We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“love it”
Review of Javaman Cafe

Javaman Cafe
Ranked #8 of 49 Restaurants in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy great food and coffee with a full cafe menu, daily specials and prepared cabinet food. Providing free WiFi to our customers.Out catering available or book out Javaman for a special evening function.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“love it”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We goe here quite often i love it it has great vibes and the food is always delicious i like to sit out in there courtyard its an enjoyable place to go

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 157carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Want delicious food...Head to Java Man!”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Java Man has fantastic food! Choose from a wide selection on the menu or select from the display cabinets. Although the coffee isnt the best, the food certainly is! Great indoor,outdoor access with plenty of spunk. The only downside is that the premises is not big enough to hold all the customers. This says something as to how popular the place is.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cupcakes029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“We love this place”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Very friendly staff nothing to much trouble. Child friendly. Lovely outdoor eating area. Excellent coffee. We go to this cafe every time we come to New Zealand which is frequently.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smoggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really yummy food.”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The food here is yummy but it gets really busy and is quite cramped when full. Lovely outdoor area to sit in tho which is good.

Helpful?
Thank TwinkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saanich, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
377 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“great little place for breakfast”
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We ate breakfast here twice on our visit to Whakatane. It is asmall cafe where you can sit inside or in a small outside courtyard area at the back. The food is good and the coffee is very good. There are newspapaers and magazines that you can browse through while eating or waiting for your order. The servers are friendly, and it is a generally nice place to eat.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Javaman Cafe also viewed

Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Javaman Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing