We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasently Surprising Find”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whakatane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornton Beach Holiday Park
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Pleasently Surprising Find”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thornton Beach is an absolutely beautiful beach so I was excited that the Holiday Park was just as lovely. I was there slightly off-peak (end of January during the week) and almost had the place to myself. The whole place is REALLY clean and tidy. They provide hand soap, dish soap and tea towels for you convenience. There is no random pots, pans and cooking gear lying round so be sure to bring your own. The showers are token operated only but I had hot water for the whole 6mins throughout the day when I showered.

The location is close enough to Whakatane without feeling like you are in the town but you can still pop over for a meal or whatever in 5mins. Only one hour outside of Rotorua and it's beach side which was a much nicer place to stay than in Rotorua. They are family friendly though I did hear a few kids complaining that they were bored. The only sort of entertainment is a jumping pillow which seemed to get old after a while. If they put in a swing set within the campground so parents can still keep an eye out that would keep families there longer I think and give parents a break from entertaining. I was traveling by myself this time (30yr old female) and felt very safe while staying there.

Would definitely stay there again to get away from Auckland!!

Room Tip: Could be a bit cramped on the campground part during peak season and would not have been as enjoyabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in one of the Tourist Flats for two nights. The cabin (which was in an elevated position) overlooked the whole site facing towards the nearby ocean, although you cannot see the beach or ocean much as the view is obscured by private beach-front cabins but you can certainly hear it. The 2 bedroom cabin was very clean and adequately equipped for a comfortable stay. The cabin was warm and cosy with a nice outside deck area with table and chairs.No complimentary shampoo or shower gel etc was supplied so make sure you bring your own as well as your bed linen and towels. It does mention this on their website to be fair and we were asked if we needed linen when we arrived for our stay. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Beach is fantastic and goes on for miles as far as the eye can see. Also there is very good fishing to be had for snapper and kahawai off the beach here and also the nearby Thornton River mouth. No shops nearby so bring adequate supplies. Highly recommended and will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royandangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed in a holiday flat just before Xmas, The flat was very comfortable and well equipped with a verandah overlooking the campsite. The site has direct access onto a wide sandy beach that goes as far as the eye can see in both directions. The beach is popular with local fisherman, but for the most part is wild and deserted. From the beach there are good views of Whale Island and volcanic White Island steaming ominously on the distant horizon. The site was very quiet during our stay, but obviously geared up for young families in high season. Although we were self-contained, we looked at the showers & kitchen - they were very clean and modern. There aren't any shops nearby, so a car is essential for supermarkets etc in Whakatane, a pleasant town about 15mins drive away. Overall this was a very restful and pleasant stay and the cabin represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seaside-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Thornton Beach holiday park is a great place to stay. It is right on the beach so you only have to walk a couple of minutes to see the ocean but the great thing is you can hear the ocean at night and first thing in the morning when you wake up. We stayed in a tent and they allowed us to have our dog (as it wasn't peak season, being just before Xmas). The amenities were great and always clean, family friendly also which we were thankful for as we took our one year old son. The showers are awesome too. The male owner was really friendly and easy to approach, however we found the female owner to be quite rude at times. That would be the only negative thing about the place. A friend of ours had come to visit us just for the day but by afternoon had had a few too many beers so was deciding whether to stay the night in our tent or try and get a lift home with a friend. While he was on the phone talking to his friend about it he was approached by the female owner who demanded once he'd gotten off the phone (she had been listening to his conversation!) that he go and see her in the office to pay to stay the night (he hadn't even made his mind up yet and hadn't discussed it with us as to whether or not we'd mind him staying - of course we didn't but he wanted to ask us first). There were a couple of other occasions where she was a little rude but other times she wasn't too bad so I don't know if it depends what mood she's in? Anyway that aside, the holiday park is a wonderful place to stay and I'd definitely recommend it to others, especially those who struggle to find places that allow dogs and also families who want family friendly amenities.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becz-Awa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whakatane
7.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
336 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 12 in Whakatane
70 reviews
7.1 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
7.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
178 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
Pacific Coast Motor Lodge
#10 of 12 in Whakatane
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Beach Holiday Park

Property: Thornton Beach Holiday Park
Address: 163 Thornton Beach Road, Whakatane 3194, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your looking for somewhere just a little off the beaten track, but still within 5mins of great Country Cafes and shopping - Book a holiday with us and experience our award winning hospitality. Thornton Beach is situated between Whakatane and Matata in the BOP. We are closer than Ohope for many visitors and offer a New Zealand beach holiday with heaps of fun for the whole family. We have many campsites available and various types of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets. The views from our Holiday Park are spectacular. Whale Island is in front of you and New Zealand's only live marine volcano White Island can be seen in the distance. The ocean beach stretches out at the parks doorstep and the Rangitaiki River is also metres away. With panoramic sea views and known for its great catch, Thornton Beach is a fisherman's haven. Land based anglers can surfcast towards Whale Island, or you can launch the boat at the boat ramp which is only 200m from the park and head out to sea. Thornton Beach is lovely and quiet. But besides peace, tranquillity, safe swimming and great fishing, there are many more activities and attractions in the area of Thornton Beach Holiday Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing