We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
69
16
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
69
16
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water beach bird life flora and fauna great trip seal colony a short boat ride highly recommend this trip to anyone four hours endangered species informative guide booking office interesting trip low tide new zealand pod of dolphins saddleback tuatara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 91 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2018

The main thing I wanted to state is that this tour was extremely disappointing for us as we are bird watchers. All we saw were saddleback and fan tails, the guides didn't seem to make any effort to find any birds for us although they were informative about plants and trees. We walked up to the saddle of the island which was quite pretty. Best part of the tour was seeing a kiwi close up as it was being introduced to the island for a few months. Other than that we found the tour a bit underwhelming although the walks was quite nice. Did not see the seal colony either.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank AnneD5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Hi AnneD5678,
We're sorry to hear your tour to Moutohora did not meet your expectations. As with any wildlife experience some days can be better than others (namely because we can’t schedule the birds to appear on a cue) but you may note from our other reviews that we do sight a vast array of birds on a regular basis. It is, however, unfortunate that this did not occur on the day of your visit. That you were able to witness the release of kiwi, in itself, is an experience many others would love. As with all our reviews, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2018

We visited Moutohora island in Feb 2018 after having been on 3 other tours of the same sort, in New Zealand, and found this one the best by far. Friendly and very knowledgeable tour guides. I loved it. Very recommended. less expensive than the Kapiti island tour too.

Date of experience: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Passport581413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your tour to Moutohora with us, and thank you for taking the time to post your review and share your experience. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018

What a brilliant day, the trip is a must do if you can get there. The staff are great, very friendly, answered all questions asked and gave a very interesting talk of the island, birds, plants,trees and the geckos.

Date of experience: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank keithy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Hi Keithy48,
We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Moutohora Island Sanctuary with us, and thank you for taking the time to post your review! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018

Great trip, informative guides, good fun and a fascinating place to visit. Thanks White Island Tours.
The sea was too rough for us to go ashore directly from the boat so we had to be transferred by 'rubber ducky' (smaller boat) This was fine for us added to the adventure but may have been awkward for less agile people.

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Faye G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Hi Bobfayegillon,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your tour to Moutohora Island with us, included the added adventure of a Zodiac island transfer. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018

Wonderful experience. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, clear direction and instructions keeping us safe and What a buzz with the kiwi chick monitoring!

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank sesamelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WITManagement, Manager at Moutohora Island Sanctuary (Whale Island) - Day Tour, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Hi Sesamelee,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Moutohora Island Sanctuary with us, including the unique (and priceless) experience of experiencing Kiwi monitoring! So great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews