We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chicken tikka masala”
Review of Indian Aroma - CLOSED

Indian Aroma
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great chicken tikka masala”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I love their Chicken Tikka Masala. Not the best I've tasted in the world but very very good. Service is fair to very pleasant. There is an awesome view of the Heads, Whale Island and the statue of Princess Wairaka. Quite pricey but so far, so good as I've ordered Indian Takeaways here countless times. Good fair portions. Most of the dishes I've tasted we're very good, some of them can be a bit better. Yes, the place can use with some renovation or redecorating. But the view outside is simply spectacular. And heaps of parking space is available. I'd recommend this place to those who are keen on Indian cuisine. Namaste.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TES983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't Enjoy the Food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I ordered based on other reviews and used the online facility which included paying by visa. When I went to collect the food it wasn't prepared as the staff found the order confusing and also couldn't see that it had been paid. One staff member didnt know how the online payment worked. The order was two meals and one serve of bread straight off the menu. I had to then wait for it to be cooked and pay accepting their claim that I hadn't. They did say that I could come back for a cash refund if it turned out I had been paid. I have just received an email from indian aroma stating that my card has been charged for the online order.

The two entirely different meals were prepared with the identical tasteless sauce. The main content, koftas in one and fish in the other we're equally tasteless. There was absolutely nothing else in either meal and most had to be thrown out. I love Indian food and eat it regularly however this is easily the worst I have ever eaten.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RonP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful veiws with good food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place has beautiful views of the sea and I can not understand why more people don't go there the food is so nice the staff are very pleasant, we go sometimes for lunch

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whakatane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great meal at reasonable price”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

for a great indian meal at a reasonable price and a very welcoming staff this venue
can be highly recommended.
on a summer evening you can watch tourist boats and the locals fishing boats returning over the bar to their moorings.
for a great sea view up the coast & out to whale island this is hard to beat.
the drive to the restaurant passes some major slips of an escarpment which almost buried a house & block of appartments & did actually bury a digger being used to dig out the fall.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views over the bar and Whale Island”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great meal for a reasonable price. The food was well presented and was served hot. Will come again.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Karaka5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Aroma also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing