We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DOC White Horse Hill campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent two nights in Campervan on this site. Typical DOC site with clean toilets and water but surroundings were so gorgeous. Lots of hiking trails from the site, definitely my favourite spot during my travels on South Island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pacyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

50 tent sites? Yeah right. When I arrived there were nowhere near 50 tent sites - nor were there that many tents actually set up and at the time most people were settling down for their dinner etc, yet all the DOC registration forms were all gone, so where did they all go?. Lots of self-contained campervans etc parked up taking spots where those who are camping with tents should be able to park.
DOC needs to rectify this by having separate parking areas for those with campervans and those who don't.
The ground is rocky and uneven, sites are not clearly marked. I know it's a first come first served basis however DOC's information is far too vague. It's a pity because the grounds are located in such a beautiful area close to all tracks. Facilities are pretty good considering it's regarded as a basic camp site. There is room for improvement though. 10 bucks per person per night.
I've slept in nicer spots for free - thousands of feet above sea level! Come on DOC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bivvy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's a DOC campground so you don't expect nice facilities, you're coming for the scenic ! And this one is a really good value.
You are really in the middle of the Alps mountains with a direct view on Mount Cook.
We had the chance (?) to have snow overnight and woke up in the middle of it.
A good scenic DOC with basic facilities: toilets and a common area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed overnight at white horse hill. Arriving in the rain we decided to check out the doc centre and the Edmund Hillary museum however both we're closed. Instead we returned to the campsite and enjoyed the surrounds while hooking into some cheese and dips. Despite the rain it was easy to appreciate how lovely the surrounding area was and we woke up to a beautiful mostly sunny morning (see photos attached).

The site has a range of campsites to chose from and three toilet blocks however two were closed for winter as per the previous reviewers comments. Despite this the toilets and kitchen area were well maintained, the ease of access to fresh water and a dump station at the site was also fantastic. The site is central to a number of walks in the area which is also very convenient. All in all a good campsite.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KatanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Drive as far as you can go up the Hooker Valley and you're there - this large DOC site is in a stunning setting, and mid Winter we were the only overnighters - splendid isolation! There are a couple of interesting shorter walks in the general area if you need to stretch the legs, and a very impressive DOC centre just up the road in Mount Cook village.
The cooking / dining building is very large, but one thing I did find unusual was the locked toilets (closed for Winter) - didn't encounter this anywhere else, and made the $10 per person fee a little steep. You'll probably need chains in Winter too (see pic) as it gets pretty icy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The sourrounding is breathtaking. In the night you can hear the noise of the glacier. From the campside you will find three different footpaths. One is very steep and will bring you to the Mueller Hut. The price per person is 10 NZD, but you will find a lot of space in the shelter, where you can cook, also a lot of toilets. Warning - next morning they will check, whether you have paid. In the small town you will find public showers, just ask at the info. The road to the campside is also scenic! I think you don't need a reservation, there is a lot of space. If you are not sure, you can call them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Math_83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were advised to look at Lake Tekapo on the way to Mount Cook, great, but the best lake was the one we drove round to get here, Lake Pukaki, fantastic start to a great campsite. A long road to get to the foot of the mountains but well worth it. The campsite is, as most DOC sites are, quite basic, water not to be drunk etc and toilets, well, whatever. If you are self contained these sites are the best to stay on. We actually witnessed an avalanche in the evening which was amazing.
Having done a huge walk to the foot of Mount Cook over swing bridges, rocks, climbing, paddling etc (supposedly one of their easy walks!!!) to see Icebergs etc, it was just great sitting by the mountains with a beer taking in the magnificent scenery. Would really recommend this site to any fellow camper.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
0.0 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
2,003 reviews
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DOC White Horse Hill campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DOC White Horse Hill campsite

Address: 2.5 km from Mt Cook village at the end of Hooker Valley Rd off SH 80, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing