We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views”

Hooker Valley Track
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The sights along the track was simply amazing. The track took us longer than expected and it gets crowded near the first swing bridge (some people turn back here). It would be best to wear shoes with hard soles as many portions of the track was gravel filled. It becomes slightly annoying after some time but overall it was manageable. Most reviewers found the track easy but as someone who hardly hikes, the terrain was not very friendly though by no means was it difficult. Good footwear is a definite must! I am afraid of heights so the swing bridges were quite a challenge. Thankfully there are handles should you need to have a grip on something.

There is a rest shelter with toilet facilities midway through the trek and it was well stocked. To my surprise, the toilets were in a clean condition.

The views were fantastic and this is a must try if you are in area. You will not regret it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    84
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent short walk”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great views. Terminal face of the glacier. Icebergs in the lake. The walking track was rocky and uneven but very managable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Amazing views all along the way”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We loved this walk. The views were jaw dropping as we clambered over vast swinging bridges. Wear shoes with hard soles as the trail is one that can be hard on feet given the cobble. Nice to have a small toilet about halfway!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had great weather when we stayed in Mount Cook village which meant that we were able to do this walk late evening and watch the sun setting on the mountain. I thought these were the best views that we got of Mount Cook from the more popular walks.

The valley is lovely and the views keep opening up. I imagine with more flowers out it would be really spectacular. And the swingbridges are entertaining.

This was my favourite walk of those we did from Mount Cook village and I would do it again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMrsA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice view at the end but nothing much along the way”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Perhaps it was because the sun wasn't out so the sceneries didn't look anything out of ordinary. Probably more fun if you just like to do some hiking and this one has some uphills.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinywingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hooker Valley Track also viewed

Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
 

Been to Hooker Valley Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing