We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Livingston Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livingston Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I regularly use tripadvisor to find accommodation that others recommend, and I was not let down! Spacious, clean, warm, and modern, with sky TV and yummy complimentary snacks. We made a last minute decision to stop for the night in Whakatane, and the Livingston was conveniently placed on our way into town, and the owners were happy to accommodate us without any notice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlina671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, and for sharing your thoughts by reviewing our property. We're thrilled we could help out with your last minute decision to stay in town, we'd love to be able to welcome you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    42
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
62
7
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had a lovely stay in this motel, very clean and lovely big spa pool to enjoy. Great having all the sky channels my husband just loved it. Would stay again. Lovely to have the complimentary snacks. Great information folder of what is available to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychappys794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our motel. I hope the information folder was helpful, we're always available to help as well. We'd like to make your stay with us as relaxing as possible. Glad to hear you enjoyed the 50+ SKY channels and the snacks. We'd love to welcome you back when you're next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is our second stay here.We had a very spacious clean room. I Loved the spa bath and my partner enjoyed the complimentary snacks that were left in the room. The motel is in a Good location close to town. We found the hosts very friendly and if we visit whakatane again we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thanks for reviewing our motel, we're very pleased that you enjoyed the spa and the snacks - the spa rooms are very popular. We'd love to welcome you back if you're in Whakatane again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wairoa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Livingston motel over Easter. Our unit was clean and large. Very impressed with the complimentary snacks, a lovely touch, which you dont see with many motels these days. There was ample parking which was great for us, as we were towing a trailer. A decent size TV in lounge with 50 channels, and a TV in the bedroom.
Hosts were friendly and very welcoming.We had a lovely spa pool in a little private court yard adjacent to the bedroom.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie11738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on us. We're thrilled that you were impressed with your stay. We're very lucky with our parking area - it makes things easy for everyone when there's lots of space. We'd love to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our stay here was superb! On arriving we were a little peckish and it was lovely to have complimentary snacks waiting for us. Never had that before! Although on the main road into the city centre the unit we stayed in was surprisingly quiet. With the comfy bed, free Wi Fi, the best folder of information we've ever seen, what more could you ask for. Thanks Peter and Debbie. We'll be back again next time we're down your way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicemldouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thanks so much for posting a review on our motel, and for your lovely comments! We're so pleased you enjoyed the snacks - our way of saying "thanks for choosing to stay with us."
We'd love to welcome you back next time you're in Whakatane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The 2 bedroom family unit was perfect for our family of 5. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The spa pool in the bathroom was great and the snacks appreciated by hungry kids. The room was set back in the far corner of the motel complex well away from the main road, which was great for safety and less road noise. We have stayed here twice now and would recommend the Livingston Motel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachFamily000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you for posting a review on the Livingston. We're thrilled you enjoyed your unit, our two bedroomed apartment is definitely our most popular family unit. Glad to hear you enjoyed the spa pool, and the snacks. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Hosts seemed friendly. Room was large and clean and we enjoyed the spa tub. The snacks were a great touch quite a surprised they were complementary. Bed was firm but comfortable which suited us very well. Kitchenette was fine for breakfast or to make a sandwich but no cooking facilities except a microwave in our room. Blanket on the bed was super soft.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmdtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thanks for posting a review on our motel. We're thrilled you enjoyed the room, the spa and the snacks. We have a number of different room combinations, so some of our studio units have a kitchenette like you describe, and others have a 2 plate cooktop and utensils as well.
We'd love to welcome you back to the Livingston Motel if you're back in Whakatane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Barringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 12 in Whakatane
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livingston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingston Motel

Property: Livingston Motel
Address: 42 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Livingston Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have large spacious, stylish rooms - all ground floor with a variety of bedding configurations, some with cooking facilities; most with full-sized spa pools - individually filled and controlled. 2 easy-access units. Excellent showers. All rooms have LCD TVs and SKY Guest Select with movies and all sports channels; tea & coffee facilities, including plunger coffee, fridge & microwave. One bedroom units and genuine two bedroom unit all have 2 LCD TVs and spa pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Livingston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing