We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hot to eat”

Global Thai Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 49 Restaurants in Whakatane
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Waihi Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too hot to eat”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The option of Thai and European food was good for the kids. I ordered mild and so did my mother-in-law and it was so hot we couldn't eat it. We were told to order extra mild next time. The service was slow too. Wouldn't go back in a hurry.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachFamily000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    50
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“whanau luncheon”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We recently booked Chintana and her staff and restaurant for our whanau luncheon for 50 people (children included). We were very impressed with the good friendly service, the lovely relaxed atmosphere and the beautifully cooked meal. We were given a full buffet luncheon which was good value for money. Thanks to all the staff for a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosivdapirt586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The two of us went out for a birthday dinner here and I was very impressed with the service. I had made a reservation that morning for 7 however called to apologise that we were going to be late and this was well received.
When we got there we were shown straight to our window table and after having only sat for about 1 minute max we had been offered water and ordered beer, this came immediately! They were extremely busy this night too!! Once we had ordered our starter we were told that these wouldn't be long however the mains may be a long wait due to the huge party also there but this was not the case as they were also delivered swiftly!!!

We ordered the mixed thai entree which was yum however all deep fried so probably skip if you are on a diet haha!!
Green curry and pad thai were the mains and they were also tasty however be careful as the pad thai is served with chilli flakes on the side and I awesomely took a forkful of these!! I had been warned but was too keen to dig in!!

All around very happy with the night and we will definitely be returning with more people.

Also enjoyed seeing the owners very tolerant of customers with children , we don't have any bit it was nice that people can bring them and not have to stress !

Sorry about long review but very impressed

Helpful?
Thank KbarbaraD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Arrive in style with the Tuk Tuk”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Love to take our visitors to this Restaurant, we order the free Tuk Tuk and then we can enjoy our meal and wine (we BYO) without driving home as the Tuk Tuk takes you home too! Their food is very yummy, I had their crispy duck last time and thoroughly enjoyed it, could not push dessert in though so we all shared one of their delicious desserts. We have been a number of times and of course will go again.
Robyn

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner with family”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Visited here for dinner with family members! Good range of dishes and helpful staff! Love the T-bone steak and large portions for the nephews! Thai selection very tasty!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Global Thai Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Global Thai Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing