We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful food”
Review of Matou Chinese Cuisine - CLOSED

Matou Chinese Cuisine
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a fabulous meal not your usual chinese food a big step up from that very tasty and elegant with a different offering loved it we shared our dishes and got to taste lots of amazing dishes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 157carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Spicy, tasty, and excellent portion sizes. Great service and friendly staff, we have been back three times, with and without the children. Love the decor too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwisofhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fabulous tasty food in a great location”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended the restaurant by our motel and weren't disappointed. The food was cooked fresh and I can honestly say was one of the best Chinese dishes I have tasted outside of Asia. The dish contained fresh asparagus, which while not authentic Chinese really showed an appreciation for fresh local ingredients and gave a delicious meal.
The portion size was extremely generous and well presented, with friendly staff.
I was genuinely impressed for a restaurant/takeaway

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“simply awful”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we decided to give this cute little Chinese restaurant a second chance after suffering through a miserable meal when it first opened up. we thought maybe they were just getting their kitchen sorted. well months later, things were even worse. both of our mains were this unnatural orange color and the salt and grease content was just horrific. this is really sad as the location of this restaurant and its atmosphere are both nice, but the food is beyond bad. it will not get a third chance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beulahdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authenticity”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We applaud them for the authentic restaurant style foods as we we have had in China. We started with Won Ton, Shrimp Ball and Stuffed Chicken Wing appetizers. These are to be recommended for flavours and presentation. Great! For the main course we had a whole Peking Duck which although a bit overcooked was delicious. It was a plus that they have wrapping pancakes to roll the duck,cucumber and spring onions in to eat in your fingers The Crispy Garlic Pork Ribs though were over trimmed so almost no meat and dry not crispy. The table waiter gave great service and spoke to the chef about the Ribs and he listened and adjusted the charge. Well done. A very pleasant restaurant to dine in especially if you have a window seat and it's not dark.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matou Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing