We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tour cancelled - but room was great!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Island Rendezvous

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Island Rendezvous
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tour cancelled - but room was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

Booked the room for two nights specifically for the White Island Tour. Sadly, the tour was cancelled in the morning - but the room certainly made up for it. The nicest room we've stayed in since being here in New Zealand. Very 'homey' with great facilities - LCD TV, spa bath, heating and a small kitchen. The staff have been incredibly helpful and friendly, and the cafe food was lovely. Would stay here again if coming through Whakatane - and will hopefully get to go on the tour this time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlGerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    114
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
204
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Very comfortable, clean, well-cared for room. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam__W_1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

Having heard about this accommodation we thought we had better try it out. An East coast road trip led us to Whakatane and we decided to stay at the White Island Rendezvous. The exterior of the building is awesome looking ( I think an architect designed and converted some flats to create a spectacular looking place..rustic...beachy and relaxing).

Staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and efficient. It seems to be a big operation here...accommodation, cafe ( good breaky and coffee!!), White Island tours..etc..It seemed like a slick well run business and very popular.

We found the interior of the rooms a little less appealing than the exterior...the rooms were quite brightly decorated..beachy and roomy. The room had all we needed but was a little noisy...apparently some of the rooms have better sound proofing and we would take this option next time. However the location and the staff really made our stay an enjoyable one.

Whakatane was buzzing...warm and sunny. We had a meal at the fishing club....great location, hospitable staff ( we were not members but still could eat here). Food was fresh and well priced..and the view was just lovely!). I don't know if it was the sea air
or just that we were really hungry..but the food here tasted as good as anywhere we've eaten. We highly recommend this establishment....and it's a hop, step and a jump away from your hotel door!

The township was smallish..but seemed to have lots of the main shops that one needed. Java Man Cafe was superb! Funky, healthy, delicious! Fine coffee too!

Overall we enjoyed our stay...rendezvous is definitely the funky and "hot spot" to stay..and was very reasonably priced. The staff looked happy in their work....and we always got a smile and a hello.

Thanks to all here...we'll recommend you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEAM-GEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Although not on the beach, it was not an issue. The hotel inside and out is kept clean and the beach/waterfront/marina is right across the road. We were also only a short walk away from centre of the town and many a night we would ventour there for a night-cap or a movie at that theatre or a meal in a restaurant if we decided not to cook in our hotel. We enjoyed daily strolls along their waterfront walkway (about 1.5 hrs to do it all) and visits to the entrance from the ocean called "The Heads" where you could sometimes get a glimpse of Moko, the wild dolphin that was making its home there at the time. The staff of the hotel were excellent .. friendly and always helpful. We did not participate in their tour to White Island with its active volcano as we found it a bit out of our budget. If ever we were to return to Whakatane we would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed at their Cottage next door for 2 nights.
It sleeps 4 - king bed & 2 singles. It has separate lounge with tv, bathroom & kitchen.
The bathroom has only a shower & the toilet is in there too ... quite small. If you had 4 sleeping over it could be a bit of a nuisance, but it suited us.
The kitchen is typical of its time - like a built-in back lobby ... but very functional with stove, microwave etc.
The cafe, as part of the Motel, is fabulous..... with great coffee!! They would bring a breakfast to the cottage if we wanted it. It open from about 6.30am to 4pm ... and has great food - not your typical motel stuff!!
The staff are so helpful & friendly and make you feel very very welcome in their town. Make sure you have Wally's fish'n'chips from over the road on the wharf - superb!!
The town itself has a great walk along the beach/wharf

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roknok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is the same company the runs the White Island tours. The tour is fantastic and the hotel is great as well. If you go on the tour there is an amazing rate for the hotel. The staff is really nice and helpful. The room was open, clean, and inviting. The cafe in the hotel is very good too.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights so that we could do the White Island trip - we were lucky that this was the day before the tsunami warning so it went ahead as planned and was an excellent experience from start to finish.

We booked both tour and motel online from UK and the process worked well for us. The motel unit was fine - although I agree that the large windows don't afford much privacy on the ground floor. Overall though the room was very clean and comfortable, and we found the service in reception was very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend the White Island experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#2 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.4 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Island Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Property: White Island Rendezvous
Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing