We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Design in Unit caused an Accident”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Island Rendezvous
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Design in Unit caused an Accident”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed two consecutive weekends when there was availability upstairs, as even upstairs you don't have much privacy but at least you're not right next to the carpark as all units have only a big door/window with curtains that you have to keep closed for privacy. The first weekend our unit (No.8), was spacious and modern, no hob only a microwave but that suited us. The 2nd weekend we had Unit 27. At first sight it looks pretty much the same. However, the shower in this unit has a high wall to get in and out of it, and although spacious inside the cubicle, if you turn the shower on before getting in as I did, the water goes straight to the wooden floor. As I was getting out of the shower I slipped on the wet floor and in trying to avoid hitting my back on this high wall I twisted my knee causing damage to ligaments and tendons with excruciating pain. The Dr prescribed pain killers and anti-inflamatories 4 times a day. This happened almost a week ago and none of the pain has subsided. Without the medication I can't walk. I suggested that they put signs to say that the floor is extremely dangerous when wet and also put a non slippery step for people to step on it first when coming out of the shower.... It would be interesting to see if these suggestions do get actioned. I was told by the Manager that Room 26 is a mirror copy of No. 27.
I can also see another accident waiting to happen in this Unit with the position of the microwave (there's no hob here either so you have no choice). The microwave is on the left hand corner of the kitchen and the door opens towards you right on your face. You can't see when you're taking the heated food out of it, and it's also hard to be able to read the settings.
On a lesser degree but annoying none the less was the fact that neither unit had a tea towel rail.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteIslandTours, Manager at White Island Rendezvous, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are sorry to hear that your knee is causing you pain. Your accident was unfortunate and the first incident of its type to occur in the 12 years since those units opened. You are right that if the shower rose is not pointed correctly before turning the shower on and if the door is open then some water may go onto the floor. In your discussions with our Manager you indicated that you chose not to put the bath mat down on the wet area but instead placed it so that you would first step onto the wet floor and then onto the mat, and you agreed that in hindsight that was not a good decision.

We do take your accident and feedback seriously and we have looked into the points you have raised.

In regards to the step into the shower that you describe as a high wall, this is only 26cm high and we feel that an additional step is not required. We also think that it would actually increase the chance of a guest slipping as they would not be able to put down the bath mat.

As moteliers we walk a fine line between trying to point out risks and not appearing too over zealous in regards to rules and signs. In our opinion the flooring in our units is no more slippery when wet than the flooring found in most people’s home bathrooms. It is reasonable to expect that people will determine that a bathroom floor may get wet and could therefore be slippery, so we do not feel that there is a need for a warning sign.

Thank you for raising the point regarding the position of the microwave in some of our units. Following your feedback we have identified that these would be difficult to access for some people and are therefore moving them to instead sit on the bench.

As with most Motor Inn style properties our rooms do face out to the car parking area. We recognise that people require privacy and therefore they have the option of pulling the sheer net curtain across which still allows those on the inside to see out while preventing people seeing into the room. There is no need to completely close the curtain though that is certainly another option.

We are sorry that you felt there were some faults with your second stay and hope that you can see from our other TripAdvisor reviews that your dissatisfaction is certainly not the norm.

We wish you a speedy recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    121
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
212
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A travelling business companion and I stayed 2 nights in adjoining rooms, and it was great. Quiet, very spacious, warm and comfortable accommodation within an easy walk of our business meeting, the waterfront and restaurants. The adjacent cafe was something special - huge wholesome natural breakfast and superb fruit juices and coffee made for a great start each day. Free/inclusive WiFi made doing emails easy. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We chose this hotel for its location; we would return for its quality and friendliness.

Room Tip: All are good; upstairs for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy and Albie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed one night in upstairs room - spacious. Check in and other staff very friendly and helpful.

This is also departure point for White Island Volcano day cruise (unfortunately I did not have time to do this).

Breakfast was okay (Eggs Benedict) but bagels hard to chew (over toasted).

I shall return as your friendly staff are a major asset.

Room Tip: The sun poured into the upstairs room in the morning - on a winter's day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only stayed for one night prior to embarking on our White Island Volcano adventure the next night, but it was one of the nights I will most remember from the trip. Greeted with a warm smile, the evening became even warmer when we discovered that the heating had been turned on in our room in anticipation of our arrival so we were able to step out of the 7 degree night into a balmy 25 degrees. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room contained everything you could need.
Though it appears a little out of town on a map, given the size of the town it is not even a 10 minute walk into town for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDebarcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in an upstairs unit and it was great. Quiet, spacious and comfortable accommodation within easy walk to waterfront and restaurants.Tasty breakfast in the cafe and mates rates on the White Island volcano tour which is fantastic. The friendly staff Really made our stay a delight

Room Tip: Upstairs unit is the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in The Cottage, a spacious and tidy house with two bedroooms. Very handy and very comfortable. It is an easy walk into town, but immediately across the road is the waterfront -- very handy if you are going on a trip to White Island because some of them leave very early in the morning. Everything was provided and we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: The cottage is spacious and would be great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, to get away from our own busy Hotel in Rotorua. We did a deal that included breakfast in the cafe and it was awesome value! The rooms were clan and comfy and a really easy walk to restaurants, we can't wait to go back again next school holidays when we have another break...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Annema... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 12 in Whakatane
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Barringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 12 in Whakatane
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Island Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Property: White Island Rendezvous
Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing