We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast and coffee”
Review of L'Epicerie

L'Epicerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Bonjour et bienvenue à L'Epicerie! Lets experience L'Epicerie Cafe & Tea house ,because everything is about experimenting and keeping your mind and soul filled with sensations. We offer you our delicious Apteryx Coffee, organic and fair trade home roasted coffee,definitly the freshest and sweetest in town. Taste the next level of tea crafting with the beautiful teas from Noble & Savage, also based in Whakatane. And treat yourself with a velvety and rich hot chocolate from west Coast Cocoa. The freshly baked pastries and tarts are the perfect match with your favourite drinks. Don’t forget our Gourmet pies and authentic Baguette rolls for a light lunch... Our lovely team will welcome you with their smiles and famous “Bonjour!” Merci et à tres bientot! Thank you and see you very soon! Guilhem , Chloé & the best team ever
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a excellent eggs B and coffee for breakfast, great service and nice atmosphere - I now know where to come when next in Whakatane for work

Thank Sebcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

merci!thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very friendly French staff with different deli foods and good coffee..range of French foods that are hard to find

Thank Hal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

merci!thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

You have to love it. A little French café operating by a charming couple. Service is always first rate and you can be guaranteed to be greeted with a smile. Fabulous cheese and good coffee stand out. The in house baked bread is improving week by week and is something to look forward to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank litigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

merci!thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We could hardly believe it when we stumbled upon this little establishment! A French cafe with wonderful home baked bread, cheeses, French deli items and what we ordered - coffee & amazing croissants. It was all served by a charming Monsieur! What fun! We wish we had a place like that at home. Well done Whakatane!

Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

merci!thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This little French café run by French people is something new and different for our little town of Whakatane.
You are greeted by the owners and there is a casual laid back atmosphere to the café where you can escape from the busieness of your day.
There is only a small selection of food available but it is all made by the owners ( they bake their own French bread too)The food tastes nice and doesn't leave you with a heavy feeling when finished.We would go back again to this café.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WendyG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chloe L, General Manager at L'Epicerie, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

merci!thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Epicerie also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to L'Epicerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing