We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
69
16
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
69
16
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water beach bird life flora and fauna great trip seal colony a short boat ride highly recommend this trip to anyone four hours endangered species informative guide booking office interesting trip low tide new zealand pod of dolphins saddleback tuatara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2019

Moutohora Island, Bay of Plenty - Spent a great four hours on a cruise to Moutohora Island, a dormant volcano and wildlife sanctuary about 8km off the coast from Whakatane in New Zealand’s Bay of Plenty. The boat trip took 20 minutes and once we disembarked at the island, our guide, Kelsey took us through the lovely New Zealand bush in search of native birds and Tuatara – New Zealand’s mini dinosaur-like lizard. We saw and heard many birds – saddleback, tui and kakariki (native parakeet), but unfortunately no tuatara, only their nesting holes. We climbed to the island’s saddle hoping for the spectacular views of White Island but that island was draped in haze! Back on the beach, we ate our lunch and those who wanted to went for a swim. This beach has a natural hot water spring which bubbles up by the shore at low tide – very unique. Then it was back on board and back to base. Altogether a lovely day and not to be missed if you’re in the Bay of Plenty. It is recommended you wear enclosed shoes (not jandals), take a warm jacket, drink bottle, sun protection, camera and a small towel to dry your feet as landing on the island may involve stepping into shallow water.
If you like my review, I hope you'll click the 'Helpful' button; those of us who write reviews love to get them and it motivates us to do more.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank wendhmagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Kia ora Wendhmagz,
Thank you for taking the time to post this comprehensive review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Moutohora: Island Sanctuary with us and the chance to witness New Zealand's bush as nature intended it - pest free!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Our tour time was changed to the afternoon which meant we had lovely weather to enjoy a beautiful island. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable- one a zoologist and the other a geologist so an ideal combination. We saw Tui and Saddlebacks and heard Kiwi and saw their tracks. The small tour size (12) meant the trip felt intimate. Nice that some of the ticket price supports DOC and the coast guard.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Kia ora Nicola B,
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your recent tour to Moutohora: Island Sanctuary with us. We think she is a pretty special place, so it was great to hear that you came away appreciating the uniqueness too! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Our 1st visit to this part of the country and we are NZers fr S Is. The trip was recommended by a friend and it did not disappoint. There was plenty to see and the explanations were adequate. Unfortunately our guide did say he normally guides on White Is. Most on the trip were NZers or ‘ex-NZers so we were familiar with the flora and fauna.. The boat trip in itself was stunning as we went out of the river mouth and we saw Elephant Rock on the Is. The walk on the Island was well paced with stops to ’investigate’ traps. And we were able to spot many wide varieties of birdlife. Having a swim at the hot beach and Pacific Sea at that time of the year was a bonus. It was humbling to know that some of our money go towards protecting the sanctuary.. The Choc Afghan at the end was a very much appreciated gesture. Tks! Will recommend!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank C2MeiD613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Kia ora C2MeiD613,
We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent tour to Moutohora with us, and thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

The Moutohora Island Sanctuary tour with Peejay was amazing. Really great tour! Our guide Fiona was very informative, friendly and passionate.
The island is beautiful, peaceful and lush - and the views are fantastic. The work done to keep the island's beauty is inspiring - well done!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Clubbix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2018

Hi Clubbix,
We're a big fan of Moutohora, so it was great to hear that we have a new member of the fan club! Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2018

An excellent trip done with work colleagues. Luck gave us a perfect day and the chance to see a pod of dolphins on the trip out and back. It's a short boat ride and then a guided hike (not hard work at all) on the island. We had time to go for a swim on a hot-water beach (geothermal water vents providing the hot water). Beautiful views and a great day. Very friendly crew. A really great trip to do.

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank SJRobinson306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hi SJRobinson306,
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour to Moutohora Island with us, including the opportunity to see a pod of dolphins, the swim at sulphur bay, and guide bush-walk, and thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews