We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday spot”

Awakeri Hot Springs
Ranked #13 of 32 things to do in Whakatane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Awakeri Hot Springs Holiday Park offers a range of self catering accommodation options located within a natural bush setting with the added benefit of large hot pools and private spa pools.Come for the day to enjoy our hot pools and picnic facilities or stay overnight and use our park as a base to explore the unique senic features of the Eastern Bay of Plenty.
Tauranga
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday spot”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Attractive hot pools holiday camp in the Bay Of Plenty near Edgecumbe. Well kept grounds, and the main attraction being the hot pools. Facilities are more than adequate and clean. Children would enjoy the area,but older adults would possibly enjoy visiting after the school holidays. Recommended

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, Owner at Awakeri Hot Springs, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We do appreciate it and hope that others find it useful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    50
    26
    11
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great facilities & value with delicious hot springs”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Our arrival was greeted without a smile and by an abrupt older woman who made us hestitate...not a friendly welcome.
Our husbands wanted to know the rates so we asked.
I'm glad we did at $34 a night for a powered site with free use of the thermal pool it was good value.
The grounds are well kept, the kitchen has ample sinks and hot plates. There is s laundry, hot showers and convenience shop.
The highlight was the thermal pool at 38 degrees, clean & tidy surrounds. A real delight
A lovely staff member greeted us the next morning in a cheerful & friendly manner which was a lovely way to end our stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank KiddHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, Owner at Awakeri Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Warm water pools, sutable for the family, also has a covered area for those not wishing to burn. Also the Spas can be hired by the 1/2 hr these are private and you can control not only the air and jets but quickly add (very) hot or cold minaral water for a refreshing relax on a hot day. Excellent no frills value for money

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SLaffoley-Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, Owner at Awakeri Hot Springs, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A place to get away from it all.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Motel was cute, quaint and retro. It was a clean, standalone unit with a deck. The bush setting was awesome. Totally family friendly with a cool wee playground and shallow pool for the kids. And ohhh the hot pool! Wow! My son and I were lucky enough to wake up two mornings on a row and take a dip as the sun rose up over the trees -magic!

Helpful?
1 Thank DancN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, well maintained mineral pools”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I use these pools often; clean, warm, fed by natural mineral water. Shallow pool for small children. Also have spa pools but I haven't used them. Nice covered BBQ area; changing rooms have heated floors.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Honkypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, Owner at Awakeri Hot Springs, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awakeri Hot Springs also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Awakeri Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing