We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Whakatane”
Review of L'Epicerie

L'Epicerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Bonjour! Welcome to L'Epicerie Cafe and Creperie. Discover this little piece of France in Whakatane, enjoy a crepe, a galette or one of our delicious pastries served with an organic house roasted Apteryx coffee. Our friendly team will welcome you with a smile and do it best to offer you an unique experience. For delicatessen goodies and bread visit our newly opened sister shop "L'Epicerie Larder" on commerce street. Bon appetit et a bientôt!
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Whakatane”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I had the mushrooms feom the lunch menu and it was scrumpy-wumpy. Good coffee, so good I got mahself an almond croissant to go with my second one.
Eat here.

Helpful?
Thank michaelrickwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Google Translation
Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    48
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bread that was so good”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast which was nice. But the shining star was the loaf of bread we bought to take home. I had eaten half of it before we even got to the car. No butter no nothing just fresh bread. So delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmdtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I would go there every morning!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

If only this place was where i live i would go there every morning and have my daily yummy fix...a coffee, a croissant and a baguette to take home!so quaint , so beautiful so delicious!and also you can find bonjours, merci and voila' aplenty!! :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank c0mmuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Google Translation
Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh la la”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Best French treats you'll find, outside of France. Delicious pastries and bread, and light meals. We adored it - what a find.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank e l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Google Translation
Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My Whakatane Treat”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Can't get past the goats cheese, walnut & honey babette when I visit. Every town has a gem & this is it. Nice to be always greeted warmly & in french. Thank you:)

Helpful?
Thank sharlada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Google Translation
Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Epicerie also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to L'Epicerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing