. There were a few specks of dust here and there but it was very comfortable. We had an evening meal and it was very good. The breakfast and the choice was excellent. Staff were very attentive and overall we were made to feel special.
The Hotel was very busy but the staff all coped well.
We will definately go back and would certainly reccomend you to give it a go we did and really enjoyed the experience it was not a plastic hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonne_sharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Myself and Hubby stayed here on the weekend before valentines and thought we had checked into the wrong hotel! Let me say firstly that the room we had was lovely, but the bathroom needed a good scrub. The leisure facilities were ok although you would get to know someone really well in the very small hot tub. The pub was like something out of the "Twilight Zone", an enormous space leftover from several incarnations of the site, old ice rink was really spooky! "Posh" restaurant was like something from an old folks home. The pattern of the 1970s carpet would give you a migraine! Worst problem however, and I hate to be indelicate here, but if you require ladies items due to mother nature putting in an early appearance - forget it! On enquiring at the reception was told that Mr MacDonald does not approve of these items being "on view". On complaining to the manager I was informed that " there use to be some machines but they were taken away when the leisure facilites were expanded". So BEWARE and make sure you have some with you! You will also need an umbrella for the corridor between the accommodation and the restaurant as the place is so run down water drips on your head as you walk to the dining room. Best advice for the money - go to Auchrannie Spa, they open the shop if you need something!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBee023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews