We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee, food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PeeJays Coffee House

PeeJays Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee, food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

On our recent trip to Whakatane we had breakfast at Pee Jays on our first morning, and returned twice! Good menu - lots of choice - and good value.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WillieTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    56
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“food adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

have eaten here on numerous occasions and in the past it has been very good. However our visit on the 30/12/12 was disppointing I had an extreme breakfast which was anything but, I assume they have a new or relieving chef, coffee and service was good.

Helpful?
1 Thank mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteIslandTours, Marketing Manager at PeeJays Coffee House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and apologies that your latest dining experience was not up to our usual standards. We did have a relief chef in the kitchen on the day of your visit and this may account for the difference between that and your previous visits. We pride ourselves on our food quality, value and consistency so in this case we have been let down. I hope that you will come back to PeeJays at some point in the future so that we can prove that we still do the best breakfasts in Whakatane! In future please feel free to advise the staff if there is anything not to your liking as we would love to have the opportunity to rectify it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane-nz
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is not just a good place for tasty food and of good variety, but for it's room and table arrangement which gives a feeling of privacy and keeps noise levels down. Outside is lovely in good weather and the views from the upper level are great as the boats come in over the bar and down the river.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bev-fothergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beautiful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is small but has lovely food go there quiet often,iT ALSO HAS ACCOMADATION IF YOU ARE STAYING OVER NIGHT

Helpful?
Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twizel
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good coffee, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were saying in the motel attached to this cafe and had breakfast both mornings, very good coffee and nice food, musli and chirizo/mushroom dishes were our best choices. Only one major downer, there is only 2 outdoor tables, the first morning we had a smoker on the other table. Ashtrays on the table encourage smoking in the outdoor dining area, down wind from a chain smoker who wasnt even dining really annoyed us both. We made sure we got the upwind table for the next morning. Remove the ashtrays, smoking in dining areas isnt acceptable any more, smokers can go and smoke in the car park, we want to smell the coffee not second hand smoke!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Highlander65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeeJays Coffee House also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to PeeJays Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing