We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate stay before the trip to White Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Island Rendezvous
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Kenora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First rate stay before the trip to White Island”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was a great hotel. Handy for the boat tour to White Island. Kind of pricey but they offer a discount on the tour so that helps. Rooms are bright and clean (try for the second floor) and big. TV is good. Wi-fi is average for New Zealand. I would highly recommend this to anyone staying in Whakatane for whatever reason. Eat at Wally's on the dock across the street.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. On site laundry was handy. Rooms are big and bright. Good TV, average wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    121
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
42
212
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Couple on motorcycle tour of North Island. Pulled in here off the street. Very friendly reception. Offered garage for our bike and wi fi for the room. Spacious, immaculate rooms, helpful with advice on dining options etc. Good location, quiet. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I can't say we enjoyed our stay overmuch.
We had a downstairs studio with big windows, very little privacy with people parking cars and walking past. Infact,when we arrived and parked up the first sight we saw was the guy next door lying on his bed in his underclothes.
The room was clean and spacious but the bathroom had a wetroom rather than a shower cubicle, personally I found it messy and slippery after use.
There were notices everywhere about what and what not to do,I have never seen so many! We had different containers for different waste and copious notes on how to comply.We were expected to shut the TV and microwave OFF AT THE WALL when not in use! The TV was on the wall, quite high up and I for one would not be able to reach the switch! There were warnings about extra charges applying e.g.$50 charge for lost keys.
The lightbulbs were of such a low wattage it was impossible to read a book, newspaper or map.
I felt like a naughty schoolgirl being lectured too.
Stay again? Probably not!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASTACARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Four of us stayed here for two nights, hoping to get out to White Island. We didn't get there this time as the weather was against us - made it at a later date from Rotorua though. The rooms are very clean and it's the place to stay if you are visiting White Island as the boat leaves from across the street!

Room Tip: Always ask if there is a "special rate" going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pokeno8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nice place to stay. Spacious and clean. Close to the village centre. One disadvantage: the room on the ground level do not have much privacy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This establishment is made up of units and a old house alongside that is divided in two. The front half is called The Front Villa the back half ..... The Back Villa. There is a small kitchen, large lounge with TV, large bathroom, large bedroom with double bed - actually two single beds pushed together but comfortable, and hall way. The floors are polished timber so tends to make a bit of noise when moving around. The bathroom had a modern shower along with a claw foot bath. The toilet had one of those old pull chain cistern which I haven't seen for years but it functioned well and was located inside! Although our stay was peaceful I could see a noise problem if the other half was occupied by more noisy people but I guess that would be minimal as the place only accommodates two people. The location was good, easy walking distance to the shops, and opposite the tours base. We had the idea, from magazine photos etc, that White Island could be easily seen from the shore of the town but this isn't the case - you need to take a boat tour to see it. There is an observation point above the town that give good views of the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The White Island Rendezvous is a well-appointed motel opposite the dock from where PeeJay's White Island Tour boats leave. This review is specifically for the Back Villa where we stayed, which is separate from the main motel. The villa is a charming residence with interesting features. It had a well-equipped kitchenette for self catering, but breakfast at the Rendezvous' cafe was included and could optionally be delivered to the villa. The Back Villa has a pleasant seating area out the back, which we made good use of. The bathroom has a claw foot bath as well as a shower, and a separate toilet with the first pull-chain flush we've seen for decades (and very efficient it was). The staff at the Rendezvous were very helpful, leaving instructions for our arrival when a major storm in the Hawke's Bay area delayed us by several hours. We were called in the morning to let us know the White Island Tour was on for that day - and what a trip that was; another highlight of our seven weeks in New Zealand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrettonGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
136 reviews
1.4 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 12 in Whakatane
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Barringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 12 in Whakatane
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Island Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Property: White Island Rendezvous
Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing