We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!”
Review of Amber Court Motel

Amber Court Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Court Motel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Hamilton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

There is only one word that we as a family can use to describe our stay - FANTASTIC! We own a motel ourselves and that means that we can be pretty hard to please. Amber Court Motel did just that though, with their fair value for money, lovely re-furbished rooms, great hosts and lovely complex. An older motel that has been really nicely re-furbished, if you are looking for a great place to base yourself for a fishing competition or some time at the beach - you can't go wrong. Thank you for such a great stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argentmotorlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The Amber Court Motel was super. The owners were lovely - really friendly and helpful and gave us a very warm welcome. The unit was very comfortable and spotlessly clean throughout with everything you could want. Also good location just out of town and very easy to get into Whakatane. I would certainly stay there again. Great place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AmandaAJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at Amber Court several times in the last two years and each time have really loved it. Our first visit was August 2010 just after the motel had been newly decorated and furnished and we stayed in a studio unit half way down the right hand side block. The bed was great as both my wife and I have bad backs and cannot sleep on soft saggy beds. The furnishings are solid, comfortable and homely. Everything was spotlessly clean.The carpet is plush and decor tasteful. The shower is excellent and kitchenette just the right size and well equipped for preparing your own meals. The air conditioning means you can be comfortable no matter the weather. If the noise has bothered some of the earlier commentators why didn't they just close the windows? We enjoyed the clear crisp Whakatane mornings with sun streaming in the kitchen window. Privacy was not an issue because of the excellent net curtains and roman blinds. The internet service was excellent and much appreciated. On our last trip last year we extended our one night booking to three nights to rest up and relax away from the madding crowds.

Room Tip: If you want privacy with your curtains up to enjoy the morning sun choose a unit on the Northern blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here one night, our unit was quiet, clean, warm and comfortable with a good sized kitchenette and bathroom, friendly efficient reception staff off road parking and free wifi;
easy access to the White Island tours, nice scenic area with good beaches;

Room Tip: we had units 7/9 which were to a good standard throughout;
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueS919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very friendly owner at reception, clean and functional room (we had one with double bedroom and double bed in lounge). Only a 20 minute stroll into town and quiet, despite being on the main road. Friendly cat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgreenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a nice surprise after a long days drive! Comfortable, air conditioned, clean, very well equipped. Perfect for the price, and very nice staff! No problem with any road noise. The motel provided a free internet service. The extra: a gorgeous garden.

Nice and close to PeeJay's White Island tours, very near shops & supermarkets and Ohope beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liselottep90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge NZ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for one night, management was excellent doing their best to accommodate off street parking of the bus we were travelling in. The room was spotlessly clean, better than I've seen in a motel for ages. No problem with noise, room was air-conditioned, bed really comfy, good shower, everything you need in the room. Walking distance to town. The garden is lovely too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.2 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
340 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Barringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 12 in Whakatane
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
108 reviews
0.9 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 12 in Whakatane
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Court Motel

Property: Amber Court Motel
Address: 22 Valley Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amber Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Amber Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing