We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great nights sleep”
Review of Livingston Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Livingston Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
“great nights sleep”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Both me and my husband enjoyed our nights stay here in October 2012, the hosts welcomed us both on our arrival and very helpful, a spacious car park on site. The room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The spa bath was brilliant and very relaxing. We definately would recommend it, enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property; we're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We're continually looking to improve and have made a few changes since your stay. We'd love to welcome you back if you're in the area again, to tell us what you think.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    42
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
60
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family stayed for a night in Jan 2013. The owners were very welcoming and helpful with recommendations of local attrations. Our room was ready when we arrived (we'd asked if an early check in was possible) and there were a few welcome items e.g sweets and crisps which was a great touch. The spa bath was fantastic, and there was ample parking on site and local restaurants/bars only 15-20 mins walk away. This is not a 5* "leading hotel of the world", but it's not setting out to be that - it's simply an outstanding value, family friendly place with great hosts. I would happily recommend it. No childrens activites on site but an ideal place as a base for exploring the area attractions

Room Tip: Ask the owners - there are different room types
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andalucia32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the spa and the nibbles. We're very lucky to live in a fantastic part of the country, and we like to help our guests to get the most out of their trip to Whakatane. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your break away, and we'd love to welcome you back, if you get the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

had a lovely couple of nights here fantastic spa pool amazing lovely couple who owned the motel

nothing was too much trouble very clean nice small touches to the room. very clean laundry and dryer

close to the town and shops really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review for our motel. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that the rest of your holiday was fantastic, and we'd love to have you back to stay with us if you're back in NZ again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Clean and tidy with attentive staff. Comfortable rooms and facilities.

However, the spa pool in our unit was only a big bath - had no pump system, although we could hear the nearby units had spas with jets/pumps.

Provided a few biscuits, muesli bars on arrival which was a nice touch.

Was the most expensive of the 6 motels we stayed in on our 9 day road trip, but didn't really provide anything more than the others.

3km from town on the main road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwigirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary snacks, it's our way of saying thank you for choosing to stay with us.
It's unfortunate you didn't get to use the spa pool as a spa, they are so relaxing. All our spa pools have motors and we keep spare motors on hand if they need to be replaced. (Which only takes about 10 mins). We are here to be of service and are happy to sort out any queries our guests might have at any time during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A tale of two halves. Hostess is lovely, however the host is like a Basil Fawlty. Do not make a request for some Orange Juice in the evening, as it is just not on offer. Maybe I caught him on a bad day? My night sleep was very restless as I was awakened every 2 hours by some strange banging noise.Maybe the host was squeezing the Orange Juice for the morning breakfast. Would I stay again? Yes if I pack my ear defenders and bring my OJ from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_ang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property. I'm so sorry you had such an unpleasant time at our motel. We're very disturbed about your sleepless night, it's certainly not the experience we're wanting our guests to have. We would like our guests to relax and unwind and it sounds like you had the exact opposite experience. We have discussed the noise with a number of experts and have some positive leads in tracing the source of the banging.
As for the OJ - we all have off days occasionally and yes,you definately caught him on an off day.
We'd love to welcome you back and offer you a good night's sleep, in true Livingston fashion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A modern, clean and comfortable motel which I would definitely stay at again. There was ample free WIFI and the complimentary snacks are much appreciated. Thank you to the friendly hosts. I stayed in a room without spa, and seeing as other reviewers are rating the spas highly I will book a spa room next time I stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidYeungNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on our property. Everyone's lives are so busy - we really appreciate you taking the time for us.
I'm glad you enjoyed the snacks, it's a fairly recent addition to the rooms, but it seems to have gone down well! We would like for all our guests to relax and unwind during their stay with us, and we'd love for you to stay again and try one of our spa units!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Lovely hosts, made us feel really welcome. 20 ladies on a weekend away and couldn't have asked to stay in a better place. Hosts couldn't do enough for us, and breakfast was lovely. Will stay there again. Complimentary snacks in the room most welcome surprise, and lovely private spa to relax in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our property, it's always great to hear how guests have found their stay with us.
I'm glad you enjoyed the snacks; and the spa pool, as well as the breakfast. ( I'll pass your comments on to the cook!)
It's very satisfiying to host a group that is enjoying their trip with as much fantastic energy as the group you travelled with. We would love to have any or all of your group back again, anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Barringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 12 in Whakatane
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livingston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingston Motel

Property: Livingston Motel
Address: 42 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Livingston Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have large spacious, stylish rooms - all ground floor with a variety of bedding configurations, some with cooking facilities; most with full-sized spa pools - individually filled and controlled. 2 easy-access units. Excellent showers. All rooms have LCD TVs and SKY Guest Select with movies and all sports channels; tea & coffee facilities, including plunger coffee, fridge & microwave. One bedroom units and genuine two bedroom unit all have 2 LCD TVs and spa pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Livingston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing