We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a pub...”

The Craic Irish Pub
Ranked #18 of 50 Restaurants in Whakatane
Price range: $4 - $24
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Craic, Irish Pub, located in one of the Whakatane's most iconic structures, the Whakatane Hotel. The Craic is home to Irish based hospitality, friendliness and culture. We are proud to serve an extensive menu that will have something to satisfy anyone. Come order a pint of Guinness and a wood-fired pizza. Need a place to stay too? The Craic has accommodation located directly upstairs. Don't miss your change to stay in one of Whakatane's finest icons.
Whakatane-nz
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just a pub...”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you like pub food, you'll be quite happy to come here. It's not my style, but came here for something cheap to suit another member of our group. They thought it was fine!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank bev-fothergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    53
    29
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ok for what it is”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Craic is situated at the end of the main street in Whakatane. It is a typical Irish pub with accommodation above which is advertised as spanning backpackers through to ensuite rooms. It all seemed a little tired to us and not the sort of place that would invite a stay if you wanted a modest degree of comfort. I suspect that there is little trade at the higher end of the advertised spectrum.

As a pub, however, it seemed atmospheric and friendly. The bar staff bantered with the out-of-towners and there was an almost cartoon character sitting at the end of the bar chipping in at will - though we'd never set eyes on him before. The pub meals on offer were nothing out of the ordinary but would fill the gap well, before or after a long journey.

We understand that there is a very popular pub quiz night each week which draws locals and visitors alike.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not brilliant”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Quite a cheap place to eat and the food was adequate, but not up to the standard and potion size of other places we've eaten in New Zealand. Friendly staff though.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern UK
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Variable feast.”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Two visits, both different. One lunchtime, friendly staff and a few pleasant pints of Guinness, sitting outdoors. Next visit in the evening, indifferent staff, outrageous price for red wine and average food. Good luck!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SussexFogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, honest food and great value for money”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I'd really rate the Craic Irish Pub as 3 star + as the only let down was the service - friendly, but not really "onto it" - more busy talking amongst themselves than observing who may need service and meals didn't come at the same time, with polite diners at our table waiting for the other meals to arrive while theirs got cold. But that aside, amazing to find wine on the menu for just $23 per bottle and the Pork Chop with Mash was the best I've had for a long time (great value @ $19) - others had pizzas which they said were good and again great value @ $12 each. They even had live entertainment on a Thursday night - enjoyed all the old 80's favourites - just a pity there wasn't more people in the pub to enjoy it! Will definitely return if we're ever back in Whakatane.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belle601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Craic Irish Pub also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to The Craic Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing