We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in a nice atmosphere”

The Craic Irish Pub
Ranked #17 of 50 Restaurants in Whakatane
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Craic, Irish Pub, located in one of the Whakatane's most iconic structures, the Whakatane Hotel. The Craic is home to Irish based hospitality, friendliness and culture. We are proud to serve an extensive menu that will have something to satisfy anyone. Come order a pint of Guinness and a wood-fired pizza. Need a place to stay too? The Craic has accommodation located directly upstairs. Don't miss your change to stay in one of Whakatane's finest icons.
Ohope, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Service was nice and friendly. Traditional Irish pub setting. Nice and relaxed outdoor seating. Good selection of beers and spirits. Lovely dessert we had strawberry shortcake which was warm and filling, a real soul food. The meal was a good generous portion which was delicious and just beautiful. Totally perfect when you have the perfect company of great friends in a relaxed pub setting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TES983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    53
    29
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ohope Beach, null, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seans' Scallop Salad = YUM”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Boozy Friday lunch with a visitor from Wellington. Excellent food, excellent service, could not ask for more..Will definatley be back..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The worst food experience ever”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I can't even look at Irish pubs anymore after our experience at this pub. That was the worst meal in our life. I can't believe that food can taste SO bad. Our choice were fish of the day and calamari. Both dishes were awful: tasteless fries, fish was watery and bland, tasted like it was sitting in a freezer for ages, all the batter fell of the piece. Service was ok and Guinness was good otherwise I'd put one star in this review.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlgaFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Guinness but no craft beer”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This prominent corner pub has a large sidewalk section where a dozen or more locals had gathered on an early Friday evening. The atmosphere outside was relaxed with a family or two, large tables of friends, and a tourist or two enjoying pints. Folks come on Harleys, on bicycles, and on foot. The atmosphere inside was also friendly and casual with the same mixture of mostly locals after work having a pint on the way home. When I saw them setting up amps I thought it must be time to go but the sole guitarist played old favourites quite well and softly enough so as not to interrupt conversation. Most folks were drinking lighter ales and lagers but there was smattering of Guinness, spirits and of course reds and whites. Not unusually, there were no craft beers available. A serious deficit in an otherwise great pub.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank brownprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pizza: Forno con legno”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Late evening pizza and a glass of Waikato draught beer. Wood fired pizza oven-delicious pizza. Homer would be in his element.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KapitiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craic Irish Pub also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Craic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing