We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax after White Island Tour”

The Craic Irish Pub
Ranked #20 of 49 Restaurants in Whakatane
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: New Zealand, Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Craic, Irish Pub, located in one of the Whakatane's most iconic structures, the Whakatane Hotel. The Craic is home to Irish based hospitality, friendliness and culture. We are proud to serve an extensive menu that will have something to satisfy anyone. Come order a pint of Guinness and a wood-fired pizza. Need a place to stay too? The Craic has accommodation located directly upstairs. Don't miss your change to stay in one of Whakatane's finest icons.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great place to relax after White Island Tour”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Local beers and outdoor seating. Old fashioned pub. Friendly staff and accommodation available. Close to tourist information centre.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank paloma057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    52
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for a drink in the sun”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very nice outdoor seating - good for people watching in the sunshine. Lovely team of staff who were very friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiwitreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Tasty Guinness after a long trip”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a nice "pub dinner" at The Craick Irish Pub with chicken in Irish creamy sauce and fish and chips. Together with a pint of Guinness just yummy. We ate outside on the terrace / footpath on a warm summer's evening, magical.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Too much cheese!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Let's put an apricot sauce swirl on the pizza and enough cheese to choke a horse said no one ever. Irish madness!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosebudRosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer or a glass of wine and see the world pass by”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

A nice place to see people and have a glass.
It is actually a quite good place to eat as well. We enjoyed the meal, a typical pubdish.
What we really enjoyed were all the nice guests visiting the place. When they heard we were foreigners, we did have a fantastic evening and got many new friends!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank changlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craic Irish Pub also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Craic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing