We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value motel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Island Rendezvous
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value motel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights so that we could do the White Island trip - we were lucky that this was the day before the tsunami warning so it went ahead as planned and was an excellent experience from start to finish.

We booked both tour and motel online from UK and the process worked well for us. The motel unit was fine - although I agree that the large windows don't afford much privacy on the ground floor. Overall though the room was very clean and comfortable, and we found the service in reception was very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recommend the White Island experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    119
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
208
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Make sure that when you book accommodation with this establishment, you double check later that the reservation is still confirmed and for the correct date. We booked a room (via email) one month before the date of arrival, and received an email confirmation of the reservation. When we arrived on the evening of our reservation, the staff told us that they had booked us in for the wrong day and that there was no vacancy for that night. The only other accommodation available in Whakatane that night was a dusty old roach motel. We were booked in for the tour the following morning so we really didnt have a choice as it was too late to look elsewhere for accommodation.

If the hotel/motel had a proper booking system on their website, the whole thing could have been avoided.

The White Island Tour ended up being cancelled the next day, so the whole thing ended up being a big waste of time. It seems that the tour gets cancelled a lot, as we have tried to do the tour on 2 other separate occasions with no luck.

It would probably be a better idea to stay in Rotorua the night before and make the 1.25 hour drive the morning the tour is confirmed, as there isnt much else to do in Whakatane.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Defstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteIslandManager, Land Operations Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
The Management and staff of White Island Rendezvous offer our sincere apologies and are embarrassed by the inconvenience caused to this guest as the result of a booking being entered for the incorrect date. Customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and in this situation an error was made which resulted in a disappointing experience.

A process is in place for all reservations to be reviewed and signed off by a second staff member however in this instance the error was overlooked. As mentioned in the above review, an online booking engine with direct links to our reservations system would go someway towards preventing such an error and for that exact reason we are currently working towards implementing such a system.

Whakatane is a very popular place for people to visit and as such accommodation in the town can become scarce on some days. Unfortunately the day this guest was to stay with us was one of these days, resulting in us being unable to find motel accommodation of an equivalent standard. Should a similar issue occur again our reservations staff have now been instructed to look at all forms of accommodation such as Bed and Breakfast or Home Stay as these may offer more suitable options.

In this instance an attempt towards amends was made by offering a 20% discount on the tour to White Island. However, as mentioned in the review, the trip did not go ahead due to bad weather and the guest was then offered complementary breakfasts from our café instead.

We understand the frustration at the trip being cancelled however weather is beyond our control. We do stress to passengers at the time of booking that the trip is weather dependant. All passengers are contacted the evening before the tour to provide an update on the status of the trip and we also choose not to take any payment until the morning of departure just in case the weather unfavourable. The majority of the time we are lucky as Whakatane has one of the best climates in New Zealand.

As reflected in previous reviews White Island Rendezvous strives to give our guests an enjoyable stay through well appointed rooms and great customer service. In this situation we were unfortunately let down by a data entry/checking error.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Not sure I would have like the motel rooms as they looked basic. However this review is for our 2 night stay in the back villa - a self contained, large property next to the motel.

The back villa had a large livingroom with heigh roofs, cosy sofa and some lazy boys, the bedroom had plenty of storage and doors that opened onto a small garden area. We had a lovely friendly silver tabby cat come to see us while sitting out :)

The bathroom was large as well with a shower and stand alone bath tub. The toilet was in it's own room. The kitchen was small but was fine for our needs - it had a microwave, small electric hob, fridge and kettle. At the main door we had a small wooden table and chairs - nice to sit out at night with some wine.

The insects were noisy around these parts!

Overall the property was clean and not bad value at £164 for 2 nights.

Breakfast was included and could have been delivered to the villa or taken at their cafe around the corner. Breakfast was OK - the options included in your rate were rather limted and portions were on the small side - especially the vegetarian option of museli.

There are laundry facilities available to use for $2 per wash including the powder and $2 for the dryer. Reception were good enough ring us when the cycle had finished. All staff encountered were helpful.

You could get free wifi by going to the reception and getting a code wither for 30 mins, 1 hour or 90 mins per session. This time starts straight away.

Good location - just up the road on foot from Whakatane town centre.

We had booked on the dolphin & whale tour but it was called off due to storms......

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

We stayed at White Island Rendezvous to do the White Island trip, which was amazing. Don't miss it. I was slightly dubious as some of the reviews are quite negative. All I can say is if you choose the Front Villa I don't think you will be disappointed, especially if you like to cook as it has a proper kitchen. Its a lovely old building - and although the fittings are a bit dated they are kept spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelnutDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We only stayed one night here on a road trip - it was a good location, good standard of accommodation and very very friendly staff. The room included everything we needed. The only drawback and it was a small one, is that the walkway past the rooms allows everyone to look in when they are walking past and the net provided does not give any privacy. So to have privacy you have to have the curtains shut and then it's too dark so you have to have the light on! Despite this, would still stay there again.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ABritInNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed in the Back Villa of the hotel. It had loads of character with high ceilings, a roll top bath and a victorian high level toilet. Very nicely furnished with everything we could think of. We arrived late and were on the White Island Tour first thing in the morning so really didn't get the chance to take advantange of all the facilities. Breakfast was in the cafe and was very tasty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nice
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2009

The accommodation is pretty from the road with a lovely cafe out front. The rooms themselves are spacious and modern but feel dark. Their main source of light is a sliding door beside the bed which faces the driveway with people walking up and down to their rooms with a brick wall behind it.
Unfortunately, this stay left a bad taste in my mouth. When we packed up our groceries, we accidentally took the wine bottle from the fridge which had an attractive sticker/painting on it saying Water. When my mother wrote to them apologising, they asked us to post it back to them or pay $30. The bottle would have broken in the post so my poor honest mother paid $30 for an old wine bottle!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akatherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
0.9 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
#10 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Island Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Property: White Island Rendezvous
Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing